We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for Locals”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
194 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“for Locals”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

This hotel has a great location, next to Ala Moana Shopping Center. However, this is a heavily congested area, with construction at the shopping center and traffic at all time of the night. Have never had problems with staff, all friendly and efficient (including front desk, bellmen, valet service, housekeeping and maintenance). had problems with door locks/keys, had it changed twice. Other than that everything OK. Rates are not exorbitant, but one needs to know that this is not a five star hotel. Its a place where local people/residents would go. A reasonably priced hotel in a good location

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors, facing the mountain. Quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itaewon-mickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    942
    487
    157
    133
See reviews for
496
554
260
541
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Centrally located with a short walk to Ala Moana Beach Park and Ala Moana Shopping Center (shopping & restaurants) Stayed in the Kona Tower. Room was small, but decent for obe person. Room did have a refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave making it nice for an extended stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank bznstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunakakai, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

My husband and I are both senior citizens and we stayed at the Ala Moana for two nights before he went for eye surgery. We had a Kamaaina rate which is only $10.00 less then original rooms, so it's really no big discount, however we got a room that never should have been rented. There was construction going on all night. The sink plug was stuck. We called downstairs and they sent someone to fix it. By morning we noticed the toilet was leaking from the bottom and the sink faucets were also both leaking. We had to put towels around the bottom of the toilet so we could walk in the bathroom. We also had to put towels around the bottom of both faucets. We had to leave the hotel at 6:00A.M., and no one was at the front desk to help us.
By the time we got back from surgery, it was late and my husband just wanted to get to bed. The toilet and sinks still leaking and we put more towels around them. The next morning we had to leave again at 6:00A.M. and again we saw no staff. That evening I went down to the front desk to pay our bill and tell them about the problems. We even filled out one of those "room" forms they have and told them the problems with the room and deposited it in the lobby box.
This happened 3 weeks ago and we never heard from AlaMoana Hotel although I asked for a response. They should have at least apologized and offered some compensation.

Room Tip: If you take the deal of "Kamaaina or Senior Discount rooms, chances are you will get a lousy ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joypa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Portimão, Portugal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

in the other part of the wourl ,i found the paradise near the beach,near the best and big shopping ala moana center,al most in the sky my bed room with singers birds,and people dancers and a very nice bar and splendid pool all the best the view the food,everythin perfect....

Room Tip: higher best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana Bela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Have stayed here a few times. Nice hotel right next to Ala Moana shoping center. Nice to be not inWaikiki. Clean roms comfortable. The front desk can be rude though. We checked in late one time after runing a charter trip so we looked a bit worse for wear. The front desk staff were quite rude and turse. So take a word of advice dress nice. They will treat you better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodie808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Philippines
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

The two bedroom unit was well furnished, clean, functional, livable. Actually like home away from home, or rather condo away from condo....great view of the beach and the mountain. Kitchen was well equipped. The only thing was that we did it have a dining area in our unit. I mistakenly assumed that all units were the same. But that is not the case. While the units were furnished, the could've at least provided bath soap and shampoo like a hotel. The unit we stayed in was located on the 33rd floor. 3319 has better layout. We had 3313, and yes you can choose at time of booking. There is no daily cleaning - but they charge you a cleaning fee for each day of stay. Quite pricey! There is also a resort fee charge per day. Pool is okay but tiny. Not really worth being charged the resort fee.booked through Hawaii 50 website. Elevators can get packed on weekends...going down from the 333rd is not too bad, going up is another matter. Hotel has a connecting walk to the mall.

Room Tip: Check out the descriptions of each room on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yokolok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at the Ala Moana due to a very special price online. It is a fine, basic hotel if you plan on spending most of your time at the convention center or mall. It is, however, too far from Waikiki Beach and the other activities in the area. We had to drive and pay for parking or really get in our cardio that day to get close to the main area of Kalakaua Ave. It took about 15/20 minutes of walking just to get to the Hilton Village which is on the outskirts of the Waikiki area. We also found the noise level to be very high, especially on the weekend. For some reason, there seemed to be a party on the walkway to the mall on weekend nights. The room itself was a basic hotel room with microwave and dorm-size refrigerator. There is a gift shop down a hall on the first floor that sells food and gifts. Self-parking underground was $20/day and was oversold on the weekend. This hotel is fine for business travelers and there were a lot of airline personnel staying there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DR4421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.3 mi away
Pagoda Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.8 mi away
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#55 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
1.0 mi away
OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger
1.3 mi away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra

Property: Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra
Address: 410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814-4730
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra 3*
Number of rooms: 1169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Moana Hotel By Mantra Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Ala Moana
Ala Moana Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing