We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE!”
Review of Holiday Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Surf Hotel
Ranked #76 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Medford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE!”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The room was very old and dated looking, but waking up to multiple bedbug bites was terrible! Then they wouldn't refund the nights stay after a visit to the doctor! Do not believe any good reviews that you read and keep looking for another place! This affected us and my brother and his family with bedbugs in BOTH rooms.

Room Tip: Try a Priceline bid for a three star hotel for a great hotel at a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Wee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    57
    40
    19
    34
See reviews for
32
67
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed in this hotel last fall. Even though a couple of months passed, we still feel disgusted when we think about this hotel. The front desk was friendly but not helpful. They could not provide any information about the city. The appliances were very old. The bath had stains. The location is close to Waikiki but very noisy with heavy traffic right under the building. These were not the worst - the hotel was not safe. After we returned to hotel in one night, we found someone took our food in the refrigerator as well as cosmetic on the counter of the sink. We reported this issue to the front desk but never heard back from them.
I believe those ratings with 5 out of 5 were done by the hotel. Do not take the risk to try the hotel like us! With the same rate, you can definitely find a better one.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Danvers MA
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

This hotel is reasonable and within walking distance to bus, stores and Waikiki beach. The
rates are pretty good and it comes with a full kitchen. There is a grocery store nearby as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We had booked this hotel because they had claimed to be per friendly. We had even called ahead of time to hear about their policy. They told us pets were welcome and out hotel room for 2 nights would be 180 dollars. When we got in they told us that they had a 500 dollar pet deposit!!! They never told us that when we called and asked. They then treated us horribly laughing and making jokes at our expense when we canceled our reservation. 500 was out of our price range and we would not have booked if they had told us when we asked.

Later when we were looking over our credit card bills it showed they charged us 220 dollars not 180 and we didnt even stay there! They also lied and told us we needed to call their booking number to get things settled but after calling we found out they booked through their hotel front desk. They lied about an alternate number.

The staff was rude.
They lied.
They tried to steal and charge us more than the reciept said.

Room Tip: The Outrigger is a pricey but very good hotel. Actually, any other hotel besides the holiday surf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I didn't spend a lot of time in the room, but here are my impressions. The staff was nice and friendly and the maid service was good. The air conditioner kept rattling the metal slats above it and was pretty much useless, plus I had to crawl on the floor to turn it on. One of the windows was missing a pane and, like was mentioned previously, it was very noisy especially the garbage truck in the morning and all the ambulances constantly going down Ala Wai Blvd. I was not prepared for the $150.00 deposit as it was not mentioned during booking. I did get it back though so, that was a minor inconvenience at best. The laundry facilities were "different" in that they were located outside on the side of the hotel.

As was mentioned earlier, if you have the means spend a couple extra bucks and avoid this place if you can.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

I reviewed this hotel before my daughter booked the hotel. She and her husband had stayed previously. Yes, it is undergoing some renovations, but if you're in Hawaii on holiday, realistically, how much time are you going to spend in your room??? We had a kitchen unit, perfect size for preparing breakfast and snacks. Too hot to eat lunches and for the most part, you're out sightseeing anyway. Did a grocery shop when we arrived and that did us for the week we were there. The staff were friendly, helpful and kind. A smile and hello goes a long way. Loved the murals painted on the ceilings in the rooms! ABC stores were great for snacks and gifts. Use the brochures you find on the street corners and take some time to compare. Would stay again. Cheers.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

My parents are staying at the Holiday Surf and just phoned me to tell me they have cockroaches in their room! The girl at the front desk didn't seem surprised at all and said she'd have it seen to. However, four days later and no one had shown up to "take care of it" so my parents tried again only this time they mentioned the board of health. Within two hours there was a person there to spray for the roaches. They've been unable to find another hotel in their price range but as soon as they do they're getting out of the Holiday Surf!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank paradox347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hawaiian Monarch Hotel
Hawaiian Monarch Hotel
#83 of 84 in Honolulu
392 reviews
White Sands Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
661 reviews
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
#73 of 84 in Honolulu
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ewa Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
468 reviews
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
242 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Surf Hotel

Property: Holiday Surf Hotel
Address: 2303 Ala Wai Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2692
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Surf Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Surf Honolulu
Holiday Surf Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing