We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oahu's Little Secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Polynesian Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Polynesian Plaza
Ranked #83 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Oahu's Little Secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

A wonderful little community! Great location, easily accessible, service fantastic, rooms themselves are a little dated but have everything you'll need! Pool is brilliant, everyone here is so helpful and only too willing to pass on information & assist where possible.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms get the afternoon sun but awnings help block out the heat! Street view rooms have g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TWISH326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    51
    40
    26
    26
See reviews for
30
63
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

The other reviews have summed up the features of this place very well. Tina made us feel very comfortable. She took care of everything in a friendly, smart, and professional manner which was especially appreciated given that one of us fell ill during our vacation. When we mentioned the sink was backing up someone came to repair it right away. Since we had to stay longer than planned, changing rooms enabled us to compare a pool side room with a street side room. The street side was not as noisy as we thought it would be and the pool side room had some noise from a nearby bar so it really does not seem to matter a whole lot which side your room is on. The place is plain, low key and happily without the kitchy decorating that can be so plentiful in some other affordable accommodations. We were glad to have stayed there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Westboro2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Group of 3 couples stayed here.Location excellent Self contained units so not as crowed as the bigger hotels which I think is a good thing. Swimming pool is big enough and quite often had it to ourselves Room comfortable and clean. Balcony with every room. Tina is a lovely person and assisted with any questions we had. We were able to check in as soon as we arrived at 0900hrs, which was lovely after an overnight flight from Australia. Because the rooms are self contained you had to clean them yourself before leaving. We chose to pay for the cleaner as we had and early flight out. Cost $55. Would stay here again. Value for money, location and service.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mezza76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani, Hawaii
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

My husband is in the Navy and we had 30 days to arrange our transfer to Pearl Harbor and get married en route. We quickly found some place for our first couple days in Honolulu upon our arrival and then flew to Molokai for our wedding and Honeymoon. But we had a hard time finding affordable lodging when we flew back to Oahu and began looking for our new home. We did not realize it was the week of the Pro Bowl and everyplace was booked! Thankfully we came across the Polynesian Plaza here on trip advisor and it was just what we needed! This is more a short term apartment complex than hotel and it's pretty much do it yourself. But it's relatively clean and quiet and in a really great location. It's within walking distance of shopping, restaurants and Waikiki Beach. The rooms are pretty basic but adequate and it's right in the heart of the city and best of all VERY reasonably priced! We had checked out a number of flea bag motels that were triple the price and would have disgusted me to stay in- and even those were booked! I can only think the Polynesian Plaza still had availability bc it doesn't come up in lodging searches- perhaps bc it's not a hotel/motel. Whatever the reason- we lucked out!

If you're looking for basic and affordable lodging in the heart of Waikiki and don't mind doing things for yourself while away- this is definitely a place you should consider!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank shutterbug317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Let me start by saying I was originally booked to stay at the Hilton Hawaiian Village. Not to sound stuck up or pretenious but previous to this I have never booked budget accomodation.
That said, let me say that all the reviews are true. Tina is amazing. We arrived from a 10 hour flight at 8am. Checkin was at 3pm. From the moment we arrived Tina couldnt be move accomodating. She had our room ready and told us not to worry about payment to go relax and pay her later.

Lets go through the positives (and there are alot)
- The room is comfortable with a balcony and its own kictchen. The bed is huge and super comfy.
- The common area of the hotel there is a library with books to take to the beach.
- Free wifi from a neighbouring business which can be accessed from your room.
-Less then a 5 minute walk from the beach.
-Free hire of beach gear.. noodles, donuts, inflatable lounge chairs, beach mats.
-The price. I paid $500 USD for 7 days
-The customer service is amazing.
-Right next door to Eggs and Things. Amazing for breakfast. 12.95 US for bacon eggs and pancakes!

Negatives
-There is no tour desk.. however if you walk up the street to the Outrigger there is an expedia desk that you can use and they do a fantastic job at booking tours and dives and you do not have to be staying at expedia.

I will definetly stay here everytime I am in Hawaii.

I met several people that were staying at Hilton Hawaiian Village that absolutely hated it and said it was overpriced and always busy. They also mentioned the high volumes of Japanese tourists that it seems to cater for rather than the english speaking guests.

Thank you Tina. We had an amazing time.

- Donna & Scott

Room Tip: Pool view room is quiet and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank MissDee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Great value for money,close to everything,safe and secure.i had a pool view room which i am assuming was a lot quieter than street view rooms.Tina is the best,what a gal.She looked after me with helpful info and was flexible with an early checkout.I wanted to keep this place a secret.

Room Tip: choose a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSoto Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Clean, clean, clean. Can't go wrong here. Get your parking pass after checking in. Nice staff, nice place. Great location. Clean. Stop searching for a place to stay, call Tina and book today.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Rodney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#59 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Waikiki
The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#74 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polynesian Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polynesian Plaza

Property: Polynesian Plaza
Address: 2131 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2346
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Polynesian Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, location, location! Polynesian Plaza is situated on Kalakaua Avenue and Beach Walk, the focal point of Waikiki, just one block to world-famous beaches. Comfortable studios feature private lanai balconies and fully equipped kitchenettes with a 2-burner stovetop (most), microwave, and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Polynesian Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Plaza Honolulu
Polynesian Plaza Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing