We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hostel is the best pick in Waikiki” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waikiki Beachside Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waikiki Beachside Hostel
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This hostel is the best pick in Waikiki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Clean rooms, good environment, cheap rates, very friendly and helpful staff on the daytime and night time, good free internet, free phone to book whatever u need. I highly recommend! Best location in Waikiki. Book your bed or semi private room in advance because it is very busy at this time.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank JPPABR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    245
    120
    31
    32
See reviews for
8
43
340
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

The desk clerk Maggie was extraordinarily good at her job. Super hospitable and very friendly. Not to mention absolutely gorgeous (no contest with my wife, love u babe), with a big smile and positive attitude. The room was clean, cool bracelet style keys, and amazing roommates from all over the world. Made lots of new friends and enjoyed hanging out with them just a block from the beach. Everyone was super friendly and interested in eachother since we were all from other countries. Met people from about 10 different places around the world. IT IS NOT A BROTHEL! There is a funny story behind that, maybe I'll share with you if I ever meet you in a hostel. Great experience overall. I was pretty much stranded and couldn't afford the high prices of hotels. Missed my flight and the staff made me feel right at home. Especially Maggie, thanks for easing my burden and getting me to a place where I could contact my wife and 4 little girls so far from home to let them know I was delayed. Not for families with young kids or even teenagers. Good for singles and couples. A party environment that can be loud at times.

Room Tip: No preference here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NWSETMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised with the size and quality of this hostel, I've been to more than a few in my time, and this was definitely one of the best. Of course, you have to take into consideration the fact that when you're sharing a room with other people, there will likely be someone who is bothersome or inconsiderate. If you can deal with that...you're golden.
It's probably not a place for a princess who has to have everything perfect and her way all the time (as it's obviously an older establishment and could use a few cosmetic repairs, but nothing major or completely necessary), but for those of us who are out to have a good time and need a place to leave our stuff, shower and sleep (which is about all I use accommodation for anywhere I travel to)...then this is perfect, and actually more than you bargain for.
The kitchen is complete, so being able to cook is nice, since everything else in Waikiki can get expensive. Breakfast is a nice option, but a little monotonous. I wasn't bothered by that, at least there was SOMETHING to start my day off with (pb&j on toast).

Room Tip: 4 person dorms tend to be a little quieter at night and less messy/more private. 8 person are mostl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Great staff, wonderful location, and friendly people. The room are 4 or 8 girls to a room, but the people that stay here are friendly and i made many new friends. The rooms were clean and well cared for, and the staff had a lot of information for tourists who needed to know more about the island. My stay was extended, 20 day, but i enjoyed everyday here. The moments here were unforgettable and i enjoyed myself.

Room Tip: The 4 person room accommodations were better than the 8 person rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cirlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Waikiki beachside hostel.
I spent 10 nights here. A great hostel. We stayed in a semi private room and shared a bathroom with two others. The front office staff were all fantastic always very helpful , happy and nothing was ever to much. Zack David Maggie are just a few to mention can't remember them all are a great asset to the hostel. Everyone in housekeeping were always helpful. The facilities such as the laundry was always clean. Overall I would in a heartbeat stay at Wakiki beachside hostel. Thank you for having us !!! Aloha.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Great location, efficient staff and affordable rates make this place remarkable. Stayed 3 nights in a semi-private room. Front desk and housekeeping are superb and extremely cooperative. Complimentary toast and coffee each morning are greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rwik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I'm a 33 year old professional, and was a bit skeptical of staying in a hostel when my buddy booked our room there. However, it was clean and quiet, and the staff were great. The hostel is in a great location, 2 minutes to the beach. The staff is phenomenal, and went out of their way to ensure we had a great stay. There is a nice common area on the ground floor and it was easy to meet lots of other young people. Had a great time and would definitely repeat if I'm back in Hawaii.

Personally, I'd love if they had memory foam mattress toppers on the beds, but that's likely just a personal preference.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippenhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#14 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#54 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,101 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Beachside Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Beachside Hostel

Property: Waikiki Beachside Hostel
Address: 2556 Lemon Rd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Waikiki Beachside Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawaii Tax ID# TA-208-436-2240-01 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Waikiki Beachside Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waikiki Beachside Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Beachside Hostel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing