We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra
Ranked #49 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for three days while over on Oahu for business. The rooms are small but functional. The fitness center is great and has sauna and steam room. Pool is small and no jacuzzi but it is very clean and well maintained. The hotel is connected to the shopping center which is very convenient and walmart is just behind. Internet was included and no resort fees but parking was expensive. I left a valuable necklace behind and although it was a hassle finding the right person in Security to talk to..... I did get it back safely. That was pretty honest! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,742 - 1,748 of 3,177 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

US Air put us up at this hotel after a delayed flight. Everything went wrong from the get go. Tried to get in our room and the keys didn't work. It's late we are exhausted and stuck standing in the hallway. Called from a hall phone and the front desk said they would send security....10 mins later called again...."Oh they are busy right now you will have to wait" WHAT? Security finally shows up and treats us like we are riff raff, wants our IDs, calls the front desk, reads and spells our names out repeatedly to someone on his radio, keeps us waiting and waiting giving us the fish eye like we are trying to break into the place. Finally lets us in with no apologies for THEIR SCREW UP!! Then a maintenance man comes up and works on the stupid lock for 30 mins, has to come back twice. All we got was attitiude from the front desk...We were supposed to get a convenience pack of toothbush, etc....had to call twice for that. We were issued vouchers for meals...oh sorry "THOSE" participating restaurants are closed.you are SOL. The bathroom door is rotten and peeling at the bottom and there is a crappy caulk job trying to cover the mold. Feels like a Motel 6. I am certainly going to let US Air know to NOT use this place again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank s m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Terrific location, nice facilities, near Ala Moana park, huge shopping mall and great views from Signature restaurant on 32nd floor with piano bar. Room quite small but adequate and compared to other hotels in Waikiki quiet

Room Tip: Two areas in hotel, lower wing with mountain views and high tower with ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandererSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We just had a very good stay at the Ala Moana Hotel in Honolulu.

*Full disclosure here that I was one of the lucky ones that managed to get the special $10.00 room rates.

I wasn't honestly expecting a lot at the price we paid, but we had a very nice room on an upper floor, with a private balcony with a table and 2 chairs and a view that went 180 degrees from the hills to Waikiki. The room was clean, comfortable, with a good bed, small kitchen area and even a couch/table and chair inside with a sitting area. The room was impeccably cleaned everyday and one my biggest comments about hotels of this era is usually the quality of the air and air conditioning units. Often they are noisy and start/stop to maintain the room temperature - and this was the opposite - very good overall.

The pool area and gym area was well appointed and the towel service which we used everyday for the beach was excellent.

Access to the Ala Moana Mall is the best - I don't think you could be any closer to the best shopping in Hawaii, with more parking than you'll ever need. There's also valet parking for a small fee and if you don't mind walking a short distance, you can also find free overnight street parking.

The added bonus was the access and proximity to the Ala Moana Park which is directly across the street. For those that enjoy swimming in the ocean, there is a dedicated 1000 metre swimming lane at the beach that's 100% protected from the waves. You can walk to the main Waikiki Beach area in about 10 or 15 minutes.

The Happy Hour at the The Signature Restaurant on the top floor of the hotel was an added bonus. Good food, drink and one of the best views in Honolulu.

Special thanks to Judy Pereira and GM Bill Comstock for handling a tough situation when the reservation system crashed on this deal offer.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scratchcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Don't let the title fool you, the stay and experience was great! But because we were next to the elevator, the room seemed smaller than the other room we rented.

Highly recommend this place if you're going to KAWAII Kon since it's literally right down the street

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank JBleees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed at the HOTEL through Hawaii 5-0 VACATION RENTALS. Was the perfect location for a first visit and being solo. Went down to the ALA MOANA SHOPPING MALL and food court often.The bus services are all there for anyone taking THE BUS. ALA MOANA PARK is right down the street has a local feel to it. Great for running, walking, relaxing. The pool was clean and nice. The check in and out was really speedy as are the elevators. The room had a fantastic view from the back. Very clean and great kitchenette... I love Honolulu!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a great view. Elevators are fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChatBird3502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed at this hotel because it was a short walk to the convention center where a conference I attended was held. The hotel overall was clean and welcoming. Nice to have refrigerator and microwave in room. The elevators were super speedy and the guest room in which I stayed was clean and comfortable. Easy walk to the Ala Moana shopping center where nice restaurants and high-end shops are located (as well as food court). Short walk to the Ala Moana park and beach area, which was pleasant to visit on a Saturday afternoon. Early morning garbage trucks outside (with their beep, beep, beep) annoying, but overall, a pleasant stay.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Cynthia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,921 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
639 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#29 of 84 in Honolulu
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,537 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,184 reviews
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra

Address: 410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814-4730
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: $148 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra 3*
Number of rooms: 1169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Honolulu’s landmark hotel is beside the world’s largest open-air shopping mall, and a short stroll to the inviting waters of the Pacific. Choose from over 1000 rooms, each with free WiFi and either mountain, city or ocean views. Some larger suites also include kitchen facilities. A host of dining options exist within the hotel, including a restaurant on the 36th floor and its own nightclub and bar. Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra also offers nearly 15,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, up to nine meeting rooms and WiFi and satellite conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Mantra, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Moana Hotel By Mantra Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Ala Moana
Ala Moana Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing