We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for the value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed in room 812, September 1st through 7th. This was my 6th time to Oahu, 3rd time to stay in this hotel, and 2nd time to stay in this same room.

I was pleasantly surprised to find that since I stayed here in 2011, the room has been further updated. There is now a granite countertop on the sink and new tile in the bathroom. The old wallpaper has been ripped off, and new paint applied. There are new fixtures, carpeting and bedding. All in all the room is much more inviting and pleasing to the eye. My only complaint, is there is absolutely no artwork...not even any cheap travel prints. I would stick a couple of pictures on the walls of palm trees or something to make it more homey. The main common areas of the hotel are still very much out-dated, but with the open air lobby and interior....you can kinda overlook that. :-) Obviously, the view from the balcony of the ocean and the city is still spectacular. This time my neighbors were quiet, so rested wonderfully. Also, compared to previous stays at this hotel, the staff was much more pleasant. I guess it depends on who is working. They still make you pay to print your boarding pass, (what a rip-off, so just checked in with my i-phone, and then printed the boarding pass at the airport). The bar is still more expensive than any others on the strip, (11.00 for a mai-tai), and the convenience store is still more expensive than the ABC stores...but, knowing all of this, I planned accordingly and tried not to dine or shop at the New Otani stores. I still had to request a coffee maker, which seems odd that this is standard in every other hotel I stay in. And, the ironing board is one of those "dorm sized" things....granted the hotel literature said you can request coffee makers and a full sized ironing board...but, why not just provide one already?

Also odd, is the in room safe. It locked and everything...but, it was not bolted to anything. I literally could pick it up....so if someone had the inclination...they could see it was locked, and know that is where I put my valuables, and just walk away with it.....very strange.....so, New Otani...please permanently bolt the safes in the room.


Regarding Honolulu, the poor WWI monument Natatorium is still in a state of disrepair, and is an eye-sore. It is my understanding that they may be tearing this grand old structure down, instead of rehabbing it...what a shame....and, what an insult to the military, that this honor to them has suffered this fate.

Also, disappionting is the number of homeless people in the city. I have been coming here for 10 years, and the number of homeless has increased probably 10 fold in that time. Where there once were a few in the Kapiolani Park, there are now dozens camped out, ignoring the no tent and no loitering signs. As I ran nearly every morning I was there, I passed by the exact same group of homeless camped out under the structure in front of the Natatorium. They had sleeping bags on the ground and benches, various food and alcohol lined up on the wall behind them. They were always there, each morning....obviously loitering. Also I noticed a group of 3 men permanently camped out in front of the Starbucks every day, on the major corner below Lulu's...just on the sidewalk with their shopping carts and sleeping bag...one even had a sleeping bag on a blow up air floatie. I am not sure what can be done about this....and we do need to be compassionate to their plight... Currently, I enjoy staying in Waikiki, and driving to the other side of the island during the day....however, with all of the homeless...I am now toying with the idea of staying on the other side of the island...and just driving a couple of times into Waikiki. From what I read, the city says they are cracking down on the homeless population...but, obviously this is just lip service, when you see the exact same people loitering in the exact same spot for 6 days in a row.

So, the hotel has updated the rooms. It is an older hotel, and has not been gutted to the studs...or restored to its original character....so, it is not going to be a 5 star property, if that is what you are seeking. But, it is nice. It is clean. The views are spectacular. This time the staff were pleasant. And, this time my neighbors were quiet. Having it's own beach is nice, and the beach is far less crowded than those on the other side of Waikiki. The beach seems to draw more locals, and that is fun. In my opinion this is the best hotel for the price.

Room Tip: splurge and get a room with an ocean view...you are in Hawaii afterall. Also, I understand the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank jvmaddux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (957)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 957 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Good location right on the beach. Close enough to walk to where all the action is and far enough from all the noise to make it nice and quiet at night. Very good king size bed, but the room was a little cramped. It would have been better with a queen size bed. Excellent restaurant overlooking the beach. The staff was very helpful. An independent travel agent was available for advice on tours etc. Overall good value for money

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annette_hugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here a couple times in 2013. It's within walking distance to Waikiki beach and shops, but far enough for a more secluded feel on its beach. The aquarium is also very close and lies between the hotel and Waikiki. Food is great and the hotel staff is very helpful and friendly. Parking is $20/day, but free at night if you park on the street after 5pm, but the street is usually full.

Room Tip: Get a corner room on the north side and you'll have a view of the ocean and Waikiki.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheJonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is on the waterfront, on SanSouci Beach, and right under Diamond Head, Honolulu.
The lobby is without walls, and brings in lovely breezes from the Pacific. The restaurant and bar are within the lobby area, and the diner can enjoy views of the ocean along with the fresh air. Try the Blue Hawaiian or MaiTai coctails: you just can't get them anywhere.
Hau Tree Lanai restaurant serves a fantastic Eggs Benedict, in many styles. A legend in Honolulu. Served artfully with cloth napkins, and under the Hau Tree branches.
The staff at the desk was attentive. Beach towels are an amenity.
The hotel corridors span a center courtyard, and rooms face out to the ocean or to Diamond Head. Rooms are clean, have personal toiletries, and have a small refrigerator.
A mini market on the property sells snacks and personal needs.
When you stay here, you do not need a vehicle. To get back to Wakiki, you can walk or take a city bus. There is also a bus direct from the Honolulu airport.
A beautiful city park sits across the street from the hotel, and you can walk to Diamond Head park.
Away from Wakiki, the hotel is quiet, peaceful, convenient, and clean.
Look for the Otani hotel club pass for additional hotel bargains.
I really like this hotel!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank emsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

New Otani is well located down on the end of Waikiki at the quiet side of town. It is perfect for romantic walks around Diamond Head and the Beach in front of the hotel is the best you will find....In the early mornings the water is so calm and crystal clear.

The rooms are small but how much time would you spend in the guestroom anyway....

Hau Tree Terrace is also the best place to enjoy the sunset and breakfast

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank islandtraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This Hotel has it's own Beach which was very handy for us....also it wasn't right in town made the stay very pleasant....food and drinks were good too and the room was tidy and clean. We had a great time in Honolulu and staying in this HoOtel was part of having a very good time :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Conny9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We booked this property as part of a package purchase with Hawaiian Air, so don't what rate we paid. I chose it to be within walking distance of the action of Waikiki but away from the noise and bustle. It is perfect for that, in a quiet area. There is a beautiful, large park across the street. Valet parking only, or searching for street parking ..... probably quite a challenge in this busy area (we chose valet.) From our balcony we had a sliver of beach view if we leaned over the balcony railing. Air conditioning worked well in our room. Beach access was great and there were beach towels and roll-up mats available at reception. Staff was professional and helpful; printed out our flight boarding passes for us.
This gets 3 stars because, other than location, it is just average. We were satisfied, but not very impressed. The lobby is small and tired with uncomfortable furniture. Rooms (we booked 3 rooms for 3 couples) - the same comment - rooms small with average comfort level beds. Something was wrong with the seal on our sliding door to the balcony which caused a VERY loud constant whistling,roaring noise (which we could not stop by closing tightly, cracking slightly or smothering with bath towels!) Also, something is wrong with a large number of the room door closing mechanisms. I was kept awake by multiple VERY loud door-slamming noises late into the night. (Our room was on the 8th floor facing Diamond Head.)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank powell_diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,624 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#17 of 84 in Honolulu
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,538 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,167 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Address: 2863 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $188 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take advantage of its paradisiacal setting, The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel is a refreshing escape from the crowds of Waikiki. This boutique hotel sits right on one of Honolulu’s best white-sand beach, cradled next to the slopes of Diamond Head Crater, and located directly across from the 108 acre Kapiolani Park, perfect for those seeking a recreational or romantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Kaimana Beach Honolulu
Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Hawaii
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing