We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low-key beachfront hotel in Honolulu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is wonderfully situated, right on the beach under Diamond Head, with a lovely quiet park behind it -- so much nicer than the busy Waikiki waterfront just a short walk away. Rooms are not lavishly sized but well-planned and comfortable, with lanais overlooking either the park, beachfront, or Diamond Head; the bathrooms could use updating but are perfectly functional. Beds are soft (a bit much so for my taste) and linens and toiletry amenities are somewhat sub-par; there is a refrigerator but no mini-bar. There is, however, plentiful storage space and the closet contains two luggage racks to make unpacking easier. There is no pool or fitness center, which might be a deterrent to some; but the beach is what you come to Waikiki for, and the hotel offers mats as well as towels for sunbathing comfort. The Hau Tree Lanai – an open-air beachfront restaurant shaded by twin giant hau trees – serves a delicious breakfast, which is highly popular with visiting Japanese tour groups, so be warned and reserve ahead of time; we were out at lunch and dinner every day, so didn't sample menus for those times. And we also missed the Miyako Restaurant; perhaps on another trip we'll try it. Service is a bit haphazard but everyone is so good-humored and welcoming it seems silly to complain about it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (957)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 957 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

We used to live in Honolulu. We love this location. Away from the cheesiness of Waikiki. Great swimming beach. Nice surf spot. Easy paddle out. My husband and son love that. Plus the hay tree lanai is the best place to hang out for a leisurely breakfast or lunch. Watch the beach scene and the waves.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beach77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is right on a beautiful well maintained beach away from the busy part of Waikiki. Room sounded small when we reserved room, but was comfortable for my wife and I. We had a private lanai where we sat and could watch the ocean and listen to the waves. The climate was so comfortable that we left the lanai door open at night and room stayed cool and we were able to hear the ocean waves while we slept (very peaceful). Hotel staff, other than the concierge, was very helpful. The valet's went above and beyond by giving us useful travel information for places of interest. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, and stay here if we ever get the chance to return to Oahu!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra $ for ocean view. Definitely worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DownsFamily622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We loved our room. Great view of Waikiki, the ocean and Diamond Head. Large open plan quiet room with good bathroom. And a case stand, I love that! Easy access to the beach with towels and beach mat provided.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a view if wanted. One side of the building has no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmh2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I was a little nervous about the new otani after reading some of the reviews. When I arrived the valet helped me with my luggage and was very friendly. The front desk agent was lovely! we were getting married on the island so she upgraded us to an ocean view room.The room was beautiful with a large lanai, ocean view and a mountain range view. Stunning! New otani was really a dream. Simple but very clean. All ocean view rooms get turn down service which is always a nice touch. I love that it was in a quiet area but only a 10 minute walk to the main area of waikiki. If i come back to the island I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sammie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our FTE Conference was here from June 10-14 and the hotel staff was so nice and hospitable...thinking the 3-4 Japanese weddings daily must prep them for all kinds of people!
I know for next time to get an annex room- much bigger for sharing - but the rooms, although small, are quite utilitarian.
No complaints, and RIGHT ON THE BEACH, with free towels, mats for the beach- you cannot go wrong here.
It is a mile or so from the main waikiki dag- but it suited us just fine- less hub ub and tourists hangin' about~ very nice, and the rates to stay for the conference were very reasonable for OAHU...some stayed early and afterwards, due to the great pricing.
Dining there is a bit pricey for teachers (our group) but the lunch we had and breakfast fixins and fruit medleys were awesome.

Room Tip: Ask for the annex if you want size- ask for beach view, if you care~ and spend that much time there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dwhite2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I booked this hotel for a 5 day vacation in Honolulu, I was given a unit that really falling apart and smelled bad. i had requested a king size bed but the unit had twin beds. i was mostly disappointed because the rate i paid was the same as staying in the renovated tower. They advertised as having a washer and dryer in its units but in it did not, they have a laundry center with 1 machine and dryer for everyone staying at the hotel.

Room Tip: request a room in the new/renovated tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaimanaHotel, Director of Sales at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor and for your recent stay at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel. Anytime there is dissatisfaction with our product, we encourage guests to let the front desk or management know as soon as possible to ensure immediate action can be implemented. We see that the room you checked in was the One Bedroom, located in the Diamond Head Wing (walk-up). Upon reviewing the reservation, there was no notation on the reservation itself which indicates two twin beds is requested, however we do try our best to deliver specific bedding requests when asked. We apologize if this was failed. The hotel is planning to start soft renovations with the rooms in the Diamond Head Wing. Your patronage is important to us, and we hope that you’ll continue to give us opportunities to serve you again. Thank you again for bringing these matters to our attention. Mahalo from the staff and management at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,624 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#17 of 84 in Honolulu
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,538 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,167 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Address: 2863 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $188 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take advantage of its paradisiacal setting, The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel is a refreshing escape from the crowds of Waikiki. This boutique hotel sits right on one of Honolulu’s best white-sand beach, cradled next to the slopes of Diamond Head Crater, and located directly across from the 108 acre Kapiolani Park, perfect for those seeking a recreational or romantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Kaimana Beach Honolulu
Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Hawaii
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing