We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Ranked #30 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at the Kaimana Beach for a staycation weekend with friends and it was fantastic! It's a hidden gem for both visitors to our islands and kamaaina. The hotel has a perfect view of the blue ocean, Waikiki and the fireworks show on Friday nights. We were impressed with the service at the hotel starting from the valet attendant, front desk and the waitstaff in the restaurants. The rooms were clean and recently renovated so it was beautiful. We all had dinner at the Miyako Restaurant and our meal and service there was incredible. There are a lot of Japanese restaurants in Honolulu to choose from but this is now our new favorite place! We had breakfast at the Hau Tree Lanai and how can you not be happy sipping bloody mary's, eating chicken adobo fried rice and eggs benedict under the hau tree overlooking the beach?

I highly recommend this hotel as it is out of the frenetic pace of Waikiki but still a short walk to Waikiki with it's restaurants and shops, the zoo, Diamond Head and the farmer's market at KCC on Saturday's. We will all be back to enjoy another memorable weekend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kobi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    369
    114
    52
    16
See reviews for
146
487
71
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nassau
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel is near Waikiki but far enough away to be in quiet section down by Diamond Head.
Open air lobby & Hau Tree Lanai is a great open to sea restaurant. Great views of downtown Waikiki & Diamond head.
our room had balcony overlooking Ocean & Park.Has it;s own beach which was never crowded.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwh342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have stayed at the Kaimana Beach a few times before and keep coming back to it. I love the location, that it is on the edge of Waikiki rather than right in the middle of the hustle and bustle. The views, rooms and service are wonderful! And breakfast at the Hau Tree Lanai is always a special treat to end our stay.

We invited some special friends to dinner at the Miyako restaurant and everyone was impressed with the service and food, and unpretentious atmosphere of the restaurant. Sunset on this Friday night was spectacular, not to mention the fireworks as we were seated in a private cabana on the lanai of the restaurant. We all agreed to return again, soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Near the great Waikiki beach, far away from the noise, perfect wiew, overall best location for intimate vacation.
There was no internet wifi in the rooms :(
But the rooms were good, clean with nice balcony and wery good wiew.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gjorgova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

If you want a location far away but close enough/walking distance to the center of Waikiki, this is your hotel. It has its on beach, Sans Souci beach, I believe its called, unlike the other hotels where you have to cross the street and across to the beach. Rooms are bit dated but hey, who cares? It is very quiet and you don't get all the craziness in Waikiki. I walked to and fro every day and the exercise is refreshing. Beach is lovely, too and not crowded.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rosiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I was back in Hawaii on business, and I have been returning to the Kaimana Beach Hotel for nearly two decades and before that, when I lived in Hawaii, I used to bring guests there when I was assistant director of a museum in Honolulu. Why? Because it is the best situated hotel in Waikiki in my opinion. It is not a high rise but a comfortable 8 story boutique hotel with a wonderful familial feel to it. No sterile lobbies in which one gets lost. And dining at the Hau Tree Lanai (underneath a more than Century old Hau tree)practically right on the beach is worth the experience alone.

The location is fabulous: it stands as the first building on the far end of Kalakaua Avenue just beyond the Waikiki Aquarium. Therefore, if you get a room on the west side of the hotel (the locals will say the Ewa side) on the upper floors, you will have fantastic and unimpeded views of the ocean, Waikiki, Honolulu, the Waianae Mountains, Kapiolani Park (where the Honolulu Zoo is) and the valleys of the Koolaus in front of which Honolulu is situated. If you are on the other side of the hotel you will have great views of famous Diamond Head.

But, even more important is the kindness, attentiveness and the competence of the staff, from the car parkers, to the reception folks, housekeeping, the wait staff, and management. Most of the staff have been around for years and so one knows that they are treated well. And the price is very reasonable for what you get.

Obviously I am hooked and I rarely write reviews, but want to share this gem with others.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level floor on the west side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bloomsbury_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed at the New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel during a recent business trip to Hawaii after a recommendation from a work contact who is based in Honolulu. I went for the cheapest room option (Moderate) and was given a small room with a view of the parking lot - nothing glamorous and a bit noisy despite being on the fifth floor, as well as dated as other reviewers have mentioned. Amenities are very basic but there's a convenience store around the corner.

The hotel location is fantastic if you're there on a holiday trip, though - right at the beach (Sans Souci, nice and quieter than other Waikiki equivalents) and within easy walking distance of attractions including the Aquarium, the Honolulu Zoo and Diamond Head crater, and about 15 minutes from Waikiki proper. I recommend the hike to the crater if you're feeling energetic - it took me three hours in total to walk from the hotel to the summit and back at a decent pace but stopping to take pictures.

Service was unexceptional but the two restaurants at the hotel (Hau Tree Lanai and Miyako) were great - do book a table for breakfast if you want beachside seats at Hau Tree Lanai as it can get really busy. The early bird special at Miyako is great value and thoroughly recommended ($28 for a full three-course meal with fabulous views too - book for a window table or terrace cabana).

Overall, it was a decent experience for what I paid and I would stay there again, probably paying a bit more for a seaview room.

Room Tip: Moderate rooms can be noisy as there are trucks coming in and out of the parking lot early in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Park Shore Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
1,440 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
2,268 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Property: The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Address: 2863 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take advantage of its paradisiacal setting, The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel is a refreshing escape from the crowds of Waikiki. This boutique hotel sits right on one of Honolulu’s best white-sand beach, cradled next to the slopes of Diamond Head Crater, and located directly across from the 108 acre Kapiolani Park, perfect for those seeking a recreational or romantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Kaimana Beach Honolulu
Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Hawaii
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing