We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hawaii Food Tours

Hawaii Food Tours
Ranked #1 of 22 Food & Drink in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hawaii Food Tours™ was created by Hawaii's #1 Food Writer and Restaurant Reviewer, Chef Matthew Gray. It's for those who love food & fun. Voted Best Tours on Oahu for the past two years in a row! Two different daily tours; one takes place in & around Honolulu... the other goes to the North Shore. We will feed, educate and entertain you all day long! MSNBC Network called us one of the best food experiences in the world! These fantastic tours feature Yummy Food, Fascinating History, and Culinary Decadence! Our Famous Hole-in-the-Wall Tour™ includes a behind-the-scenes walking and tasting tour in Honolulu's amazingly colorful Chinatown! It's an entertaining, informative and FUN Honolulu City Tour with several stops, including 2 of Hawaii's most famous Bakeries & one of a kind Marketplaces. You'll be eating between 15 & 20 different foods! This tour takes place all over Honolulu, away from the touristy areas of Waikiki, where only the real locals go to eat. Our North Shore Food Tour™ gives guests a tasty glimpse of the colorful and rural "countryside" area of our island of Oahu. Many people read about the North Shore, about the beautiful huge waves, the garlic shrimp trucks, and rustic away-from-the-city areas, and that's what we give our guests, including some genuine Hawaiian food, a garlic shrimp plate, various pastries, Hawaiian Beer, and a visit to a coffee and sugar plantation.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

we were looking for a unique experience while on Oahu and the Hole in the Wall tour was just that. The food, the knowledge of the tour guides, and the other members of the tour group were all outstanding. If you are at all interested in tasting new things and getting off the beaten track, this tour is for you.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
33 Thank Dolores G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,653
    99
    32
    14
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The best tour to experience and learn about Hawaii!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

When we booked the Hole in the Wall tour we knew we were going to experience something unique... It exceeded our expectations.
Everything promised on the tour promo was delivered and so
Much more! Our guides, Sahara and Greg, were like having
Two "human encyclopedias" on board: full of knowledge not only about food but history and anything about Hawaiian culture and lifestyle. You can tell the guides enjoy what they do and want to share as much as they can wih everyone. With only 13 people on the tour, you get personal attention at all times. The 4 of us agreed this is the best tour we have ever taken anywhere we've travelled. Can't to come back and do the evening food tour!

Helpful?
31 Thank Prproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Highlight of our vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This tour was simply amazing! If you are the type of person who wants to try the authentic foods of Hawaii but don't know where to find it or are too scared to order it off a menu then this tour is perfect for you. Our guides Mike and Rachael were full of wonderful knowledge (and not just about food!) We took a stroll through Chinatown and tried some fantastic traditional foods and exotic fruits (the kind that look really scary on the outside). I'll admit there were a couple of foods that I didn't like but at least I had the opportunity to try them! I would definitely recommend this food tour to everyone, it was truly the best part of our trip and we learned way more than we ever could have imagined.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
33 Thank akgrownashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

First of all, staff were great!! Great Aloha sprit and welcoming!
The varieties of foods .... Good choices... Felt that got to know about Hawaiian culture.. Mixed of many countries... Big Asian influences.....
It was very present time to be on the tour.
Very interesting tour...
Not only just foods also they gave us a little tour about the area..
It was worth to have this experience!

Thank you so much!!!!

Helpful?
26 Thank Kazunoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I did the hole in the wall tour and loved it.
The guides were so knowledgable and passionate about food. They give you an insight into Honolulu's history and its culinary development.
You get to visit local favourites and try some great Hawaiian food.
Well worth the time and money.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
28 Thank Anniquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaii Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Hawaii Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing