We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good option!”

Taormina Sicilian Cuisine
Reserve with OpenTable
Taormina Sicilian Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 2,357 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Cross street: Don Ho
Description: Inspired by authentic Sicilian recipes from the kitchens of Southern Italy's seaside town of Taormina, Chef Hiroyuki Mimura pairs fresh pastas with the highest quality seafoods and meats. Unspoiled by heavy sauces, Sicilian-style pastas are dressed in pure, extra virgin olive oil. Fresh vegetables, lightly grilled fresh local fish, and lamb seasoned with herbs offer diners a healthy range of options.Featured dishes include fresh Fettucine Carbonara finished with tableside Truffle service, grilled Lamb Chops "Palermo" and Veal "Siciliana." Taormina's specialty dish is Uni Pasta (Sea Urchin), a delicacy enjoyed in Japan and Italy. Italian espressos compliment Dolci (dessert) selections of house made desserts.
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Good option!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I went twice and liked! The restaurant it is a good option for those looking for an Italian, the food it is very good. Aways crowded (make reservation), wine list expensive and prefer to sit inside it is quiet and ar conditioned.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fabiloefadami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    206
    87
    30
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Our Farewell Dinner”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Do make a reservation for this restaurant as it is very popular. We dined here on our last night before leaving Waikiki and hoped that we had made the right decision. We were not disappointed! This is an expensive restaurant but excellent. They have an extensive al a carte menu and chef's specials but we opted for the 5 course degustation menu which was US$65.00 per head. We started with an antipasti plate - delicious, followed by chilled green pea soup which was definitely different! Next came a good sized portion of squid ink pasta with alas only 2 small shell fish but the overall dish was delightful. Our main courses were good but not the same standard as the first three courses. There was a choice between tuna, beef or duck. We went for the tuna and duck both being well presented. Lastly, dessert! Again well presented with a homemade lovely and light creme brûlée and a scoop of hazelnut ice cream with melted Belgium chocolate. I do not normally eat dessert but this was small and yum! There is a very extensive and good wine list as well. By Sydney standards we did not think that this was over priced. Our waiter was a little unengaging which was unfortunate but we would certainly try this restaurant again when we are next in Hawaii.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NeatPackage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sicilian Food”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I love Italian and I'm fussy about my food. After several inquires with the locals Taormina was without a doubt was the best in their opinion, and I was not disappointed. The ambiance was relaxing and although small, the tables were far enough apart to have a private conversation.
The service was outstanding, and the chef went out of his way to comply with my substitutions.
The wine list was more than substantial with several very nice choices. I highly recommend this restaurant as it was truly an experience for my palate. I could eat there every night and not get tired of the food!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GramaGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“just okay only because we didnt love the food”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a very nice waiter and everything was really nice. But we both didn't love the food. I have to say that there was just SO much stuff in the sauce and so little actual pasta that we felt kind of like it was all so rich for us. Everyone raved about this place but perhaps we are too simple...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danasbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“worst food ever”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I eat out almost everyday in a restaurant and this place was absolutely the worst italian food i'd ever had. Everything was sweet like chinese food mixed with italian.
The chefs were all asian, not italians, the pasta was under cooked, but the asian manager was accomodating. Over priced and not worth it, food took forever to come out. Sorry guys I have to give you a D-

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank livingood32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taormina Sicilian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Taormina Sicilian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing