We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOLE IN THE WALL TOUR THE BEST!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawaii Food Tours

Hawaii Food Tours
Ranked #1 of 22 Food & Drink in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hawaii Food Tours™ was created by Hawaii's #1 Food Writer and Restaurant Reviewer, Chef Matthew Gray. It's for those who love food & fun. Voted Best Tours on Oahu for the past two years in a row! Two different daily tours; one takes place in & around Honolulu... the other goes to the North Shore. We will feed, educate and entertain you all day long! MSNBC Network called us one of the best food experiences in the world! These fantastic tours feature Yummy Food, Fascinating History, and Culinary Decadence! Our Famous Hole-in-the-Wall Tour™ includes a behind-the-scenes walking and tasting tour in Honolulu's amazingly colorful Chinatown! It's an entertaining, informative and FUN Honolulu City Tour with several stops, including 2 of Hawaii's most famous Bakeries & one of a kind Marketplaces. You'll be eating between 15 & 20 different foods! This tour takes place all over Honolulu, away from the touristy areas of Waikiki, where only the real locals go to eat. Our North Shore Food Tour™ gives guests a tasty glimpse of the colorful and rural "countryside" area of our island of Oahu. Many people read about the North Shore, about the beautiful huge waves, the garlic shrimp trucks, and rustic away-from-the-city areas, and that's what we give our guests, including some genuine Hawaiian food, a garlic shrimp plate, various pastries, Hawaiian Beer, and a visit to a coffee and sugar plantation.
ROSEVILLE
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“HOLE IN THE WALL TOUR THE BEST!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Returned from the Hole in the Wall Tour today and boy, are we happy we did it! Sahara and Bill were the best tour guides we have ever experienced. We tasted foods that were new to us and absolutely delicious. I highly recommend this tour to anyone that visits Oahu. Do it...you'll be happy you did!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
45 Thank JODY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,642
    99
    31
    14
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The best tour of my stay so far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

As a bit of a tour cynic, it was a breath of fresh air to get tour leaders who were not only knowledgable about the subject of their tour but just as passionate about the subject matter as their guests.

With Bill and Sahara in the lead we were swept from one fantastic local dish to another efficiently and there were no dead spots like there are in most tours. Also, they were genuinely engaging, knew their stuff inside out and motivated to give us the best experience they could. None of the corny jokes, condescension or factual errors I'm so used to seeing in other tour packages around the world (seriously, I had one in San Francisco last week that insisted the Summer of Love was in 1965 despite guests correcting him).

As well as the food aspects there were even elements of a standard sightseeing tour thrown in, so we really felt we got value for money. I highly recommend this.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
46 Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Don't miss this tour if you love food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This tour, with Sahara and Bill, was the highlight of our trip to Oahu. Even if you live there, you probably don't know about the places to which they took us, and even if you did, you wouldn't get Sahara and Bill's knowledge, personality and fun factor without this tour. Don't miss it - worth every penny. The owner will work with you on pickup/dropoff needs you may have, which was fantastic. Have I raved enough?!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
42 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hole in the Wall Tour Honolulu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you ever have the chance to take this tour-JUMP! It is one of the best things I did in Honolulu. Amazing guides-Greg and Sahara- showed us some out of the way places, that you would never find on your own. The food is delicious and plentiful- the history lesson is fun and the comraderies you form on that tour will stay with you for a long time.If you are a foodie- like myself-BOOK NOW- NOT to be missed. I cannot say enough good things! Mahalo!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
24 Thank DianeBennettHarcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“So glad I did this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I was travelling alone and came across this tour and knew it wasn't something I could miss. My tour guides were Greg and Sahara. Straight away getting on this bus was pleasant they took time to ask where I was from and had me interacting with the other people on the bus. Sahara was happy to answer any questions we had both food and waikiki related.

Our first stop was a little sweet bread shop whilst eating they pointed out filming locations and temples. Being on the bus was enjoyable Gary was a fantastic driver. Being on the bus solo was probably the best thing, all the other tour members were willing to chat and have a laugh about my accent and use of the word "jumper". These people probably made the tour even better and can only hope for another group that friendly.

All the food we had was fresh and full of flavour. Half way through I thought surely I would have to stop for food on my way home an a Burger King but my goodness I was wrong. I was soooo full by the end of it I thought I would be sick.

I can't even begin to say how highly suggested it is for visitors or even locals (and there were 3 on my bus) to do this tour. Fantastic food, guides and sights to see. If I had the time I would do it again tomorrow but instead I promise to return with family and do the tour again in the future.

Best thing I've done all holiday.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
37 Thank feltonese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaii Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Hawaii Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing