We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, but near the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #49 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Basic, but near the airport”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a hotel that is convenient, but don't expect too much. The service is basic, the pool is basic and the room was basic. But clean. There is a free shuttle from the airport, though finding it is not easy, and I would recommend it as a relatively inexpensive, short stay hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    453
    321
    137
    90
See reviews for
370
362
131
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zeeland, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Best Western Plaza Hotel in Honolulu offers a very decent place to stay in a very convenient location. There is a free shuttle bus from the airport, which is only minutes away. The rooms and common areas are clean and comfortable. There is a little store off the lobby that sells snacks, alcohol and trinkets. Had a great breakfast in the on-site restaurant. The only thing that I was unhappy about was the price for parking. I rented a vehicle and it cost me $25 per night to park. I thought that was quite pricey.

Room Tip: Although close to the highway and airport, I had no issues with noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vomfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

After a very late arrival in Honolulu it was great to make a quick call and get shuttled a short distance to this hotel. It was clean, recently painted and very comfortable. We ate breakfast at the resturant, good value, then got into the pool before checkout. It is noisy outside and view of the highway is less than interesting but can't beat the location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nan_s1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
217 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I travel all over the world. Sometimes you have to make choices for convenience, not accommodations. Such is the case here. Proximity to the airport is the ONLY reason to choose this property. It is right on the freeway, noisy, old, A/C isn't even central (unit in the wall), beat up. No one who had other choices would stay here EXCEPT if you have to get back and forth to the airport without a long trip. The price is unreasonable for the room, but it's Hawaii. The staff were nice, although I had to wait 20 minutes to get picked up at the airport.

Room Tip: Tell them you do NOT want any room on the freeway side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skip15000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Assistant General Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Aloha skip15000,

On behalf of the staff and management of the Best Western Plaza hotel, we are appreciative of your decision to stay with us. After reading your review, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered.
We do apologize our product did not meet your expectations. While we do acknowledge we are a bit dated, our staff does it's best to ensure a quality product. In regards to the noise from the freeway, we are looking at ways to resolve this issue. Unfortunately, the hotel was built before that part of the freeway was constructed and so it is a challenge to find a suitable resolution.
We are hopeful you will consider staying with us again and should you return, please contact the hotel directly and we will do our best to find a quieter room for you.
Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
184 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a planned layover on our way to Australia and wanted a hotel near the airport just to have a good night sleep before we continued on with our trip. This hotel was perfect for an overnight stay. We called the hotel after landing and the free shuttle was there within 5 - 10 minutes. The room was large, clean, and had free wifi. I wouldn't want to stay in Hawaii under the underpass but this was a great night sleep when that was all we wanted. The next morning we had a quick shuttle back to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for a lengthy stay while we were waiting for our house to be built and the staff was so welcoming!!! The rooms are like any other best western nothing fancy but a good clean place to stay the night. Very convienent as it is right by the hotel and it has free shuttle service to and from :) The shuttle drivers are very knowledgable and once again very courteous. It is a little noisy seeing as it it right by the freeway but not so much i couldn't sleep. Never had a problem with having my room cleaned either, the lady that cleaned my room went above and beyond and got to know my kids on a first name basis!! Hopefully you are lucky enough for madeline as your housekeeper she is such a sweetheart and cleans everything thoroughly :) Over all a pretty nice hotel with awesome service. PS very military friendly which is always awesome in my book :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerica1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I arrived late in the evening. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The worked with me as I was military and didn't qualify for expenses. The room was okay. The rug was loose in certain areas. Otherwise, parking was horrible. There was one smoking area near the elevator in the parking garage. I wouldn't stay again as I could find another place with a cheaper price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melsenbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Airport Honolulu Hotel
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#74 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
Downtown Honolulu
Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western The Plaza Hotel
Address: 3253 N Nimitz Hwy, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819-1907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western The Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Honolulu
Best Western The Plaza Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing