We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the locals go..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra
Ranked #52 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 2, 2013

If you have a few days in Hawaii, there for business or family matters and not really doing the big tourist Hawaii thing, then this hotel is an ideal location with very reasonable prices.
I had been to the Ala Moana hotel in the past, to dine, dance, or have drinks (way back in the day I even worked at the night club there, Rumours) so when I returned to Honolulu to attend a wedding there in early December, I was very comfortable staying at this hotel. First I had a rate of 119 per night (AAA) discount. Jean, the front receptionist upgraded the room to accomodate two adults. There was a lanai that opened up with a partial view of the water had to lean over) and then there was the city view of the night lights. Nothing spectacular with the room but way above my expectations for 100 a night. The bed was scrupmtious! I really slept well there and I have a very nice tempurpic at home.

THere was an empty mini refrigerator and a coffee pot for use. The room was so quiet-loved that! You can walk to Waikiki-it is close enough. Also close to the bus lines if you needed (to get the UH). What I would like to go is eat at the local restaurants all within walking distance. Korean, Japanese, Chinese, and even fast food -Zippys!!!- at the mall. Ala Moana beach park is across the street but it is a bit of a walk there and not safe at night. If you like to walk like I do (an walk off all the yummy local food) then you can do an early morning or sunset stroll to the the beach. Ala Moana is a great beach for families with young children or those who are not super strong swimmers). There is a pool there but we didn't use it. you need groceries, Don Quixote near by as well as a Wal Mart for getting inexpensive items, like water, shampoo, macadamia nuts to take home. If you like to shop, which I do when I am on vacation, the mall is right across the way. Had my make up done at Sephora, bought my son a suit and Macy's, got a hair cut and was ready to have a blast at the wedding.
I will be going back to the Ala Moana Hotel to visit the city and then may be hopping to an outer island for that more tropical Hawaiian vacation .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RN4Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, General Manager at Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back here. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,857)
There are newer reviews for Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,669 - 1,675 of 2,868 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

My choice for staying here because I knew I was only going sleep here while scuba diving every day, all day. For that purpose it was acceptable; cheaper than average and close to necessities.

The rooms are smaller than average, but clean and acceptable.

The lobby is a little sad, and the vacant stores are a little depressing. If you don't stay in the Kona Tower you probably won't notice them.

Free quality internet is a great plus. I suspect almost every room has their own wifi router, connection quality is excellent.

The mall next door is good if you're into shopping.

The Waiki pink line trolley (open bus) stops right outside, which is great for getting in and out of the Waikiki. It's a $2 one-way exact cash fair.

The Kona tower rooms are not good if you're looking for a romantic Hawaiian get-away. I cannot comment on the other tower.

Room Tip: Stay in the Kona Tower only if you're looking for budget stay. Choose the other if you want a sl...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamjvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron T, Assistant General Manager at Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment regarding your last visit to the hotel. I am glad that your Kona Tower rooms met your needs and the location suited your activities. We do have rooms in the other tower-Waikiki Tower that are larger and more comfortable, and have private lanais. The rooms also come with two double beds or one king.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The staff at the hotel (all except the Plantation Cafe) was wonderful, cheerful and delightful. The rooms require a keycard to get to, which is good and bad, as it was annoying to have to race to they keycard. We requested an ocean view room, and got a room on the 30th floor with a partial ocean view. The hotel was nice overall, but the room was a bit small, and the location wasn't the greatest. It was nice to be close to the convention center, but there wasn't much places to eat breakfast around (other then the overpriced Plantation Cafe, and the mall full of chain-restaurants) Also behind the convention center wasn't the nicest area. The concierge, bell staff, and front desk were extremely helpful, and the room was clean.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevor4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very nice property; room was comfortable, roomy enough for one - bathroom was good size. Microwave and small fridge in room for longer stays. Access to mall restaurants and food court is good; only 10 minutes to Waikiki. Overall, better than average.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aspen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Ala Moana turned out to be a good choice for our family. We rented a car, so there was really no issue about location (although the parking garage smelled of raw sewage). It was safe and quiet and perhaps a bit less crazy than Waikiki. Room was reasonably sized and the staff was friendly, but slow. The Internet wasn't working the first day and they gave me a number to the service provider. When they didn't fix the problem, the staff's attitude was that it wasn't their problem. When I explained that it was there Internet provider and that it really was their problem, they took care of it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaTravelerGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Thia was our first time in HI and we weren't sure of the hotels, we booked through Hotwire (would not do again) we had to upgrade through the hotel, but in the end we were very happy with our accommodations. The staff was friendly and eager to help, booking adventures and things like that. My only complaint was there was no coffee shop where you could order off a menu, only a cafe that had a continental breakfast or buffet (which we don't like to eat) and was only open in the morning and they would not give you an extra coffee for the room so that you could have more than a cup.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in January during a long weekend. The hotel itself is big with 30+ floors and i was put in the waikiki tower 29th floor. The room is not that big, but it got everything you need in a hotel room. Not extremely fancy. Not extremely clean. Everything is just so average, i dont think it worths $200/night or maybe this is a very low price for an average hotel in hawaii?

The location requires you to drive. It is only closed to the mall. if walking to the beach, it is nearly 30 minutes. You would not want to walk back to hotel from the beach after all the water activities. it is better to rent a car or stay near the beach.

One day evening I forgot my key and I been waiting in line for the reception for 1 hour!! yes 1 hour for a missing key!! The line didnt get shorter. there's only 3 receptionst working. 1 of them works really fast trying to get everyone a room, but 1 of the old lady there just standing in front of the computer and typing, not helping at all! this is so ridiculuous, maybe everyone in the hotel was checkin at the same time.

I probably will go back again if the rate is lower.

Room Tip: it's better to rent a car staying in this hotel
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.5 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,899 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pagoda Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
504 reviews
1.8 mi away
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aqua Oasis
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
601 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
1,656 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra

Address: 410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814-4730
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: $144 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mantra, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Moana Hotel By Mantra Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Ala Moana
Ala Moana Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing