We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Innovative take on Japanese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shokudo

Shokudo
Reserve with OpenTable
Shokudo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #259 of 2,340 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Ala Moana - Kakaako
Cross street: Mahukona St. / Kaheka St.
Description: Presenting "the new wave in Japanese dining," Shokudo Japanese Restaurant & Bar offers an affordable dining experience with a dramatic architectural and design details. Much like the familiar, casual dining of Tokyo's center city, Shokudo Japanese offers an elaborate menu selection that encompasses both traditional Japanese dishes and the many ethnic and foreign influences that now infuse the popular dining culture of the country. A sleek floating bar placed at the center of the restaurant that hosts specialty cocktails and martinis, including the traditional and contemporary preparations of sake and shochu. Shokudo Japanese transports diners to an exciting revolution in popular Japanese dining, the perfect spot for celebrations and the gathering of friends and family.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Innovative take on Japanese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Don't go here if you're a Japanese food traditionalist. They use their imaginations to come up with their own variations on Japanese food, with their sushi rolls really illustrating this. I had a maguro roll infused with garlic and sprinkled with garlic chips. It was delicious!
Large menu though with great variety. Perhaps the traditionalists could actually find something there that would make them happy too!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    74
    18
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Shokudo well worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our family dined here twice and really enjoyed it, thoroughly recommend the garlic scallops and the honey toast lives up to its billing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank quin2930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really, it's all about the honey toast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

It was my first time in Hawaii and one of my friends who I was visiting suggested this place for an early dinner. He knew the menu inside and out and he made ordering simple for us... I wish I remembered exactly what we ordered but all I remember is the sushi pizza and that everything we ordered we liked. The honey toast dessert was incredible! It was the first time having a toast-style dessert like that and since then I have been trying to find one that compares. I have not been successful. I wish they could mail me some of that stuff!

One thing we did not like was the sticky table and the fact that I had to take a napkin to wipe the crumbs off my seat. Also, the service was sub-par. The place was bustling and busy... because they were understaffed! Apparently, that seems to be the norm.

The food gets 4 stars... the service and cleanliness gets 2 stars... so, this place gets a solid 3 stars.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NinerFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
128 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

I went here with two friends, one who is a vegetarian. There were people waiting outside, a sign that good food awaits. Although it was crowded we were seated quickly. A fairly extensive menu with food meant to be shared. A favorite was the house made tofu. I also enjoyed the cucumber shiso salad. Overall food was good, and great service. I definitely will come here again when I have more time and an empty stomach! Also has a bar so great place to meet friends.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, service and drinks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I've been here a few times, and the overall experience is consistent. The food is amazing! The service is very good, although I did have to wait a little long to close out my tab, but they were great and helpful in selecting what to eat. The drinks are also amazing, try the Vodka soda! The parking is very convenient, it's behind the restaurant. The pricing is fair, because you get what you pay for!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shokudo also viewed

Honolulu, Oahu
Honolulu, Oahu
 
Honolulu, Oahu
Honolulu, Oahu
 

Been to Shokudo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing