We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A terrific different experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hawaii Food Tours

Hawaii Food Tours
Ranked #1 of 22 Food & Drink in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hawaii Food Tours™ was created by Hawaii's #1 Food Writer and Restaurant Reviewer, Chef Matthew Gray. It's for those who love food & fun. Voted Best Tours on Oahu for the past two years in a row! Two different daily tours; one takes place in & around Honolulu... the other goes to the North Shore. We will feed, educate and entertain you all day long! MSNBC Network called us one of the best food experiences in the world! These fantastic tours feature Yummy Food, Fascinating History, and Culinary Decadence! Our Famous Hole-in-the-Wall Tour™ includes a behind-the-scenes walking and tasting tour in Honolulu's amazingly colorful Chinatown! It's an entertaining, informative and FUN Honolulu City Tour with several stops, including 2 of Hawaii's most famous Bakeries & one of a kind Marketplaces. You'll be eating between 15 & 20 different foods! This tour takes place all over Honolulu, away from the touristy areas of Waikiki, where only the real locals go to eat. Our North Shore Food Tour™ gives guests a tasty glimpse of the colorful and rural "countryside" area of our island of Oahu. Many people read about the North Shore, about the beautiful huge waves, the garlic shrimp trucks, and rustic away-from-the-city areas, and that's what we give our guests, including some genuine Hawaiian food, a garlic shrimp plate, various pastries, Hawaiian Beer, and a visit to a coffee and sugar plantation.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
383 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“A terrific different experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

What fun it was to participate in this tour - not only do you get to see something other than Waikiki (if that is where you are based), taste amazing treats without having to stand in line (!) - but Greg and Sahara are THE best duo for this tour - funny, tons of knowledge and clearly passionate about what they do. It's a very comfortable sized group (we were about 10 I think) - and the food is truly amazing! Do make sure you come hungry (definately skip breakfast, and possibly have a light dinner the night before) as you don't want to miss everyone of these treats.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
114 Thank Adele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,653
    99
    32
    14
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We booked the Hole in the Wall food tour based on Tripadvisor reviews. Our guides, Sahara and Greg were great! My daughter doesn't eat red meat so they were very accommodating in her food selections. We learned a lot of Honolulu history as well as experiencing great foods. The tour was with a small group of people and we had a lot of fun together. We found out where the best foods was in all price ranges including a lot of budget friendly local places and probably just as important, we found out where not to waste our limited time. I would highly recommend this tour especially early in your stay -- it will save you a lot of time and energy that you can devote to enjoying your stay in Honolulu.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
74 Thank sg1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Took Both Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

During our recent visit to Oahu we sign up for both the North Shore tour and the Hole-in-the-Wall tour. Both exceeded our expectations. They were delightfully different. We did the North Shore Tour first. It's only been around for a few months but our guides were terrific. We sampled native Hawaiian food and also the food the Hawaiian locals typically eat; not the same. The food was superb and from places the typical tourist such as us would never think of stopping at. Our guides were also wonderful and gave us a running commentary about the sights along the way. Leave hungry and don't plan on any dinner that night.

The hole-in-the-wall tour was in downtown Honolulu, mostly, but not exclusively in Chinatown. Again great food and terrific guides. We feel like we know much more about the local culture and cuisine than we could have imagined in such a brief time. I'd be hard pressed to choose between the two tours. A big "well done" to Hawaii Food Tours!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
88 Thank John17762014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“great fun well worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We heard about this tour by word of mouth at home and had left it till our last day. Wish we had done it early as the information would have been great to eat at different places!
The food sampling was huge didn't need to eat again that day and very tasty. Enjoyed China town. food was great! tried different types of meats and spam sushi! Greg and Sarah were great hosts and were very organised even down to providing toothpicks. Made the whole group feel welcome. Don't worry because all the information about the day is emailed to you so you can follow up later. If you like to try different foods and see local hawaii then you will enjoy this. loved it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
98 Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Start your stay with a little Aloha”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

If you want to feel like a local then this is a tour for you.Bill and Sahara were warm,funny,and full of great food tips and Honolulu history and they LOVE food.Have been on a few food tours around the globe and this one was excellent.After you're done you'll have made new friends,eaten a LOT of really good food and seen Honolulu like you've lived here for years.I would do this tour again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
68 Thank d c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaii Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Hawaii Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing