We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to airprt, under a highway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #55 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Honolulu, Hawaii, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Close to airprt, under a highway”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The airport was near by and one of only a few hotels that allow pets. Unfortunately the highway is right over the hotel so it's loud and hard to enter except in a roundabout way. No breakfast as advertised on website included with some reservations. Rooms were dated and in bad need of referbishment. Service was ok, but not out of this world. Parking fee too each night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Assistant General Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Aloha Scott S,

Thank you for your most recent stay at Best Western the Plaza Hotel. Our staff and management are appreciative of your choice to stay with us.

Our close proximity to the airport is one of our assests and provides convenience to those looking for a hotel for a quick stopover. Our hotel does offer quieter rooms in the hotel and so we invite you back to experience one of these rooms. The breakfast you are referring to is a breakfast package you will need to reserve and is available on the website.

We thank you again for your decision to stay with us and we are hopeful to welcome you back in the future.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    475
    335
    141
    95
See reviews for
399
375
136
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Best Western - Plaza. The parking was so conveniently located, the rooms are really big and the service was incredible. It also was super to have a store within the building. The location of the hotel was also convenient and close to the airport and the medical center I was scheduled to have surgery in. Loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank PKahea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrangell, Alaska, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Dried pee behind the toilet, hair on the toilet and in the tub, used coffee filters, garbage and kleenex in the ice box. We had clorox wipes to clean it ourselves and staff apologized, but definately won't stay here again. We normally really like the Best Western and stay at them all the time... the actual room, staff and breakfast were otherwise great... but the bathroom was gross enough to take Best Western off our list for future stays.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Assistant General Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Aloha Kelly B,

Thank you for your most recent visit and for the review of the hotel.

I would like to extend our sincere apologies for the experience you encountered here at Best Western The Plaza Hotel. This does not sound like the service our Housekeeping team provides, as they are mentioned prominently here for the great service they provide. I would like to speak to you directly, so please give me a call at (808) 837-5931.

We would like to have you stay with us again and so I look forward to your call. As you mentioned, the room, staff, and breakfast were great and so we would like to have you consider us on a future visit.

Look forward to hearing from you!

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Cedar Crest, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed at The Plaza twice recently - first on my way across the dateline, second on the way back for several days. The hotel is close to the international airport & runs 24-hour shuttle service to & from the airport. The rooms are quite nice & the cleaning staff takes pride in their work. Everyone at the hotel was pleasant & the on-site restaurant is adequate. There is also a well-stocked variety store / gift shop near the lobby. All the rooms have free wifi & flat-screen TV.

Major highways run adjacent to the hotel & there is some traffic noise but it wasn't a bother to me. The hotel is quite a distance from the "Hotel Zone" & most of the major attractions of Honolulu but the lower cost of The Plaza makes up for this. Buses & taxis are available at curbside & will take you anywhere you like on the island. There is a car rental next to the hotel but I saw no reason to rent a car while here.

Room Tip: Rooms on east side of the hotel have less traffic noise;
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank conchasdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

The wait staff and folks at the front desk are pleasant, helpful and some go above and beyond their area of responsibility. The room was a little musty, dining area had drywall patches, there were holes in the tile in my bathroom and the place looked dated. Youre not close to waikiki. You will need to take a cab, bus or have your own vehicle. If you get easily disturbed with roadway/vehicular noise this is not the place for you.

Helpful?
Thank OwieNY
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Incessant road noise, even on the 12th floor. Dirty bathroom. Chipped tub. Lame water pressure. Uncomfortable beds. One can hear the toilet flushing from next door rooms (not to mention other noises. Just Ewwwww). Would not repeat this experience even for free. Michael, the dining room server was excellent, the only light in an unsatisfactory stay. Renovations are looooooooooong overdue for the guest rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank itchyfeetRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

A decent hotel for an extended stay if you are up for constant construction noise and paint fumes. Cars have been broken into, and there isn't a consistent security force to reinforce dangerous parking. However the maid staff is fantastic, they really are the best thing about this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rnuttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Assistant General Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Aloha muttle,

Thank you for your review of the Best Western The Plaza Hotel. We would like to apologize we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay. However, we do have 24 hour Security that monitors our property and does constant patrols throughout the day. They also do many patrols of our covered and secured parking garage.
We are currently doing renovations to improve our property for our guests and so we apologize for the noise you have experienced.
We thank you again for staying with us and should you like to communicate with me more about your stay, please feel free to contact me at (808) 836-3636.
Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honolulu
Airport Honolulu Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,030 reviews
Downtown Honolulu
Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#74 of 84 in Honolulu
621 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western The Plaza Hotel
Address: 3253 N Nimitz Hwy, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western The Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Honolulu
Best Western The Plaza Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing