We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're familiar with asian food, you can probably skip this”
Review of Hawaii Food Tours

Hawaii Food Tours
Ranked #1 of 26 Food & Drink in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hawaii Food Tours™ was created by Hawaii's #1 Food Writer and Restaurant Reviewer, Chef Matthew Gray. It's for those who love food & fun. Voted Best Tours on Oahu for the past two years in a row! Two different daily tours; one takes place in & around Honolulu... the other goes to the North Shore. We will feed, educate and entertain you all day long! MSNBC Network called us one of the best food experiences in the world! These fantastic tours feature Yummy Food, Fascinating History, and Culinary Decadence! Our Famous Hole-in-the-Wall Tour™ includes a behind-the-scenes walking and tasting tour in Honolulu's amazingly colorful Chinatown! It's an entertaining, informative and FUN Honolulu City Tour with several stops, including 2 of Hawaii's most famous Bakeries & one of a kind Marketplaces. You'll be eating between 15 & 20 different foods! This tour takes place all over Honolulu, away from the touristy areas of Waikiki, where only the real locals go to eat. Our North Shore Food Tour™ gives guests a tasty glimpse of the colorful and rural "countryside" area of our island of Oahu. Many people read about the North Shore, about the beautiful huge waves, the garlic shrimp trucks, and rustic away-from-the-city areas, and that's what we give our guests, including some genuine Hawaiian food, a garlic shrimp plate, various pastries, Hawaiian Beer, and a visit to a coffee and sugar plantation.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I love food, and I love hole-in-the-wall food, so I was very excited about this tour. Its supposed to bring you out of the touristy areas to where the locals eat. However, a good chunk of time was spent in Chinatown - which they advertised so maybe I should have known. Being of Asian decent, I had tried most of the foods we tasted already so I was a bit disappointed paying over $100 and getting what I would normally get at home or going on vacation with my parents. Although the food was good, and some had a bit of a Hawaiian twist, I wasn't wowed. The tour guides were fun and kept the excitement level up. It was very organized in the sense that they had water, wetnaps and stools to take with and sit. I think people who have not experienced a lot of asian foods would love this tour, but if you are familiar with Asian foods, have travelled Asia, you probably won't feel like you got your money's worth (well, Asian's never feel like they get their money's worth ;). Well, I guess local Hawaiians love their Chinese food.

6  Thank travelladybug2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FeedTheWorld, Owner at Hawaii Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Aloha Friends,

Thanks for your feedback. We take all reviews quite seriously here at Hawaii Food Tours.

With all due respect, you didn't just get dropped by the Travel Gods onto our tour. There are over One-Thousand reviews of our tours online that are generated by our guests. OVER ONE-THOUSAND!! You even mentioned those reviews in your negative review of us.

Those reviews you had the opportunity to read prior to paying for and then taking our tour pretty much describe, in glorious detail, what our famous tour consists of, including the "Two Hour Behind the Scenes Walking & Tasting Tour" inside our Chinatown district that you for some reason complained about, even though you knew full well it was a part of our tour.

Besides the Chinatown portion of the day, you were taken to at least 3, maybe 4 other stops. How many stops/foods were you expecting?

On your tour day you enjoyed between 15 to 20 different food items (that you said you liked). You tasted what we describe ( stated clearly on our Web site, and on many of the previously-mentioned 1000+ reviews) "the foods of Hawaii" which includes a wide-ranging and delicious mix of Hawaiian, Chinese, Japanese, Hong Kong style, Vietnamese, Filipino, Portuguese and local foods.

Additionally, you were given the history and cultural background on the foods you ate, the people of Hawaii, and the cultural melting pot of our wonderful city of Honolulu. And, if that's not enough, you were shown the Chinatown area of Honolulu, a rich, colorful and exciting part of town. Similar to, but quite different from, any other Chinatown you've ever been to. Not too bad for a 4-hour tour, right?

So, in short, although we are all baffled at your words and negative tone, we'd still like to thank you for saying that you enjoyed the foods you were served, the tour guides who catered to all your needs, and everything about our Famous Hole-in-the-Wall Tour.

Warm Wishes,

Matthew Gray
C.F.G. {Chief Food Guy}
Hawaii Food Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,853)
There are newer reviews for Hawaii Food Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

752 - 756 of 1,853 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

Bill and Sahara were terrific guides...full of information and fun to be with! The Hole-in-the Wall tour was an excellent introduction to some of those intimidating foods that you'd like to taste, but......now we know what we were missing! Also nice to experience "local" eats...and the history behind them. Who knew that "pork bellies" crackled??? Loved the experience, and don't miss this tour. Also am craving "Bubbies" and not a 1 to be found in South Carolina!!! Thanks for a great tour!!

64  Thank Judiee45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

You do not want to miss this tour! I was not expecting to have as much fun as I did on this tour. The food was amazing, and Matthew and Rachael are great! Matthew is the best tour guide I have ever had, and it is obvious that he knows what he's talking about. Rachael even gave us some recommendations for other places to try at the end of the tour. This is a great way to experience the different foods of Hawaii (epecially Liliha's Bakery). The Hole in the Wall tour was definitely one of the highlights of my trip to Oahu.

39  Thank Haley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Matthew and Rachel
We just got home and could not wait to let you and anyone who visits your website to know how very much we enjoyed the Hole-in-the-Wall tour. Not only was the food & fellowship great but you ensured we all had a great time. Glad you hired Rachel…she definitely added a special touch to our adventure.
It was very clear that you both sincerely enjoy your work and sharing the food, cultures, etc. with others. We were only with you two special people for a few hours and at the end of our tour felt, we really had developed a friendship. We have taken lots of tours and believe me, this doesn’t happen very often!!!

Thank you very much for such a memorable and delightful experience! The Gourmet Trilogy Food & Wine Lovers Tour sounds wonderful too, so on our next visit to Honolulu we will be giving you a call.

.Just a little warning for anyone who has not yet taken this tour….DO NOT eat before going on this tour.

Looking forward to receiving all those delicious recipes from Rachel

Thanks again for your wonderful tour and hospitality.

Roland & Jennifer Stolearcius - Saskatchewan, Canada

41  Thank holiday0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I decided to do the Hole in the Wall Food Tour on the first day of out week in Waikiki, so we would get ideas on what and where to eat. We did not expect to have so much fun, and leave so full. Matthew & Keira were the owners of this company, and are a great couple. They were so knowledgable of the area, culture, lots of good stories, and of course shared great food with us. We tried many great dishes, and Keira's cocktail. They sent us all the recipes to our email of the foods we had eaten and where we had been that day, as well as information for other Islands that we were heading to. We had a great day and lots of laughter!

31  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaii Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Hawaii Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing