We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not much choice” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Western The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Clemson, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not much choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Best Western Plaza is okay but nothing special. Recognize that it does not have free parking and breakfast is in the restaurant. There are not many choices near the airport, and the hotel clearly takes advantage of that. Price has gone up substantially since last year when I stayed there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    438
    312
    135
    87
See reviews for
353
351
128
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
248 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Not a vacation hotel, especially for Oahu. Probably the only airport hotel. Old property but well maintain. Excellent for the night before flight situation. The property consists of a hotel tower and an adjacent 'motel' with swimming pool and dining hall. Very serviceable.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank 48Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Aloha 48Traveling,

Thank you for your most recent stay at Best Western The Plaza Hotel. We are appreciative of your decision to stay with us and for writing a review.

We have a great location to the airport and offer complimentary shuttle service 24/7 to and from the airport. So as you mentioned, any guest looking for a place to stay the night before their flight, we are a great choice.

Thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there last night Jan 2014. My reservation was oddly not there but they had a room and were very accommodating. Service was good all around. We had breakfast in their cafe and it was quite nice. Traffic was noisy but been close to the airport one has to expect that. It was clean, though aging. Typical hotel room. However for one night and then on to our amazing resort it was reasonable and met my expectations. Staff was pleasant!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GlenMClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Aloha Glen C,

On behalf of the staff and management of Best Western The Plaza Hotel, we would like to thank you for staying with us in January and for writing a review.

We apologize we did not have your reservation upon check in, but glad to hear our staff was able to assist you. Our staff does provide the best service possible for our guests and glad you were able to experience it. We are also appreciative you acknowledged them.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Excellent room - very clean. Microwave and fridge were bonus. Very close to airport for our morning departure. Safe neighbourhood for walking in the evening. Shuttle service was excellent also. Did not use dining facilities as flight left early in the morning

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We had to make last minute plans to Honolulu during the Holiday Season and this hotel was one of the few reasonably priced with any vacancies. The hotel is built in 2 sections, one low rise tower with about 5 floors including the front desk with parking and a 2 floor wing which goes around the pool. We in the 2 floor wing. The hotel is surrounded by a freeway off ramp and busy streets and it's difficult to get a quiet room. The first room we were shown was right on the street and was quite noisey so was asked to be moved. The second room was off the front street and a little quieter. Not sure how the low rise area is but it is farther from the off ramp. The staff was great and even handled our complaint in a freindly manner.

Room Tip: Try the back of the low rise for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DOUGLAS K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Aloha DOUGLAS K,

Thank you for writing a review of your stay in December. Both staff and management would like to thank you for staying with us.

We apologize we were not able to accommodate you to your satisfaction during your stay. We do have quieter rooms in the tower unfortunately we were very busy during this time and so our inventory was limited. However, it is pleasant to hear our staff assisted you and did their best to accommodate you.

We apologize again for not being able to meet your standards on this past trip. We look forward to welcoming you back and if you do, we will do our best to get you a quieter room.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Greetings from the Keignars Family!

It’s been a wonderful week since I arrived in Honolulu, Hawaii. Our shuttle took us directly to our hotel, Best Western, which was 10 min away from the airport, not close to the beach. This was because, back then, it was 10:00 pm and we did not want to transport all our stuff to the beach by taxi at this late.

The word: ¨best¨ shouldn´t be on the Hotel name, because there is nothing of best on it.The hotel was a disaster; we even found some fleas on our bed which did not give a good start to our Hawaiian trip which we desired so much. Additionally, the beds were not as comfortable and one could hear the noise from the Highway. Fortunately, we only booked that hotel for the first night.

Well, the hotel was big and the workers were friendly. No breakfast was included and one couldn’t feel just yet the breeze of Hawaii.
The only advantage was that it was 7 min away from the airport. Just that.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Aloha Martin K,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Best Western The Plaza Hotel during your stay in January. Both staff and management are appreciative of your visit and your review.

As you mentioned, we are an airport hotel and so we have a great location to the airport and we have a great staff. We apologize the rooms did not meet your standard, but please know management is looking to upgrade and renovate the rooms. Regarding the flea issue you mentioned, we are investigating this as there have not been any other concerns in our rooms.

Thank you again for staying with us and if you need to quick layover for a flight, please consider us.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Colorado
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed here after a long flight from the mainland and continued our trip to the north shore. The hotel was clean and it served our purpose for a quick nights sleep before starting our vacation. However; do not expect quick service by there on call hotel shuttle. We waited almost an hour and with two little kids and a mass of luggage this was less than ideal. Dinner was okay but typical Hawaii it was overpriced for what it was. Staff were good but seemed burned out for some reason, probably due to tourists and who knows what else. The positive thing about this hotel is it is close to most of the rental car places so you can just simply walk over when you need to rent a car.

Room Tip: It is right next to an elevated highway so be prepared for the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin_from_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Airport Honolulu Hotel
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#73 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western The Plaza Hotel
Address: 3253 N Nimitz Hwy, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819-1907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western The Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Best Western The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Honolulu
Best Western The Plaza Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing