We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hungry? Uncle Bo's will satisfy and keep you coming back!”

Uncle Bo's Pupu Bar & Grill
Ranked #8 of 2,368 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hungry? Uncle Bo's will satisfy and keep you coming back!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Uncle Bo's food is so amazing that it's hard to find the right words. You will get very generous portions at reasonable prices. My favorite is the Boca Rota which is a yummy, cheesy, garlic bread, with prime rib slices, sautéed mushrooms and mozzarella cheese. It melts in your mouth! The food at Uncle Bo's is quite unique and you will see the happiest people there (customers and staff). I haven't tried everything on the menu but I plan to. The location is excellent and you should have no trouble finding this awesome place. Locals love it as well as visitors. Happy eating!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    209
    58
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

After a couple of nights of tourist trap old on Waikiki beach, we got a cab to Uncle Bo's and it was absolutely worth it. A party of 7(booking like we did is recommended as there were some people waiting for tables) and everyone of us enjoyed every dish.
Service was friendly and efficient. No mistakes and nothing was too much trouble.

Definitely would go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It was ok.”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

As other reviewers mentioned, it is about a 15 minute walk from Waikiki, of course, depending on where you are staying. With no reservations and quite early in the evening, when we arrived, we were taken to our table right away. We were lead through the front of the house (bar) with some seating, and music playing in the background; big screen TVs adorning the walls. We were seated in the back room where a few people were already sitting. We started with a house salad which we shared so we could try other items. We decided on a couple of pupu and went with the Hamachi Sashimi with sliced jalapeño, rice & Korean nori umbrella; drizzled in a lime-ponzu sauce and spicy tuna wraps with Korean nori (4PC). As the night went on, the music got louder. We, my sister and I, seated at a very small table, 2x2, couldn't even have a conversation without leaning in towards each other to hear what the other was saying. Food-wise, it was interesting and okay in flavors. It wasn't bad but it wasn't out of this world. To me, it was just a fancy presentation. I wanted it to be more but am sorry to say, I was a bit disappointed. For us, we won't go back, again. Sorry, Uncle Bo! : (

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ItsHoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Dinner in Waikiki”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The Reception desk recommended Uncle Bo's. It's a local favorite. We had the Dynamite Shrimp and crab crusted Opah. Delicious!! A little off the beaten path, but only 15 minutes by foot from Waikiki Beach - definitely worth the walk. Great atmosphere, great prices, great food!

Helpful?
Thank bel674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super supper”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Went with friends (make sure you get a reservation,) and it was great. Seated right away. Prompt service. The dynamite shrimp and oyster shooters were terrific, but hands down favorite was "6 Little Piggies". Beautiful, melt-in-your-mouth bites of seared pork belly! Oh my. Got another order.
Incredible list of pupus.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoSkykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Bo's Pupu Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Bo's Pupu Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing