We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for Honolulu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra
Ranked #52 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 9, 2011

After staying at this hotel 2 weeks ago, I have to disagree with some previous posts. You are in a very busy city with hotel rooms typically being smaller than in other cities- I have stayed in some very small rooms in NYC, DC, San Jose, etc...it's the limited space.. I felt the hotel was very nice.. rooms were nice but yes, small for 3 of us... location was good.. trolley to Waikiki was very convenient and affordable.. We had a nice view of the ocean and the marina- ANY hotel you stay in is going to have some views that are not ideal.. unless you are staying in an all oceanfront resort, not everyone is going to get the better view.. For the value and where we were staying, I think this was a good choic..

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chf0729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,084)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,154 - 2,160 of 3,084 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2011

Every year my husband and our son go to the Kwaii Kon thats held every year. Ala Moana Hotel is the most convenient for us.

This year we decided to upgrade to a partial ocean view room and wasn't disappointed one bit. This time we were on the side of the Convention Center with a room closer to the ocean. It was absolutely a beautiful view and helped us to relax and enjoy the balcony every chance we had.

Being on a higher floor made things even more relaxing since it was quieter.

We'll be back again next year and here's to hoping the employee's are just a courteous as they are every year we come and we'll be able to get a beautiful room just like this year.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eternalcandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

It was horrible. Hotel security woke us up a 3 am saying 'noise complaint' when everyone was sleeping. It was next door making all the noise, you could hear it from the hall way. Also maids skip our room all three days we were there. I had to run to the store to get tolet paper because the hotel refused to give it to me. No clean towels after we called three times for them. I'm never staying there ever again.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ineedaname84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Good location next to Ala Moana Shopping Centre, major bus stop and convention centre 2 minutes walking distance. 10 minutes’ walk to Waikiki. Free internet. The hotel itself is about 10 minutes’ walk from the beach. This is a hotel for business predominantly for those attending the convention centre so it does not have good ocean views nor as luxurious or romantic as the Hilton Hawaiian. If shopping for high end clothing or jewellery e.g. Cartier or Bvlgari suggest buying this at the airport as at least 10% cheaper compared to rest of Hawaii.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Spacious room, clean, friendly staff. Located near beach and shopping mall!

Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
Thank Wisha006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

I chose this hotel for a recent trip to Honolulu primarily based on its proximity to the convention center (2 blocks) and was pleased with it overall. My room in the Kona Tower was not spacious but certainly not the smallest I've ever had. There was room for a double bed, a large desk/dresser, and a chair. The furnishings seemed new although the bed was covered with an old-style bedspread. I liked having a coffee maker, microwave and fridge in the room (note, when using the coffee maker, it's important that the lid be on the pot while brewing!). My partial-view room mostly had a view of the other tower and a parking lot, but I was able to see the ocean too, so I guess partial-view is an accurate description!

The high-speed Internet was free (yay!) but not wireless. I was barely able to get the cable to stretch far enough so I could stretch out on the bed while using my laptop. The exercise room was quite nice, modern and clean, with several cardio machines and weight machines. The gift shops had all the essentials as well as a good selection of non-essential gifty items.

It was great to be able to walk back and forth from the convention center easily. The mall with its shops and restaurants was also close by. For runners/walkers, Ala Moana Park is just a couple of blocks away, and you can get about three scenic miles in by going there and following the path around its perimeter.

Cab rides to the Waikiki Beach area are around $6-10 but it's not a bad walk either. Overall, I had an enjoyable stay at Ala Moana and would stay there again for business trips involving the convention center.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

- booked a city view for the first night, then paid extra for a "partial ocean view" in waikiki tower for the remainder of the week. they kept me in the same room for the week, which overlooked the macy's parking lot and was very noisy. when i requested to move to the partial ocean view room as originally booked, i was told that i should remain in the city view room, in part because it was "easier for housekeeping".
- then paid extra again to move to a full ocean view room. which was primarily a view of the building across the street.
- when asked for a late checkout (all i needed was 15-30min due to a meeting) i was just told "no", because it was easier for people checking in.
- no room service
- not clean. a big clump of hair stuck in the towel. gross.
- next to a mall which was fine, but also a bunch of "spas" (not the kind you take your daughter to...)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BunnyHop310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,915 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#30 of 84 in Honolulu
1,525 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#62 of 84 in Honolulu
1,528 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra

Address: 410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814-4730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: $148 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra 3*
Number of rooms: 1169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Honolulu’s landmark hotel is beside the world’s largest open-air shopping mall, and a short stroll to the inviting waters of the Pacific. Choose from over 1000 rooms, each with free WiFi and either mountain, city or ocean views. Some larger suites also include kitchen facilities. A host of dining options exist within the hotel, including a restaurant on the 36th floor and its own nightclub and bar. Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra also offers nearly 15,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, up to nine meeting rooms and WiFi and satellite conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mantra, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Splitty, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Moana Hotel By Mantra Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Ala Moana
Ala Moana Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing