We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Nobu Honolulu

Nobu Honolulu
Reserve with OpenTable
Nobu Honolulu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #107 of 2,405 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $200
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Food was great. It pays to listen to suggestions from the wait staff. Trendy little restaurant. Would happily eat here again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank eeyoreBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    170
    88
    38
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a dining experience!!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I celebrated my 40th b'day with few friends in Honolulu and so we had to have a fine dining experience. Having been to Nobu in Las Vegas, I insisted to my friends that we must go Nobu in honolulu. As some fine dining restaurants give more plate than food and all that for price of an arm & leg, my friends were skeptical but didn't put up a fight owing to my status as b'day boy.
We booked Nobu online well ahead to avoid any disappointment. From the time we got to the restaurant to the time we left, I must say we had a ball of a time! Best of all, not only were our taste buds in constant heaven, we all had full stomachs too!
The service was exceptional with all suggestions by our waiter spot on! Arrival of each dish drew all kinds of superlatives and even more upon tasting them. The sashimi with jalapeños, Alaskan king crab, prawns, and list goes on were all outstanding! We had some superb chilled sake which was a perfect complement to the food.
A truly memorable dining experience!
Though I didn't have to give up my arm or leg, it was pricey but for the experience and quality of food and service, I didn't give the bill a second thought!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kalpesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnegie
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Had dinner on the 7th July at Nobu. Tasty food, great service and good menu choices. Efficient staff and worth a visit while in Waikiki.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“The sushi is ordinary and too expensive. Nobu didn't deliver!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Nobu has the name, but in this case that's not good enough, and Nobu Waikiki did not deliver!
Consider the price, the sushi and total experience was below average.
The sashimi at Nobu is extremely thin sliced. They are so thin that you can't taste the fish, just the Nobu sauce. Without tasting the fish, it is hard to define the standard.
Even their signature hot dish was ordinary. The service at Nobu Waikiki is also standard. They waiters were stressed and often forgot the customers order.
Instead of paying high prices for ordinary sushi and standard service, you could go to for instance famous Yanagi instead. The sushi is same standard or better and prices are 2-3 times lower. For instance:

Oyster shot is prices 3,5$ at Yanagi and 10$ at Nobu
Oyster shot is better at Yanagi too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TranFamilyNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Dinner twice in 3 nights”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

So - we ate here twice. The second time after a very enjoyable earlier night.

First time was a delight. Great service. Very good food. Waiter co-ordinated timing for different interests and had a host of useful recommendations. Dessert (drunken cherry cake) was a highlight.

Second time - service struggling, constantly looking around for help. Journeyman effort really. A bit disappointing for such a well known venue. Different dessert was a mistake - miniature donuts were cold and doughy.

Tuna outstanding both nights. Wine list pretty good.

In summary: First dinner 9/10, second dinner 4/10. Some good things each time - BUT - at this price point it shouldn't be so variable ...

Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nobu Honolulu also viewed

 

Been to Nobu Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing