We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrating New Years 2012 @ Waikiki Beachside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waikiki Beachside Hostel
Coogee, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
“Celebrating New Years 2012 @ Waikiki Beachside”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Great little homey hostel right by the beach at Waikiki. Perfect location.

The staff were exceptionally helpful and it was a great place to be at a busy time of the year. Atmosphere was great, fantastic music coming from a huge TV inbetween two vending machines. Lots of Peanut Butter and jelly.

What more could a traveller want?

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlangley07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    252
    121
    32
    34
See reviews for
8
43
348
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I recently stayed 3 nights in this hostel. It has a great location and very helpful staff!!! Seriously, thanks Travis!!!!!!!! I visited other hotels in the area and none were as nice or as fiendly as this. With surfing, snorkeling, grill, social area and free boogie boards this place is highly recommended! I will only stay in this hostel when visiting Waikiki beach.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x2ezx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Travis, Eric and Doug are the best! The service at this hostel is exceptional. Its clean and has nice hot showers. The Fun is off the charts! The staff makes sure everyone socializes its so easy to meet travelers from all over the world. I have been to Waikiki many times, but because of the Waikiki Beachside Hostel, this trip has been by far the most epic!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dustinwslaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I concur with Carl's review, Top hostel, had a awesome time, and meet a ton of cool people and was a good base of operations to explore Oahu, would stay again definately, thanks to the hostel staff Rebecca, Eric, Doug and Travis the Travinator, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beagz888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2011

This is an absolutely awesome place to stay, everyone staying there is friendly and they're all there for the same reason: to have the best experience that Oahu has to offer! Rates are cheap, but the staff certainly don't reflect that! It is definately a place to stay if you want to have fun and meet heaps of people from all over the world. Rebecca & Eric and the other staff are super friendly and will go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. A special shout out to Travis who will personally show you everything that Waikiki has to offer at night - this guy is going 200% all the time! He'll show you all the best clubs, and some other places to go that aren't in the tourist guides...
If you're after a good safe place to stay (staff are excellent with keeping the place secure, especially at night) and if you don't mind sharing your room with some other people then this is definately the place to stay. It's 1 block from the beach and everything in Waikiki is within walking distance.
I would definitely stay there again!

Stayed for 7 nights.

Room Tip: Ask reception when you get there for the type of people you want to stay with. They'll help whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I stayed there for three weeks in Sept to Oct 2011. I have stayed at several luxury hotels on Waikiki Beach but, this time tried something different. It allowed me to extend my vacation while getting the most out of my visit. It's one block from the beach and what a great location to all the hot spots. The staff was amazing and super friendly. The manager Rebecca was incredible. She was so friendly and helpful. Leon and Andy cooked a full meal each night for $6. Good home cooking. The room was clean and it consisted of 2 single beds in the common area with a full kitchen, bathroom and a private room with two single beds. I rarely had roommates but when I did they were all friendly. They rent lockers to keep your personal belongings in your room. They offer a complimentary snack type of breakfast or a cafe inside had small breakfast options for $2 to $4. I would recommend this place to any person looking to get a great deal on a budget but wants a nice clean and safe place. It's also a great way to meet people from different parts of the world.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

I stayed at Waikiki Beachside on my own in May of 2011 on an impromptu trip to Hawaii. My plane was several hours late, and I didn't arrive at the hostel until 1:00AM. The desk attendants were very kind and accommodating. They pointed me in the right direction for a car rental and suggested a couple day trips.

This place is quite literally ONE BLOCK from Waikiki beach, where I people watched and indulged in reading 600 pages/day. The joys of travelling solo! Waikiki itself is a little tacky, but that's to be expected! There's an ABC store around the corner for your exorbitantly-priced-island-convenience-needs. The SUPER EXPENSIVE grocery store is about a 15 minute walk. I stayed nourished by partaking in the hotel breakfast, then getting a Subway footlong meal (around $9) - half for lunch, half for dinner. The hostel also serves dinner for $5.

I stayed in an 8 bed female dorm. Only 5 beds were ever filled at a time. There were 2 rooms: a living area with full kitchen, small table, and 2 bunk beds, plus an extra bedroom with an additional 2 bunk beds, as well as an ensuite bath.

The A/C was a bit loud in my room and the beds aren't the most comfortable, but I exhausted myself during the days and fell asleep swiftly nonetheless. Twice I noticed some teeny bugs scurrying around on the counter, but I can't say for sure what they were.

The free breakfast consisted of toast, peanut butter, Nutella, and tea or coffee.

For the price, I'd recommend it for budget travellers.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyssa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
2,268 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
1,440 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,364 reviews
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#49 of 84 in Honolulu
3,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Beachside Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Beachside Hostel

Property: Waikiki Beachside Hostel
Address: 2556 Lemon Rd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Waikiki Beachside Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawaii Tax ID# TA-208-436-2240-01 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Waikiki Beachside Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waikiki Beachside Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Beachside Hostel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing