We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll be back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Soul DE Cuba Cafe - CLOSED

Soul DE Cuba Cafe
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Honolulu
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Though I wanted to try this place on many occasions, I always bypassed it for Brasserie du Vin next door (I'm an incorrigible wino). We finally dropped in since it was a Sunday (and Brasserie is closed on Sundays). Overall a very good meal! The Soul Sampler included a beef filled potato croquette (very good), crab cake (good flavor though too tighly packed) and fried plantains (tasted more like bananas due to the sweetness and texture). However the braised oxtail and roasted pork were TO DIE FOR! The mojito cheesecake also provided a refreshing contrast of lime and mint to the rich cream cheese. Already thinking about the shredded beef and spicy seafood pasta on our next visit!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank GochisoGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    27
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sidney, Maine
Level Contributor
115 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

We had a pleasant lunch at Soul de Cuba. I had never been in the downtown area before, it seems a bit desolate there mid-day. The food was very good, and the mojito was excellent.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Mojitos, not so great food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Mojitos are very good, unless you order a pitcher. My husband and I did this once, and it wasn't very good. We've eaten there twice, and both times were disappointed in our food.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank kikiruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cool Atmosphere and Good Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

If you are looking to try something a little different head over to Soul DE Cuba Cafe. I had the Motofu dish which was amazing; however, after trying my friends entrees I realized that mine was by far the best and they agreed. The atmosphere was nice, service was a little slow. The servers, while friendly, where not necessary the most attentive.

I will definitely go again, despite the service, just have the Motofu entree again!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Food was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

The food was nothing to talk about . Would not definitely recommend the place. Parking is very difficult to find

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VSS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soul DE Cuba Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing