We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Ranked #28 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location, great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

If you want to avoid Waikiki but be close enough to the action, then this hotel is the place to be. Get a room that has a Waikiki view. Staff is friendly, rooms are spacious and clean, but this is all about the view. The restaurant, Hau Tree Lanai, is amazing. Even if you include the breakfast package, you must make a reservation for breakfast. Sounds strange, but this little gem is jammed anytime in the AM so heed their advice. VERY expensive restaurant. For lunch and dinner but worth it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    359
    109
    51
    16
See reviews for
141
479
69
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

If you want to avoid the crowds of Waikiki Beach try the Kaimana Beach Hotel at the east end of Waikiki, near the Aquarium. The staff is attentive and the Hau Tree restaurant is right on the sand. Lovely spot for sunset,

Room Tip: You pay less for a Diamond Head View. The corner rooms are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia, Moscow
Level Contributor
458 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 556 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The optimal choice for those who like a quiet and relaxing beach holiday, a nice, clean uncrowded sandy beach with safe and convenient passage into the sea near Diamond Head, akvarium, public park, bus stop in Waikiki, Downtown, Pearl Harbor, the airport, before the start of Waikiki Beach - about 10 minutes walking. the hotel consists of two buildings, which are connected by a common corridor. 9-storey main building stands on the beach, a 3-storey extension is along a public park, surrounded by parking lots, very old, noisy not comfortable for the rest. It contains the most economical rooms - Diamond Head Wing Studio, Diamond Head Wing One Bedroom, Diamond Head Wing Park View One Bedroom. When choosing numbers suggest using the official website of the hotel, which is narrated in detail illustrated with every hotel room. Of course, taking a room in the main building only. From April 2013 began the reconstruction of rooms with 9 floors. Also updated the facades of the building. But the discomfort is minimal, almost no noise. Only the passage of the beach is covered, we have to use the nearby park trails. Breakfast optional reservation in advance, as a lot of people who want to sit in the shade under a tree overlooking the beach and sea, as did Robert Stevenson. Every morning, many Japanese come here for breakfast on buses and taxis. As I understand, the place is very popular and well known. The chef prepares a variety of dishes, my husband liked them very much. For a beach holiday give special mats and towels. In general, the rest is viewed positively. A little depressed pristine condition hotels and rooms. But all of this will solve the reconstruction of the hotel. The staff is friendly, active attentive to all needs and desires.

Room Tip: In any case not to take a number from the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nikolaeva_maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Small, outdated room in great need of a makeover. Windows were covered with anti glare coating that was hanging in shreds. Bathroom door was made of shutters that hadn't been cleaned in years - the gaps between the slats were encased with grime and dust and god knows what else. Walls, ceiling and furniture were scuffed and dingy. Great location though.

Service was unfriendly and unhelpful. I stayed here years ago and found the service then to be exceptional. I don't know what's happened to this formerly lovely property, but I definitely would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clb610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in April 2013.
We stayed in the older wing, quiet but dated. Bed was comfortable but had to use stairs no lift.
Restaurant was great best meals we had in the whole month we were in Hawaii, try the french toast.

Room Tip: No pool here and they don't let you check in earlier
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dianne and Alf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed three nights during the 4th of July week to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. Since we were married near this hotel (Diamond Head Beach Park), and stayed there for our honeymoon, we have a special attachment. We have returned to Hawaii at least once a year since our wedding - staying here and at various other properties both on Oahu and other Islands - so we feel like we have a good basis of comparison.

There are accommodations in Hawaii that are more elegant than this one, but the charm of the Otani Kiamana exceeds most of them! We checked out after three nights to stay at the Royal Hawaiian because we had previously booked a room there for the later part of the week. Although the "Pink Palace" is exceptional in many ways, we wished that we had just stayed at the Otani.

I know there are some that like the "Big Resort" type of environment. However, we have come to appreciate the quiet end of Waikiki. The Otani Staff has always been accommodating to us, we have always been given a nice room (although small), and always been happy there.

If you like the big crowds, conventions, noise, and have to have a swimming pool - this may not be your place. We will return here.

I suggest that you book and ocean front room and/or a suite. If you like beautiful views and a little peace, you will love it! You'll also like the Hau Tree Lanai for breakfast!

Room Tip: Any of the ocean front rooms are great. I prefer the corner ocean front deluxe - the view is specta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bobss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Booked this room last minute on HotelTonight app. They warn you that you won't know your room until arrival.
Always wanted to stay here because it's RIGHT ON THE BEACH, and a great location for Stand up Paddling!
This hotel is valet parking only or you can self park on the street...somewhere. It's located next to Kapiolani Park so parking can be tricky! I chose valet. They unloaded everything, including my SUP and stored it for me. Love that convenience!
Keep in mind this is an older hotel. The room we stayed in...323...is nothing to boast about but it was clean! The direct view was of the parking lot and a couple of REALLY close by hotels. But to the right was a sliver of beach, ocean & palm trees. Although I had hoped for a view of the Natatorium, No matter, we just needed to sleep. For our needs it was perfect. Just a queen bed, t.v., fridge, and safe. Bathroom was clean and for the deal ($159/night) was just what we needed.
There is no pool and the restaurant "Hau Tree" (I think) is quite pricey. The room service was great! Not only timely but Fresh fruit, perfectly cooked eggs and bacon, fresh coffee!!
I would definitely stay again with the right deal! But I'd request a better view!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JustMe808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Park Shore Waikiki
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Property: The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Address: 2863 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take advantage of its paradisiacal setting, The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel is a refreshing escape from the crowds of Waikiki. This boutique hotel sits right on one of Honolulu’s best white-sand beach, cradled next to the slopes of Diamond Head Crater, and located directly across from the 108 acre Kapiolani Park, perfect for those seeking a recreational or romantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Kaimana Beach Honolulu
Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Hawaii
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing