We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great dinner at Gaku!”
Review of Sushi Izakaya Gaku

Sushi Izakaya Gaku
Ranked #363 of 2,405 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Another great dinner at Gaku!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just returned to our local favorite when visiting Honolulu, and as always the sushi is consistently authentic and good!

We come to Oahu 3-4 times a year and Gaku never fails to deliver great sushi dishes away from Japan. The fish is always fresh and the amongst the best.

Recommend trying the seasonal nigiri and sashimi picks ..the fish are seasonal and we never had anything we didn't like.

Expect to pay premium prices as this is after all a premiumly good sushi restaurant. All chefs have been there for a long time which demonstrates why the food remains consistent year after year!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vg247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    20
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loa, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“YYYUUMMM!!!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

What a great spot to eat. Food was fresh and the happy hour was very affordable! A great way to start the night

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Raylando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best dining experience ever”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Over a year and a half ago and I can still remember the tastes. Highly recommend sitting at the bar and doing omokase. More than I ever spent at any restaurant but I would do it again in a heartbeat.

Hard to get in, make a reservation. Do not try to go later at night when they do not do reservations.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tricia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent dinner and experience”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Seared Toro was the highlight of the dinner. Asked the waitress to have the chef recommend the choices and was very pleased. Definitely a recommended stop if you like sushi.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JandJSampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Hawaii”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Enjoyed the Omakase sushi and Kokuryu sake at the bar in front of the owner. The sush was very simple and fresh. Everything that was placed in front of me was a true expression of having the fresh ingredient speak to you Zen like. A must visit for sushi lovers that visit Honolulu. Make sure to make reservations ahead of time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peter_vpnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Izakaya Gaku also viewed

 
Honolulu, Oahu
 

Been to Sushi Izakaya Gaku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing