We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Roy's” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roy's Waikiki Beach

Roy's Waikiki Beach
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's Waikiki Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 2,326 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, American, Seafood, Sushi, Asian, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best Roy's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I love Roy's Restaurants and have been to several in Hawaii, Seattle, San Francisco etc. The original Roys in Hawaii is great, but I think the Waikiki one has topped it! The maitre'd/manager is from the original Roy's and remembered me after a 2 or 3 year hiatus. Every Roy's has signature dishes, but the chef can add his own original creations. This is where Roy's Waikiki stands out. Everything I have had there has been delicious, serve is excellent.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris9111948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,666
    642
    241
    87
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pricey, Small Portions, and No View”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I tried Roy's twice on my week in Honolulu. It was great in the bar. The bartenders are quick with the wit and service. The restaurant has outdoor tables that merely look out on a street with cabs and traffice. No ambiance there! The indoor area was more welcoming and had great tables. The menu was a disappointment after having visited Roy's in the past and having had numerous memorable meals there. Let me start with dessert. The chocolate lava cake is now a tiny portion with a minature scoop of ice cream. Give me a break. I remember a large cake that was double the size with a reasonable scoop of ice cream. The salads were superb with fresh ingredients. The main courses were excellently seasoned and again too small in portions. It is as if Roy's is aiming its portions to the Japanese tourists, not the mainland visitors. I am not a big eater, but I cam away hungry on both visits to Roy's. And I paid dearly for this light dinner!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonessquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Dinner was Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The food was great tasting. We were able to choose for a fixed cost an appetizer, main course and dessert which was a great deal. Ambience was nice.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Roy's Waikiki is always "one of the best meals I've ever had"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This restaurant maintains really high quality, close to the best dining I've ever experienced. If the very best is 100, Roy's is consistently 94 to 97.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blueweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
1 review
“Outstanding food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Roy's provides a high quality meal for a fair price. The Butterfly fish and the Hawaiian swordfish was outstanding, definitely the best fish dishes we have ever had. The appetizer sampler displayed that the shrimp and ribs would also be excellent choices. A bit pricey, but for what you get it's worth it. End the meal with the chocolate soufflé and you'll gladly pay your bill!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Waikiki Beach also viewed

 

Been to Roy's Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing