We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“meals on wheels fundraiser” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ala Moana Hotel
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“meals on wheels fundraiser”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

food was awesome.

guess drinks cost that much nowadays ....

security must be an issue as friend in room had to come down to get us and use an elevator key to get us up. safe for everyone.

parking at the adjacent shopping center..... right price, naturally.

Room Tip: convenience since shopping mall right there. try not to book on a holiday .... seems rates go up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leslie i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, General Manager at Ala Moana Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Glad that you enjoyed the food and although sometimes a little inconvenient, our guest's security is very important to us. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    821
    432
    134
    120
See reviews for
425
483
233
474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This one experience ruined a very pleasant stay at Ala Moana Hotel. It is true that it takes only one bad thing to ruin your entire perception of something, and only one bad employee can bring down a hotel's reputation. First of all, let me say that we were very happy with our room, everything was clean, bed was comfortable, we had a great view of the mountains on the 35th floor. It was adjacent to the Ala Moana Mall which was convenient, and away from the touristy chaos of Waikiki. I was ready to write a glowing review and had plans to come back for more.

The one bad thing that happened was at the hotel restaurant for breakfast buffet, the Plantation Cafe. We used the buffet only twice during our stay because we had to be out early sometimes and had no time for breakfast. The food was the usual served for breakfast with hot and cold choices, fruits, bread. The first time we used it was ok, but the second time we ate there, a dishonest employee tampered with my credit card receipt to add his/her tip and changed the total. This is criminal. Let me say that I often tip in cash because I believe our server should be the one to get it, I seldom add the tip to the credit card total. So the reason I caught this was because I always check my purchases online to see my statements and compare with my receipts (I know, OC, I was a victim of identity theft before and am more careful now), and there it was, they added to the tip/gratuity and added up the new total. It was a small amount, $7, 20% of the total plus tax (but really this was a buffet and not sit-down) but the point is they tampered, and I already tipped in cash. There was only 2 of us who ate at $16/pax. Again I go back to the point, they tampered with the receipt!

Ala Moana is a nice hotel. It's a pity that this happened. They have dishonest people. Who doesn't? Lesson learned: encircle your total and put a check mark beside it before signing. (I should've done that)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ampp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, General Manager at Ala Moana Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
I am truly sorry for your experience in the Plantation Cafe. I reviewed our managelogs and can find no mention of this being reported. If you can provide details we will certainly follow up with the employee involved up to and including prosecution.Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel room was lovely, clean and well maintained. The furniture including the bed was comfortable and we had a balcony on our 31st floor room with beautiful views of the beach and Yacht club. Located right next to the Ala Moana Shopping Centre (over 400 shops with plenty of bargains to be had) meant that my wife did not have too far to carry her days shopping and there are plenty of places to eat, day or night. Located only a 5 minute walks to a lovely, quite beach meant that there was plenty of time to relax on the beach or fish off the water bank. The local tram car stop that takes you to other parts of Waikiki was located at the Ala Moana Shopping Centre making it easy to get to busier parts of Waikiki, only 10 minutes away by tram car. The hotel location is quite despite the shopping centre next door and the pool and gym were very good. The hotel also has some lovely restaurants and a small but very convenient grocery shop where you could get the essentials like, alcohol. The hotel staff are excellent and very knowledgeable. All in all a very pleasant place to stay and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a balcony facing the beach. Day and night views beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew_antonell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, General Manager at Ala Moana Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you revisit us in the future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Terrible experience. Unfriendly staff, room with stained carpet and faucet that didn't work correctly. Entire hotel had a musty smell. Did not feel welcomed. Noisy, surrounding area was scary lots of homeless. About a 15 min walk to beach but no beach amenities available (chairs, umbrellas, etc). Hotel website does a nice job painting a glowing place but don't be fooled. Spend a little more and go elsewhere! We actually checked out two days early and went to another hotel, says a lot .

Room Tip: Stay away! Construction in front of hotel also. Jackhammer all day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, General Manager at Ala Moana Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Sorry that all was not to your liking our rooms are generally well received . I believe that the "musty" smell that you refer to is in fact the new carpet throughout the lobby which does have an odor about it. The jackhammering that you refer to is to make the hotel more ADA compliant and lasted just a few days. Mahalo for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
240 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here one night. Very nice hotel good location. Not right on the beach, but probably a 5-10 minute walk. Connected to the best mall I have ever been to. The building is part condo, part hotel. There is a convenince store located in the building, opens at 7am. Good place to buy snacks. Breakfast at the Plantation Cafe was good ( $16.95 for adults, 9.95 for kids, free for 3 and under). The room was nice. We had a King Size bed. Nice couch, table and chair. We had a balcony over looking the pool. Clean. Microwave, Minifridge, flat screen tv. We couldn't get the tv to work and called down to the front desk and a guy came up with in 5 minutes of us calling ( the cord to the tv was unplugged , we actually checked the wall plug, which was fine). Very nice and helpful staff. I would rec'd!!!

Room Tip: our room 2216 was nice, next to elevators, but we never heard an outside noise, close to a drink ven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, General Manager at Ala Moana Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
136 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were only in Honolulu for 2 nights to visit Pearl Harbor and wanted something clean and safe at a decent price (beach hotels are very expensive). It was basically clean and safe and next to the mall. You could tell it had been recently remodeled, but it had the smallest rooms ever. The beds were not comfortable, The sofa bed opened to within 2 inches of the walls, bed and chair so you couldn't even walk around it. The sofa bed mattress was horribly uncomfortable and did not have any bedding on it - or in the room. The pool on the deck looked nice. The breakfast restaurant was way overpriced, but the buffet was okay. The people at the reception desk were rude. People in our party found a large roach in the main restaurant. They pointed it out to the waiter, but did not stay to eat. They did have extra security on the elevators so that only guests could access the upper floors, which was a nice feature. It had that odd feeling that it was a big busy hotel, but there really didn't seem to be many people around.

Room Tip: We had a room that was on the pool level (or 1 level above). Our side of the floor had a full slidi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janetlynn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, General Manager at Ala Moana Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
The room was in our Kona Tower and is our smallest room offered albeit at our lowest price.
I apologize for the incident in the restaurant but we do perform regular pest control treatments.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Nice hotel located near the fishing piers. Clean, wifi in rooms is awesome and free. Wifi in the main areas - not so good which is a bit of a change from most hotels. The bed and the pillows were very comfortable. Housekeeping did a good job each day and they were friendly and pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ML7kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, General Manager at Ala Moana Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for you comments. We will share them with our staff. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Pagoda Hotel
#67 of 84 in Honolulu
3.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#52 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,759 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#51 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,302 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala Moana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Moana Hotel

Property: Ala Moana Hotel
Address: 410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814-4730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ala Moana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Ala Moana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ala Moana
Ala Moana Honolulu
Ala Moana Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing