We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good plain ones...filling variety tasted a bit fake.”
Review of Champion Malasadas

Champion Malasadas
Ranked #9 of 33 Bakeries in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good plain ones...filling variety tasted a bit fake.”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

The plain malasadas are really really good. Not too greasy. The custard filled and the chocolate filled were not that great. They tasted artificial. The chocolate didn't taste like natural chocolate. They probably use a pre-made powder pudding or something. I wouldn't get the filled ones again. Surprisingly, this fried dough didn't give me a stomach ache as some do. That must be a good sign. I gave it three stars because I ordered the filled ones and only tasted my husband's plain one. I wish I would have ordered those.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelLuvsCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    26
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The best Malasadas in Oahu (way better than Leonard's Bakery)”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This place is much better than Leonard's Bakery and there is no tourist line. The locals are happy to come here because it tastes so much better. I came here last month and came back a few time before leaving. The staff are very nice and they will talk to you.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank slaulau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Malasadas Heaven”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

There is only one work to describe this place-MALASADAS! This is the only bakery that can give Leonard's Bakery a run for the money. Made to order. hot, crispy outside and pillowly soft inside. The Best!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank TnEShlaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC, CANADA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best malasadas on the island!”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I made it my goal on my last trip to Oahu to try several different bakery`s malasadas to determine which one was the best. Champions was definitely the champion! The sugar malasadas are made hot as you order them and are SO good! Everyone goes to Leonards -- and I have in the past and did the last trip too -- but I will now skip the ``other place`` malasada place and go back to Champions. The glazed malasadas with the chocolate drizzle were also delicious, but I wasn`t too fond of the chiffon cake. But if you want the freshest, fluffiest and most delicious malasada on Oahu be sure to try this place!

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shannondenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent malasadas”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I had heard so much about how good malasadas taste that I just had to have one (or maybe more). We found Champion Malasadas easily (about 20 min bus ride from Waikiki) while on our way to the Iolani Palace one day. The malasadas (we had the custard cream filled ones) were sooooo good. Light as a feather. No wonder people become "addicted" to them. Just wish they'd had tables where we could sit down and enjoy them with a cold drink. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champion Malasadas also viewed

 

Been to Champion Malasadas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing