We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Masterpieces!”
Review of Koko Head Cafe

Koko Head Cafe
Ranked #32 of 2,145 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $25 - $39
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed June 29, 2016

Amazing is all I an say! Today was my 4th time and each time I went with large group. 100% of everyone's dishes were spectacular! I keep getting the dumplings and breakfast bi bim bap. Tasted my daughters cornflake french bread and it was a masterpiece! Just wish the line and wait wasn't so long....but worth the wait. Actually, today was perfect...I went ahead of my party of 8 and put our name in at 10:50, went back home and met everyone back at 11:30 and we got seated right away!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hnl_gal96816
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 264 of 510 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2016

Finding a breakfast that is unique and yet delicious has been not only difficult, but impossible in Honolulu. When we've tried the highest ranked Yelp places and so often find a hole in the wall spot with a mountain of food served as a substitute for high quality, we get discouraged. However, there are several really good breakfast places in Honolulu, but only one that I've found that serves a creative menu with all kinds of Asian influenced dishes featuring flavor that will, as they say in these parts, would "broke da mouth." If you have to have something not too exotic, try the French toast. Sensational. Home made Asian dumplings and other delights on the specials menu. Simple atmosphere, great service. The only think about the place I did not like was when I noticed that I was at the bottom of my dish. Luckily, I was full.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gentlewave
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 27, 2016

Koko Head Cafe is a great little out of the way place with unique delicious breakfast/brunch food. For starters we had the Breakfast Bruschetta and an order of the dumplings of the day. Both were fresh and bursting with flavor. For breakfast we had a North Shore garden frittata with goat cheese and Elvis's Revenge. Both were excellent.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 22, 2016

Went to this place after reading about it in a travel book and was not disappointed. Both times we went there was a bit of a wait but definitely worth it. Try to sit up by the bar if you can as it is fun to watch the action in the kitchen. This was our first experience with eating poi and they even elevated that into something interesting. Only downfall was that the second time we went back the Korean short rib dish was not quite as good as the first time (rice was not cooked as well) but still was very good.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BandBCuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 16, 2016

You have to try their take on the traditional Mimosa!! Every sip was a bright light on the palate. As always the food was great and the creativity and combinations worked like magic. Did I mention the dumplings-you have to order the dumplings.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KaimukiBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Koko Head Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Koko Head Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.