We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great staff. Hotel needs a compete makeover” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #48 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff. Hotel needs a compete makeover”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

The wait staff and folks at the front desk are pleasant, helpful and some go above and beyond their area of responsibility. The room was a little musty, dining area had drywall patches, there were holes in the tile in my bathroom and the place looked dated. Youre not close to waikiki. You will need to take a cab, bus or have your own vehicle. If you get easily disturbed with roadway/vehicular noise this is not the place for you.

Helpful?
Thank OwieNY
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    420
    298
    128
    84
See reviews for
333
327
123
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
325 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Incessant road noise, even on the 12th floor. Dirty bathroom. Chipped tub. Lame water pressure. Uncomfortable beds. One can hear the toilet flushing from next door rooms (not to mention other noises. Just Ewwwww). Would not repeat this experience even for free. Michael, the dining room server was excellent, the only light in an unsatisfactory stay. Renovations are looooooooooong overdue for the guest rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank itchyfeetRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

A decent hotel for an extended stay if you are up for constant construction noise and paint fumes. Cars have been broken into, and there isn't a consistent security force to reinforce dangerous parking. However the maid staff is fantastic, they really are the best thing about this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rnuttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Assistant General Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Aloha muttle,

Thank you for your review of the Best Western The Plaza Hotel. We would like to apologize we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay. However, we do have 24 hour Security that monitors our property and does constant patrols throughout the day. They also do many patrols of our covered and secured parking garage.
We are currently doing renovations to improve our property for our guests and so we apologize for the noise you have experienced.
We thank you again for staying with us and should you like to communicate with me more about your stay, please feel free to contact me at (808) 836-3636.
Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We just moved here from the mainland and I'm so glad we stayed here instead of staying at Schofield Inn. We have a German Shepherd so it's a big relief to us that this hotel accepts pets. It's in a great location. 5 minutes from the airport and there's a free shuttle bus. It isn't the nicest hotel, but you can't complain with the price and great location. It's a great place to stay for a quick visit. We stayed for over a month while we tried to find a house here and it was great for the first week or two, but I'm ready to get out. If you park your car here, park it in the parking lot behind the hotel. DO NOT PARK IN THE GARAGE! Unless you are used to microsized parking. The staff is very friendly and great. Emelita the cleaning lady was excellent and was great with our dog. It's a great place to stay if you need something affordable and close to the airport or if you are military PCSing with Pets.

Room Tip: Park in the parking lot, not in the garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDAV_DogTraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

...if you manage to get a good rate - this is the place to be near (5 minutes ride) from HNL Airport. Shuttle is free and available 24/7. THe pool is quite small but OK if you are staying at the hotel for a day or two. There is a bus stop near the hotel and you could get a ride to the Centre of Honoluly at circa $2.50 one way. The rooms are OK and not as dated as some reviwers make it to be..... I am sattisfied with my stay, at the price that I have paid and would definitely return if i will plan to stay in HNL Airport area in the near future.

Oh.... The Restaurant.... Fri and Saturdays they run a Snow crab buffet ar circa $30 +taxes... Ecellent food items, including eat-as-much-as-you-like salads, local sashimi, kimchi, snow crab.... The food is very good quality and I enjoyed the restaurant a lot!

Room Tip: For plane spotters, room 919 is probably one of the best, as this provides a very good view of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank German L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Assistant General Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Aloha German L,

Thank you for your review of the Best Western The Plaza Hotel. Both staff and management are appreciative of your stay, comments, and rating. Yes, we do have a free shuttle to and from the airport, free internet, and as you mentioned a restaurant with excellent food.
We look forward to welcoming you back and should you have any questions, please call the hotel directly.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

=we really enjoyed our stay at the best western it was comfortable my kids loved the pool and great hospitality..the house keeper was great she was nice and our kids liked her alot. madeline was our host she was great at her job and she is really nice. its a great hotel when you pcs our friends actually recommended this hotel and our stay was great.

Room Tip: the rooms are clean and nice the view is alright but other than that the rooms are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aad1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Assistant General Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Aloha aad1221,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Best Western the Plaza Hotel. We are appreciative of your patronage, comments, and rating you gave us.
We are glad to hear your kids loved the pool and our hospitatlity! We will advise Madeline of your comments.
Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahiawa, Hawaii
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I enjoyed our stay at this hotel! Our room was clean, the common areas were clean, and the staff was great! The service in the restaraunt was good, and the food was good. My kids loved the pool, although it was loud due to traffic. But who goes to Hawaii for the pool?! And you get free parking if you are staying there!! Most of all the excellent customer service is what has me recommending this place to everyone!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michele s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Airport Honolulu Hotel
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Downtown Honolulu
Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#67 of 84 in Honolulu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Ala Moana Hotel
#56 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western The Plaza Hotel
Address: 3253 N Nimitz Hwy, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819-1907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western The Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Best Western The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Honolulu
Best Western The Plaza Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing