We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of ALOHA!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham at Waikiki Beach Walk
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We've always enjoyed our stay at the Beach Walk. It's perfectly situated - a short walk to Waikiki beach, a short walk to the great shopping. They have a wonderful welcome evening, providing traditional entertainment, Hawaiian food (gotta try the poke and poi!), and even fresh flower leis. This property is situated where Don Ho used to sing 'Tiny Bubbles'. Valet parking is around $35/day. The pool is not large, but who goes to Waikiki for a hotel pool? There is an ABC store next door where you can easily get snacks and light meal foods. We had a 1 br./1bath for three of us and it worked well. The kitchen had almost anything I needed to prepare simple meals and save money for other things on the island. Great access to almost anything from this place. We have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank takrafty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 687 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Wyndham was a solid place to stay in Waikiki. Easy access to the main attractions. Easy parking. Great place to stay overall. Pool is hidden and next to a parking garage and a bit small. Beach access does require walking but not too far. Check in was at 4 and we waited until 4 so don't arrive early.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank collegek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This property is actually a timeshare by Club Wyndham (although I'm sure you can give them money to stay here too) and looks to me to have been recently refurbished. It is right in the heart of all the action at Waikiki and there are lots of things to do within walking distance if you don't have a car. Speaking of which, the parking here is run by a private firm (not Wyndham) and costs $35 per night which is more $$ per day than we paid to rent the car. I know things are expensive in Hawaii but this is just usury.

Other than that the room was nice, clean, comfortable, and reasonably quiet even though we were on a lower floor, the positive thing about which is that we didn't have to wait for what appeared to be very slow elevators.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CWLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We booked through Shelby Resorts and it was a great hotel. If you don't mind not being directly on the beach this hotel is for you. Clean, washer/dryer in unit,full size fridge etc. we had 2 bed/2 bed and it was comfortable for the 3 of us. You don't get to pick your room so don't ask. We stayed in 824 it was facing Lewers St. And the Beachwalk shopping district, loud if you have balcony doors open but it was nice to hear music and people having fun. No noise heard when doors closed and AC on. Parking 35$ a day but try to find parking in Wakiki is terrible so we were glad to pay it and the Valet guys aweso nice they remember you and ask how your day was and give you great ideas on where to go. No houskeing because we booked as a condo not hotel. You can ask for service but for some reason we didn't get it, and it does cost extra. Get out of the city and drive the beaches so much to see and do. Wakiki is a luxury shopping Mecca for foreign tourists and that's all you'll see. Did not use pool or hot tub. Also didn't get welcome package because did not want to talk to salespeople about timeshare. All in all great place to stay

Room Tip: no choices you are assigned what they got at the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bmcnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were so disappointed. To start, we were not given the room and floor that we were promised when we made the reservation. Then, within seconds of checking-in, we were hounded by Wyndham people to upgrade, attend a meeting, etc. These same people position themselves like vultures on the sidewalk and bother passers-by too. The building is buried inside the city block, surrounded by taller structures, so there is no view of the beach or water. The room itself was bleak and dated from the plastic covered couch to the bedroom without a mirror. The beds are as hard as a rock, and even if you can sleep you are awakened every morning at 5:30 by construction noise. And then there's the air conditioner in the unit - it sounds like a jet airliner taking off. The pool is postage stamp sized, and the hot tub is over run with rugrats. We could not get in the hot tub all week. There are dozens of great resorts, including the Outrigger Reef, which is right on the beach. And they accept Wyndham points! We asked at our front desk about the Outrigger and they said there was no connection with Wyndham there. How then did we speak to a person with a Wyndham name tag behind the front desk at the Outrigger Reef?

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank GuyFromAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

As owners, we have visited the Wyndham Waikiki Beach Walk for the past eight years, the most recent from May 14 thru 20, Each visit never ceases to amaze us. The resort has just completed a complete renovation, giving its rooms and decor a cool and chic ambience. The whole staff from the front desk, to housekeeping, to concierge, to security are wonderful, excellent, and friendly. They all go out of their way to help you any way they can. Our room this time was on the 4th floor, facing Lewers, the lowest we have ever stayed. While my family enjoyed the 2 bedroom deluxe unit, I would have preferred a higher floor unit. Palm trees blocked our view of the nightly going-ons across the street. We also had two small problems with our unit. The ice-maker would not go off, even after turning it to off and the front door, on the third day, would not lock. Maintenance came out right away to fix them both. And even though we stayed for six nights, we would not receive mid-week tidy service, even as platinum owners. But we caught housekeeping on our floor and received fresh, new towels and they gladly emptied out our trash.
Aunty Pukea at the conceirge desk is the best, warm and ever so concern about your happiness and any worries!. She happily color highlighted the map of Waikiki for all the must see attractions and told us the best places to eat. We went to the Steak Shack on the beach by the Outrigger the first night and what a bargain for delicious complete steak and chicken combos - $6.99 to $10.99. She told us about the free Friday night fireworks at the Hilton Hawaiian Village and we went there to their palm-tree lagoon, leaned against a comfortable railing by their beautiful swimming pool, felt the booms and blasts reverberate our bodies as we oohed and aahed at the fireworks overhead. Only like this in Hawaii!
For our sight-seeing attractions I had booked several months in advance the Pearl Harbor Passport tour on recreation.gov. For $55 each, that allowed us admission to the Arizona memorial with audio headphones (invaluable), the Bowfin submarine, the USS Missouri, and the Pacific Aviation Museum. Well worth a whole day trip! For the Polynesian Cultural Center on Polynesian.com we booked the Oahu Circle Island Tour and Prime Dining Experience for $183 plus 10% online discount - a bestseller package! Food was excellent. And we loved the new "HA" show at the newly renovated amphitheater and their brand-new 3D theater, well worth a repeat visit just for those two attractions. But I think the highlight of our stay was the Shangri La tour at the Honolulu Museum of Art, showcasing Doris Duke's love of Islamic art and symmetry. This is the place to see how the rich and famous live! On honolulumuseum. org we booked several months in advance our $25 tour tickets to Shangri La, Wednesday thru Saturday only. The price also includes admission to the hnl museum of art itself, a lovely, cool place to wander through with a wonderful restaurant inside (We made reservations.), along with the shuttle ride to the home near Diamond Head. It's wise if you can book an early tour time, ie the 9 or 10:30. There is no air-conditioning inside, although you will be supplied with a beautiful fan to cool yourself. Please read about this fantastic place on tripadvisor.com under the things to do link. Our whole family thought this was the top to see and do in Honolulu. But the reviews are correct in saying it's the quality of the docent who will make the whole experience satisfying. And ours was perfect, she was so enthusiatic. And don't forget to visit the Iolani Palace, also a must-see. I have to add we also stayed at an Ohana hotel previously and with the room key for two people we got on for free on the Trolly Pink Line, which went thru Waikiki to the Ala Moana Shopping Center. My mom loved it so much we rode the route twice before getting off at the shopping center. Best little ride for $2 each with no room key! You can see we had a terrific time at the Beach Walk and we will always return with no hesitation!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank susienew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

"Beach Walk" doesn't mean It's right on the beach, "Beach Walk" is the name of the public area across the road, but the beach is a short 5 minute walk away. One side of the building overlooks the Waikiki Beach Walk, the other overlooks the pool and other buildings. If you can swing it, try to stay on the Beach Walk side, it's a much nicer view and you can see the nightly entertainment from your balcony.
Very short walk to lots of cafes, restaurants, ABC Stores (great for gifts, souvenirs and alcohol), markets, shuttle buses etc. For a full grocery shop (if you're planning to cook your own meals in the room), catch the Pink Line Trolley to the Ala Moana shopping centre.
If you hire a car or scooter, make sure you have a GPS or a really good map. There are so many one way streets in the Waikiki area, one wrong turn can add 15 minutes to your trip. Best to walk or bus wherever you can.
Resort staff are friendly, but are not in a hurry to serve you at either the Reception desk, or the Guest Services desk. Housekeeping on the other hand are VERY responsive to every request.
Games rooms is great for kids, with Playstation, X-Box and Wii, and snooker and ping pong tables for the bigger kids.
The pool is a bit too deep even at the shallow end. Keep a close eye on your kids if they're in there without you.
Balconies are tiny, but if you're a non-smoker and can leave the door open, it's not a big deal.
The rooms themselves are large, clean and well maintained.
Dishwasher and air conditioning work just fine, but are both very noisy. The fold-out sofa in the lounge room is not recommended for light sleepers.
The pros far outweigh the cons, I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank IamStepMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aston Waikiki Sunset
#8 of 46 in Honolulu
1,432 reviews
Waikiki Shore
#7 of 46 in Honolulu
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham at Waikiki Beach Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham at Waikiki Beach Walk

Address: 227 Lewers St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1946 (Formerly Fairfield Hawai'i at Waikiki Beach Walk)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range: $228 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham at Waikiki Beach Walk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham at Waikiki Beach Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham At Waikiki Beach Walk Hotel Honolulu
Wyndham Honolulu
Honolulu Wyndham
Wyndham Waikiki Beach Walk
Wyndham At Waikiki Beach Walk Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing