We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra
Ranked #55 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is short walk to the shopping center and a short walk to bus transfer stations. The hotel is older but there is ongoing upgrades. A coffee shop serves buffet breakfast and closed for lunch and dinner. The rooms have been in my experience clean. Other hotels are less expensive but none are as convenient to shopping and transportation.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    1,091
    586
    183
    155
See reviews for
667
640
296
683
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Great location next to the mall and a short walk to the beach and park. Good size rooms that come with big flat screen, microwave, refrigerator, coffee pot, ironing board and even a safe. Best of all FREE wifi and its fairly fast!!!! Also Ethernet cable if you prefer. I live a hotel that doesn't nickel and dime you for everything. They also have a nice workout area and the pool is nice with lots of room to sit around in the in and shade. Thank you I enjoyed my stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Ty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The staff is terrible. They are exemplary when it comes to poor customer service with their laziness, disinterest and rudeness towards clients. The hotel itself is located next to the Ala Moana shopping center which is nice, but as you try to find your way around, you notice its also surrounded by "massage" parlours. You're not at the beach. I didn't get the room I had reserved, the internet didn't work and the sound proofing was poor. Finally, the maids do not clean the rooms properly. Its quite shocking. You can get much better for the same price in Honolulu. Don't let them spoil your time in Hawaii.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick122012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The primary reason why I loved this hotel was its proximity to the Ala Moana Shopping Mall as well as other local shops -- including a Walmart. Our room was always clean and we had an AMAZING view of the city from our balcony. I could literally see Diamond Head every morning. The staff was always pleasant especially when we asked for a room change. We booked a king suite and received a double upon check in. After we called in for a room change, someone immediately walked up and gave us a new room key. Great service!

Also, if you're staying at this hotel, do yourself a favor and walk to the Ala Moana beach and eat by the local shops outside of Walmart. The beach area is where all the locals go and is not crowded at all. And if you have ever tried to get food around the Waikiki area, its pretty hard to find a good meal without waiting. My boyfriend and I tried a lot of local fare near the hotel and it was pretty reasonably priced. One favorite of mine -- Raging Crab (think Boiling Crab or Joe's Crab Shack). It was a hop skip and walk away.

We did make the trek to Waikiki Beach but be advised, do not try to walk there at night like we did. It was a bit scary. One other con --- parking is $20 a night. We weren't pleased to pay it but it was convenient and safe. I'm glad no one broke into our rental.

I would definitely stay at the Ala Moana the next time I come to Honolulu!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel is located very close to Ala Moana shopping center, walking distance to wall-mart and about 25 minutes walk to Waikiki beach. A nice and uncrowded beach nearby. A room is clean and sound. Staff are very prompt and friendly. Very good value for short stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Horrible service! Said the computers were done and then they checked in a bunch of pilots and stewardesses. The only saving grace for this hotel is the proximity to the mall. I only booked this hotel for a layover between long flights. If you want a cheap hotel with no frills and none of the traditional Hawaiian courtesy then the Ala Moana is the perfect place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jedvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The front desk staff were nice and professional, their friendliness appeared genuine and they were very helpful. The location of the hotel makes me smile, next to a fantastic mall!, public transportation, and a beach. I stayed here because of the proximity to the Hawai'i Convention Center. The room was adequate; the tub was a bit high to step over (of course, my legs are short, being almost 163 cm tall), but ideal for a soak (who has the time to soak with all those shops next door!!!). Good gym. The breakfast buffet at the adjoining (breakfast only)restaurant was good - good food, good service. In-house, in-room dining was limited. The in-hotel shops were attractive, especially the convenient store (which I frequented for snacks and last minute gifts!). I would stay here again and I would definitely recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stargazinglily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
497 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,886 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
289 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra

Property: Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra
Address: 410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814-4730
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra 3*
Number of rooms: 1169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Moana Hotel By Mantra Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Ala Moana
Ala Moana Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing