We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you have to”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Gulpen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
158 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Only if you have to”
Reviewed February 24, 2007

This hotel is very close to the airport and offers efficient transportation to and from the airport. However that's about it. We can only recommend this hotel for travellers who need to stay over for a connecting flight. Terrible location for other purposes. Located next to car rental companies and a noisy highway. No good restaurants nearby. They can not guarantee the type of bed that you requested in your reservation. No good value for your money.

  • Liked — Location to the airport
  • Disliked — Depressing location
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elmer&Lizette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    462
    323
    138
    91
See reviews for
377
367
132
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2007

Overpriced. Obviously they charge an arm and a leg because it's the only hotel near the airport. And with good reason. It's covered by a highway running right over it, and airplanes taking off and landing right over that. I only used the room to sleep overnight due to a missed conenction, but don't waste your time. If I could have slept in the car, I would have. The rooms are run-down and dirty. My room had the previous guest's hair all over the sink and tub. I had to lug my wheeled suitcases up and down flights of stairs. Everything was old and coated in a layer of grime. When I went to check out, there was a line all the way out the door leading to the hotel rooms. I didn't even check out, just cut to the side and left my keys on the front desk. The free shuttle to the airport is very helpful though; I guess that's the only thing that's worth charging for.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Dirty, noisy, run-down
  • Stayed August 2004, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank rainy4264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Florida
Level Contributor
327 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2007

We stayed one night just before Christmas. There are not a lot of choices near the airport and most inter-island flights do not depart after about 7:00 pm, so we needed something closeby after an 11 hour flight from EWR. This hotel fit the bill, but it certainly is nothing more than an airport hotel geared for short stays.

It is close to the airport, but it is located at busy intersection and the hotel is directly under the highway. It is a bit noisy, but when you are exhausted, who cares! The rooms were clean and of average size.

There is NOTHING nearby. A small gift shop had some overpriced sodas and snacks, but that is about it.

We had booked two rooms, but the reservation showed only one when we arrived. The hotel said Best Western HO must have cancelled one as a duplicate - thank goodness there were rooms available!

One complaint is that bills were not prepared in advance and placed under the door of rooms. This resulted in an lengthy line in the morning that moved on Hawaiian time.

For one night, okay, if more than that, do yourself a favor and find a better hotel.

  • Liked — Convenient to the airport
  • Disliked — Noisy, bland and poor checkout
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NJTravelBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skillman, New Jersey
Level Contributor
174 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2007

This is a 1.5 or barely 2-star hotel property. Free transportation and close proximity to the airport made me choose this hotel. It was literally booked because our flight from the mainland was landing late at 9:00 PM (2:00 AM Eastern) and I didn't want to lug the kids the same night to Maui. But next time, I would rather go 1/2 hour away to Waikiki and stay at some place more decent - although will cost me more - hotel and taxi.

Hotel is just OK. Rooms are VERY old and not worth the $120+ price we paid. Didn't want to really sleep on the sheets (OK, maybe I'm too picky). Bathroom was pathetic. It's the location that can demand that price - any place else, you're looking at a $50 motel.

  • Liked — Airport location, free transportation to/from airport
  • Disliked — Rooms, service
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Happy King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2007

The hotel itself is of average quality but there is no Internet access of any type in hotel rooms! The staff could be somewhat more polite and helpful (at least in opinion of someone used to European standards). If you use the shower be aware that you may get burned as the valve system is obsolete and not well maintained. The hotel is located very close to the airport, but not so easy to find as there are no road signs indicating proper direction and the hotel name is not visible from main roads.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — No Internet
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank J23xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2006

noisy...

on a very busy intersection & under a flyover...

gangs of youths hanging around....

the only plus about this hotel is that its very close to the airport terminal....

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank drutuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Airport Honolulu Hotel
#59 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#74 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
Downtown Honolulu
Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western The Plaza Hotel
Address: 3253 N Nimitz Hwy, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western The Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Honolulu
Best Western The Plaza Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing