We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite family restaurant”

Utage Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #490 of 2,405 Restaurants in Honolulu
Restaurant details
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our favorite family restaurant”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We go here as often as we can. It's our go-to-place to dine out. They have our favorites, like Okinawa soba, pigs feet soup, oxtail soup, shrimp tempura, champuru, pork tofu, and other local, Japanese, and Okinawan dishes. The food is delicious, the staff friendly and helpful, and it feels like home.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Walt813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 569 helpful votes
“Good food good service a must try!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We love coming to Utage. Good old local Japanese comfort food. Portions are very good. Service is prompt and friendly. I love the Loco Moco here and the Ox tail soup.

Coming for this picky reviewer this place is 2 thumbs up!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank F5993GMericd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lunch and dinner with family and friends”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The service there is great and the food is awesome and it's cheap to eat there . Everything is include in the one price .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl City, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was my first visit; a friend recommended it. We just returned home after 2 weeks in Okinawa and I was soon craving traditional Okinawan food. We found this restaurant nestled in a small mall amongst several other restaurants. There are lots of parking stalls. Its immediately noticeable because customers are outside waiting to be seated. We waited less than 10 minutes and were seated in a comfortable booth. Service is impeccable - waitress was at our table with menus, water, tea, etc within minutes. Food was comparable to the real deal. I ordered the goya chanpuru and shoyu pork. The bitter-melon was a bit too bitter compared to what we ate in Okinawa, The shoyu pork was very tender, served in bite size pieces. Our food came as a "meal" - included tsukemono, soup or salad, entree, rice, drink, and a dessert. Overall food was very good and affordable. For two full meals and one beer, we spent less than $40. Next time we visit I plan to try their soba.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HawaiiAndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raidaz
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, price and service! What more can you say!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Utage is a regular stop for my family and me. As the title of this review says, the food is outstanding especially if you like Okinawan food, the staff treats you like family and the prices are very reasonable. Really what more can you say?! I highly recommend the Okinawan Soba. We will continue to be regulars!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Raidaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Utage Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Utage Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing