We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“FABULOUS FOOD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roy's Waikiki Beach

Roy's Waikiki Beach
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's Waikiki Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 2,233 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, American, Seafood, Sushi, Asian, Polynesian, Hawaiian, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Vancouver
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“FABULOUS FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This restaurant is so good we ate there 5 out of 7 nights - and never got tired of the menu. The prices for wine and very reasonable and they often have "bin ends" at exceptional prices. The food is very varied and again very reasonably priced. The staff are very good, acknowledging us as repeat patrons and giving us a free appetizer and free drinks on subsequent visits. We much prefer to sit around the bar which is outside, airy and breezy as the inside can be a bit stuffy when the restaurant is crowded. Service is quick and efficient but don't rush you so you can spend as much time as you like. The spicy edamame beans -which are free !!! are very tasty and well worth going back for. We frequently shared our appetizers and mains -except for the crab cakes and the smoking dragon sushi - I would NOT share either of those dishes - delicious !

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank records
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,546
    604
    212
    83
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great cocktails at the bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We did not eat at Roy's however we found the bar to be a very nice place to hang out for a superb drink for a while.

The service at the bar was very professional. The drinks were superb. The location is good. It's all pretty fancy and nice.

I could recommend Roy's bar for a very pleasant tipple!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendallville, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous evening at Roy's to Celebrate on Waikiki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Roy's provided us with a great evening to celebrate a 30th birthday and engagement for a party of 8! Service was outstanding including special celebratory desserts. The food was delicious from beginning to end! I don't think you can beat this place on Oahu! The butterfish was raved about by many at the table, sushi is a must order and the chocolate souffle is a do NOT miss!!!! Thanks for a great evening!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eyedoc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best of Waikiki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Roy's is excellent - from the service to the food everything you would expect. This was a fabulous evening out. The sushi was excellent. The butterfish was butter. The best fish that I have tasted. You can't go wrong with fish at Roy's.
Make sure to save room for dessert. The chocolate soufflé is to die for. Order it before anything else.
It is expensive, but it is Waikiki. If you want to stay on the beach, this is the place to go.

Helpful?
Thank MadCat42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You can't beat this no matter how much you spend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

What a PLACE! We ate here about 4 years ago on a prior trip, and were floored by the entire experience. No change tonight...a group of 6 adults, 5 different entree's, salads, the works, all TOP NOTCH! And the SERVICE! Can't imagine how it can be better. Quite a team they have assembled at Roys....they all help out and you feel like you have a huge team as your waiting staff. Of course, it's pricey....$$$$ out of $$$$, but we're not complaining! You just need to know that going in, and you'll not regret it. I had the Trio fish sampler (3 types of fish), and ! Each piece was placed with it's specially selected sauce and accompaniment (asparagus, etc, though keep in mind that as the meal is 3 diff types, they are all small portions). Each was fantastic, and at the end I literally wouldn't be able to decide which to get IF I had to choose just one. My wife had the Butterfish and it was perfect...flakey, soft, just melted in your mouth. Another had the seared Ahi plate, and it was incredible. Another had the ribeye steak (not into seafood) and he LOVED it! And to top it off, the pre-order Pineapple upside-down cake with the most amazing scoop of ice cream I've ever had...just a perfect end to a wonderful meal experience. Worth every penny!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mchapek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Waikiki Beach also viewed

 

Been to Roy's Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing