We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Hotel Unless You Upgrade to Highest Level (Probably)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Ranked #28 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
North Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Terrible Hotel Unless You Upgrade to Highest Level (Probably)”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Fully agree that photos are deceiving: the room into which we were initially placed was smaller than would have been permitted by prisons in most states. The front desk manager was unfriendly to the point of being unwelcoming; true, I asked to be moved from the impossibly small, tacky, un-renovated noisy room on the 4th floor over the parking lot as soon as I saw it, but I was polite and professional. She was dismissive, curt, and unresponsive. Only after another manager came on duty was I taken seriously (would it have been different if my husband had made the request? I got the feeling I was not treated with respect for several reasons, but my gender was one of them). The next room was slightly more expensive but it wasn't claustrophobic; other guests who upgraded to the top-level rooms liked them, apparently, but for that kind of money, I'd stay at the Halekulani or a cleaner, updated hotel. I would not recommend this hotel for anyone, despite exceptionally good service from a friendly bell staff--they appeared to be the only folks who understood the meaning of the word "hospitality." They put you in awful rooms and extort more money for a decent night's stay once you are there.

Room Tip: Only stay here if you are SURE you can get the highest-grade rooms possible. The others are miserabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dr R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaimanaHotel, Director of Sales at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel and your valuable comments made on Trip Advisor. Your patronage is extremely important to us and we regret any inconvenience or frustration you have experienced during your stay. Each and every comment made on Trip Advisor is reviewed by all staff and management in hopes to quickly correct any displeasing situation. We hope that you’ll continue to give us opportunities to serve you in the future. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    362
    109
    51
    16
See reviews for
141
481
71
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Early in my Hawaiian trip I shattered my leg which required surgery. This Hotel was part of the last leg of my trip and by the time my wife and I arrived we hadn't seen much of anything outside of the hospital. When I arrived in my wheelchair, the manager upgraded my room to ocean view and they arranged to allow me to stay longer as I couldn't fly home right away.
For our entire stay the staff continually asked about my recouperation and how they could make us more comfortable. They made sure we always had everything we needed and I've never felt so welcome....
Since much of my time had to be spent sitting around, the room was perfect and my recuperation was enhanced with the relaxing ocean view from our balcony.
The restaurant's food was delicious and appetizers were usually enough for us.
The location really offers a private feel and the beach is great, but the staff and management made our stay here special and memorable.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Willreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Azuay, Ecuador
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Found this small hotel away from the crowds of Wakikiki. Peaceful surroundings, witha great beach without the crowds. Small lobby bar and oceanfront breakfast dining. Comfortable rooms with ocean views. I was on business , but felt like i was on vacation at a private resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Homer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Tnis is a small boutique hotel very near Diamond Head away from Waikiki, but close enough if you want to stroll over. They have a small bar for light bites. Theynalsomhave the very renowned resturant....Hau Tree. Excellent for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It sits practically on the sand. A Robert Louis Stevenson hangout. They even have a suite named after him. The team at the hotel is excellent. They will see to your every need. Rooms are small, very small. It's the location your after, not the room. The beach in front is a "local beach". Safe swimming. Not really set up for kids.....

Room Tip: Ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kittyrascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We just stayed at this hotel for one night while on business. When doing my research on the hotel, I was impressed with how beautiful they were and anticipated a beautiful room when we arrived. To our disbelief, the room we were given looked more like a cheap motel room still decorated in 70's decor. When I called the front desk, I was told that there was nothing that could be done to move our room, but I could pay to upgrade to the room advertised on the website . . we declined.

I feel this hotels advertising is totally deceiving and will not stay at this hotel again.

See photos. . . .

Room Tip: You;ll have to pay for one of the newly renovated rooms or suites. $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Pacific Builder... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaimanaHotel, Director of Sales at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for selecting The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel and for your comments made on Trip Advisor. We strive to provide our guests with the best possible product and when you feel that we had failed to meet your expectations, it’s important for us to know. The room you stayed in was the "Moderate" room which is our most economical category out of 16 other categories we have here. We apologize if you had any misconceptions of the room itself. Our website lists an accurate description of the each of the categories, which includes the size, view and photo, so guests will expect the kind of room they paid for. If there was a 3rd party involved, such as an on line travel agent, we apologize the agent failed to communicate this to you. We regret any inconvenience or frustration that your experience has caused you. Your patronage is important to us, and we hope that you’ll continue to give us opportunities to serve you. Thank you again for bringing these matters to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Beachfront property on the quiet, non-commercial end of Waikiki. Stayed on the 7th floor facing diamond crater great room with a sitting area, frig and large balcony with seating. Our rate included breakfast which never disappointed and was served in a lovely open air restaurant setting looking out to the ocean. The mai-tais and banana daiquiris in the lounge were perfect and the fried zucchini app was excellent. The staff at the reception desk were incredibly pleasant and went above and beyond to answer any question we had providing bus info maps etc. my only complaint would be the absence of a pool but that was a fact we were well aware prior to booking. As for restaurants within comfortable walking distance....lulu's great fish tacos ( casual good for sunset, reasonably priced, Tiki's great mai-tais, fish and chips also casual good for sunsets. Favorite was Uncle Bo's the seafood trap appetizer is a must, the baked opah with shrimp and the seabass dinners were not only great but included a starch and veggie for $22 Drinks were also very good and cheap ($8 avg)
Must Do: the diamond crater hike sneakers or hiking shoes are a must and don't forget your camera. Took the 23 bus to the entrance ($2.50 pp) walked in and paid the fee of $1 hike took a comfortable 80 minutes round trip.

Room Tip: Stay in the main bldg
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank withak66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whittier, ca
Level Contributor
179 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

It's like you are a world away from the hustle and bustle of Wakiki. Quite boutique hotel fronting the best section of beach in Wakiki. The beach isn't crowed even on the weekend, and there is a calm cove to swim. Oh and the views are to die for, especially at night. As a boutique, it lacks some of the facilities you find in larger hotels. There is no pool (not that you need one with the great beach just a step away), the bar closes early and the restaurant isn't open all the hours of the day (let alone late at night). However what they do have, it top notch. The restaurant food is excellent, the serve great drinks at the bar, and the rooms are wonderful. I was in one fo the upper rooms facing the ocean, and it was clearly renovated recently. Quality furnishings, nice bed, marble bathroom with new fixtures, and large flat screen TVs. They have a activities desk, furnish towels and mats for the beach, and rent snorkels/fins. I found the service staff very good if at times a bit slow. The hotel and rooms were always clean and well kept. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, do get an Ocean view room, it is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edward v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaimanaHotel, Director of Sales at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you very much for selecting the Hau Tree Lanai Restaurant. We like to hear all comments from our valued guests as we greatly appreciate your patronage. Mahalo from the staff and management at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Park Shore Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Property: The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Address: 2863 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take advantage of its paradisiacal setting, The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel is a refreshing escape from the crowds of Waikiki. This boutique hotel sits right on one of Honolulu’s best white-sand beach, cradled next to the slopes of Diamond Head Crater, and located directly across from the 108 acre Kapiolani Park, perfect for those seeking a recreational or romantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Kaimana Beach Honolulu
Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Hawaii
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing