We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Clean Room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Surf Hotel
Ranked #79 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Clean Room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a night after spending a week out at Makaha. The price was right, with no problems booking same day for just one night. Parking was tight as mentioned above, but it was reasonably priced too. (many hotels have no parking and if the y do they charge much more). Desk staff was friendly, but not overbearing. Yes it is an older hotel, but our room was an exceptionaly clean, nice little kitchenette. Not much to see off the lanai, overlooking a rooftop, but there is a golf course on the other side of the canal across the street, which can be seen, so not all concrete jungle as with many downtown hotels. As far as traffic noise, it wasnt bad, we ran the fan/ac at night , which masked most traffic noise .We would stay again

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skovie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    54
    40
    19
    34
See reviews for
29
66
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

First, let me say, my husband and I are not picky, we can do Motel 6, no problem. That is what we expected for the rate we got (about $60 a night), which didn't seem too low when it was booked as a package with flight, car and activities, in the off season, through Expedia.
We walked in and there was just one thing after another: the lobby (if you can call a hallway with a dirty office and a coke machine a lobby) smelled like mold, or urine, I'm not sure. Then we were asked to pay $50 for the week to park in the hotel's bizzare, cramped parking garage that had no access to the building, you had to get all your bags up a 45+ degree incline, outside, around the building then up another steep flight of stairs, then up to your room, and don't hold your breath waiting for any sort of "staff" to help.

THEN we were asked to pay another $150 "deposite" on the room. At every hotel I have every stayed in, here and abroad, I have been asked to provide a credit card number for them to keep, which would be charged with any expenses incurred on the last day when you checked out. This place has no room service, mini-bar, nothing that you could even incur an expense with, and it was pre-paid, so if they demand $150, up front, to just check into a room you have already paid for, you can imagine what kind of "clientel" they usually deal with.

So, without our bags, we decide to go up to the room and just see, hoping it was better than the lobby, after all, their website said they had been recently renovated and showed nice pcitures. That is not an understatement, or even a misrepresentation, that is a %100 LIE. The only thing associalted with our room that appeared less than 20 years old was the key card device on the door. The living room had a weird bed (with no pillow) in one corner, the appliances were so old I could not have even turned on the stove if I had tried, and every piece of furniture appeared to be garage sale furniture form the 1980s, nothign matching in any way. And it smelled like the lobby. $150 deposite? For what exactly? Everythign in that entire room might have got $50 on Craigslist.

But, asthetics aside, it was FILTHY. If you took the key card and scraped it down the arm of the couch it would remove thick black grime, undoubtedly the result of years of people with sunscreen rubbing elbows on it and no one ever cleaning it. The table was sticky, and even though we had been traveling for 18 hours and were exhausted, we couldnt bring ourselves to sit anywhere. We left immediatly, demanded, and got, a full refund for the "deposite" and parking fee. However, the hotel would only agree to refund 3 of the 5 nights we had reserved there. That is why I give the "service" a terrible rating as well, not only did they lie about their rooms, and show a picture of a room that was NOTHING like the rooms they had rented out, but they then tried to profit from those lies, even though we stayed less than 10 minutes in that room, never touched a thing, and never even brought our bags in. It was a SCAM, the guy behind the counter didnt even seem surprised that we wanted to check out. We finally got the remaining 2 nights refunded by Expedia, but only after 3 days of trying and 6 phone calls. We walked down the street until we found a place that looked decent- the Ilima Hotel. Great staff, professional environment, comfortable, clean and asthetically pleasing rooms, although we ended up paying twice as much because we were walking in off the street, but anything was worth not having to spend another moment in the "Holiday Surf".

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Txjulies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
costa blanca
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

The staff was always friendly and helpful , clean and comfy rooms , great location just a couple of minutes walk from shops and beach .
The down side is the traffic noise , we used ear plugs , but we do live in the country .
The hotel does need some money spending on it .
Use the transport system you can ride for miles for $2 .

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanette51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2009

The hotel is in great Location in Waikiki. Only few blocks away from the famous waikiki beach. This hotel is ok. It was cleaned everyday. Nothing really special except they had a kitchen. Never really stayed long enough in the hotel except at night to catch some zzz and get refreshed.

  • Liked — Proximity to the beach and other places
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Byroenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2008

booked a week here in sep 2008 via their web site. certainly didn't live up to that!
our room had been recently " renovated", if you call a lick of paint renovation, the carpet was dirty and stained, the furniture came right out of the 1960's!
the view from our room overlooked the canal, not bad, till you looked right and saw the rear entrances of local's accomodation with all their washing and rubbish........... yuk!
needless to say we moved out next day!
would not recommend this place to my dog,
stay away!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank afruitbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2008

I have visited Hawaii many times and have stayed in many different hotels, motels & condos. I have just completed a 3 month stay all together at the Holiday Surf . This Condo has become my Home away from Home. The staff is very friendly. The room was very spacious and always kept extremely clean ( i have stayed in both studio and one bedroom) there are many amenities, full kitchen and very close to the beach and all major bus stops, shopping etc. I have recommend this hotel to many friends and family. I travel to Hawaii once or twice a year and will alway stay here. I have no complaints. You can't beat the location of this hotel, especially for the price this is a great place to stay!
Thank you to the Staff for making my stay comfortable!!!
See you in October..
Aloha!!!

  • Disliked — No pool! But the beach is a 5 min walk!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Okeaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2008

As a young student traveling to Hawaii, this hotel was perfect as if fit within my budget while still being centrally located in the Waikiki area. The staff was very friendly and serviced my room daily (new towels, made the bed, replaced the coffee packets) and agreed to store my luggage after I checked out at 11:00am, but didn't need to be at the airport for another ten hours. Because my room had a full kitchenette, I was able to save money by cooking in the room rather than going out every single night (although there are hundreds of great restaurants in the area if you prefer going out to eat). The view of the Ala Wai Canal and Downtown Honolulu city lights from the balcony was amazing, and was probably one of the best view possible without the ocean. Finally, the shower head had amazing water pressure. The Holiday Surf isn't the kind of place where you should stay on a honeymoon or a family vacation, but for a traveller on a budget who doesn't need hundreds of amenities associated with the big resorts, it doesn't get much better than this.

  • Liked — Shower, price, location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rayisag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Waikiki
Hawaiian Monarch Hotel
Hawaiian Monarch Hotel
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Marina Tower Waikiki
#82 of 84 in Honolulu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
White Sands Hotel
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Stay Hotel Waikiki
#67 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Central Hotel
Waikiki Central Hotel
#36 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Surf Hotel

Property: Holiday Surf Hotel
Address: 2303 Ala Wai Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2692
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Surf Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Surf Honolulu
Holiday Surf Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing