We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation Stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #55 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The Hotel served our needs - rooms were fine and not noising but the pool area and out front were on the very busy street and very noising from street traffic. Great food at the restaurant but a bit pricey

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

892 - 898 of 1,428 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

If you can find another hotel I would go to it instead, even if it cots more. The Parking spaces are ridiculously small even for a compact car and there are not enough spaces to accommodate all the guests. The water temperature in the shower would not stay at an exact or even close to same temperature. Internet is very slow and would kick me off repeatedly. The hotel is right next to a freeway, so expect lots of traffic noise all day and night. Staff is very nice and always say hello and ask if you need anything. Pool is well maintained and is 9' deep at one end. overall find a different hotel if possible.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Aloha Justin B,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for writing a review here on TripAdvisor.

We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while you were here. We did have an emergency repair we needed to address this weekend regarding the water temperature and so we apologize this affected your stay. Due to our high occupancies, we unfortunately have times where the parking is limited, but we do have 5 floors of parking. Again, we apologize we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay.

Thank you again and hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Hawaii.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We booked this hotel because of its proximity to the airport. It was at a good spot and shuttle service was good. Was very disappointed as we were put in an annexe at the back of the hotel on the second flow and no lifts. We had to drag our luggage up a flight of stairs that were hidden and we had tow all around the perimeter of the motel twice to find room was okay, clean and well appointed but very noisy. Not traffic noise as I expected but air conditioner noise fro. Other rooms. We just couldn't get any sleep and I would not stay there again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank tonesmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This airport hotel is the most convenient hotel to Honolulu airport......probably the reason that
it survives given that its location is directly on 12 lanes of noisy freeway plus 8 airport lanes.....
and has never upgraded its windows which are single pane.....the noise is endless and loud!!!!
Not a good location to get good sleep.

On the positive side.....there is good shuttle service to and from the airport. Staff were pleasant.
The rooms are adequate, fairly updated though the bathroom while clean is not of the latest.
Room rate at near $200 seemed high for what you get but you are paying for location. Parking
rate per night is $25. We ate breakfast there and the prices seemed high. Dinner ads in the
elevator said Fri/Sat/Sun/Mon so it appears no dinner available on the other 3 week nights. Used
their Wi FI and it worked well. Used the bus service just in front of the hotel.....fairly frequent service going to Ala Moana shopping and Waikiki. If you're Medicare.....use your card and bus
fare is $1.

Room Tip: Rooms a bit quieter at very back facing airport or direction Waikiki.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This hotel fit our need for about a 24 hour layover on our way to New Zealand. They do a good job of airport shuttle, friendly staff and basic needs. The key word is "basic". This fulfills your basic needs for a layover and is wonderfully convenient to the airport and nearby dining is walkable. Strongly recommend high floor overlooking Waikiki. Bus Stop is immediately across the street and extremely convenient for taking "The Bus" into Waikiki, a real cultural experience that is highly recommended! We then took a taxi back to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor overlooking Waikiki
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwwcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

My husband and I usually stay at the best western because their customer service is always excellent and they are friendly with pets. We decided to stay here for a few nights after our reservation expired at the Navy lodge while we were waiting for housing. The military liaison was very pleasant on the phone and so was the staff when we arrived. They let us park two cars in the garage for free. What I really did not like is the pet friendly rooms you have to stay in. I've stayed at other best western's right off I95 where you don't here the highway. Here, if you have a pet you can only stay in one of their courtyard rooms which are in a completely different building right off the highway. It feels very insecure especially if you are a woman staying alone. The doors face the highly trafficked main road and anyone can just walk up to your door from the street. At the back of the room you have a sliding glass door that faces the pool and the courtyard. This also has no security anyone can easily walk into the courtyard from the street. They don't even have a door to this area it's just open to the public. The locks are laughable, anybody can easily kick in the door. These rooms are so far removed from the main tower you feel like you checked into the motel 6. The worst part is the noise you hear from the main road and the H1 bridge which runs right over the hotel. If you are military with a pet and need a good place to sleep well, then this is not your place. You hear every single noise comig from the road. We weren't able to get any sleep and checked out after two nights. We needed a place to stay for four nights while our household goods were being moved. After the experience we decided it would be better to sleep on the floor of our new apartment instead of staying here. I understand that hotels have a designated number of pet friendly rooms but these are the worst I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millikenchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Aloha Millikenchr,

Thank you for considering the Best Western the Plaza Hotel for your stay in February. The staff and management are appreciative of your patronage.

After reading your review, we apologize for your experiences. Our pet friendly rooms allow easy access for guests with pets to allow them to take their pets on walks and play. We will look into the locks and though you mentioned feeling secured, we do have our Security team patrolling frequently and they are on duty 24 hours a day. We are looking at options to improve our hotel and so we will discuss your concerns.

Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

One thing was that my husband sent a fax to me. but the front desk said it did not show up only the front page. but on the front page was here it showed that 4 pages came through. Maid di not dust the room at all and we had to ask for replace items like soap and shampoo.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jeffery B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Aloha Jeffery B,

Thank you for staying at Best Western The Plaza Hotel in February. Both the staff and management are appreciative of your decision to stay with us.

We would like to sincerely apologize for the incoveniences you experienced while here. We will definitely look into these concerns and ensure we ensure this does not happen to other guests.

Thank you for your stay and your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honolulu
Airport Honolulu Hotel
#62 of 84 in Honolulu
1,049 reviews
Downtown Honolulu
Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
506 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#30 of 84 in Honolulu
1,514 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Plaza Hotel

Address: 3253 N Nimitz Hwy, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $154 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western The Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Honolulu
Best Western The Plaza Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing