We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$189
BestWestern.com$189
Hotels.com$189
eDreams$189
Priceline$189
Lol.travel$223
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,835)
Filter reviews
1,835 results
Traveler rating
513
628
404
172
118
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
513
628
404
172
118
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honolulu airport best westerns front desk staff shuttle bw hawaii
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 1,835 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2019

For business, it is out of the Waikiki crush. Safe and comfortable with a few amenities, even the airport within a short walk. The breakfast was always a highlight of the day and all staff does an outstanding job.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AirportHotelGM, General Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

Aloha Michael,

I couldn't have said it better myself!

Mahalo,

Jim Heather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019

Highly recommend this hotel. Service is impeccable and customer service superb. Hot breakfast make sure you say hi to Kemo he is one special fellow. Front line staff have great customer service skills. Rooms are clean and housekeeping g were very accomdating to our needs.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank bettymckillop
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AirportHotelGM, General Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

Aloha Betty!

We are happy you liked our breakfast and Kimo (James).

Mahalo,

Jim Heather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2019

The staff at this Best Western is hands down the friendliest and most knowledgable that I have ever encountered! Even the housekeep staff was more than happy to offer advice on places to eat and visit for a newcomer like myself. Mercy did an exceptional job of taking care of my every need during my stay and I'm grateful for the aloha spirt that she constantly greeted me with in-passing by the elevators. Thanks so much to you all! I absolutely recommend this location; aside from the friendly staff, it has a central location close to the airport, Pearl Harbor, and the main highway that will easily give you access to anywhere on the island that you would want to go and see!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paynejaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AirportHotelGM, General Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

Aloha paynjaaron,

Many thanks for your feedback about Mercy! She is amazing.

Mahalo,

Jim Heather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019

We stayed in this hotel for awhile due to military move and our experience was great and amazing. No complaints at all.First its near the Airport, everything is accessible, less hustle to deal. The staff are so amazing and very professional. Complimentary Breakfast was great and the staff working there James and Techie were very nice and friendly.. They always made us feel like we’re just home. Thumbs up and great job to these two. Thank you to our room cleaners Ami and Marcy for keeping our room clean and tidy every day. They worked so hard and i admired their dedication to their job. Well done to all the staff in this hotel.

Date of stay: April 2019
1  Thank Mobile40827747544
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AirportHotelGM, General Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

Aloha Mobile,

So happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. James and Techie are awesome! Ami and Marcy too!

Please come again,

Jim Heather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019

The Plaza Hotel is a high rise hotel conveniently close to the Honolulu airport. It is clearly an older property (probably 50+ years old) and while many finishes have been refreshed, the ambiance remains that of a mid-range 3-star hotel. Check-in was professional and efficient. Although we had reserved a standard king bed room, we were upgraded to a “deluxe” king room (a larger room at the corner of the building). Our room preferences had been noted and honored. That deluxe room was very spacious; the decor was comfortable rather than luxurious. There was a refrigerator, microwave, a small side chair and a desk with an adjustable chair, but no in-room safe. The bed was comfy with a thick, soft mattress pad. Lighting was abundant, as were electrical outlets.

Highway noise from the Nimitz Freeway penetrated the single pane windows, however, even though our room was on a back corner of the building relatively far away from the freeway. For us, it was more of a background gray noise rather than an annoyance. The hotel is oriented perpendicular to the freeway so there are few rooms truly on the back of the building facing the airport (rooms 1217-1219 on our floor) but those rooms are directly across from the ice and vending machines (not enclosed in a separate room or alcove) which I’d consider to be a much greater noise problem than the freeway.

The breakfast buffet was very good, including oatmeal and four cold cereals, scrambled eggs, pancakes and make-your-own waffles. The breakfast meat was unlabeled and were peculiarly dark cubes, possibly Spam. Seating was abundant. Fresh fruits included apples, oranges and melon but no bananas.

A number of local and chain restaurants are within walking distance but nothing suggestive if fine dining. The surrounding neighborhood included a car dealer and light industrial buildings but felt safe for walking in the evening,

The fitness center was relatively large with a variety of equipment. There is an outdoor pool, surrounded by additional low rise rooms (many of which could have problematic highway noise). The airport shuttle was efficient, but not quite free. I really dislike signage suggesting recommended tips, but there is one posted in the bus, suggesting a per-item tip. Bring lots of dollar bills, but don’t expect those tips to actually translate into meaningful assistance with handling your luggage.

All in all: a good but not great hotel. The basics are solid (sleep quality, room features), and the included breakfast buffet is a big plus. It is a good choice for a short stay between flights.

Room tip: Further from the freeway is good but avoid those adjacent to the vending machines
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AirportHotelGM, General Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Aloha Peter G,

Mahalo for your thorough review. The meat at breakfast was chopped Portuguese sausage. We were trying something new but I guess it didn't go over very well.

Safe travels.

Jim Heather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews