We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cuisine with an interesting mix of choices”

Uncle Bo's Pupu Bar & Grill
Ranked #7 of 2,391 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Rockville, MD
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good cuisine with an interesting mix of choices”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We all really enjoyed our dinners, and thought the selection offered a very wide selection of choices ranging from traditional Hawaiian foods to pasta to seafood. The restaurant itself is much bigger than it looks from the front with an oddly configured and kind of blah back room for spillover guests when it gets packed. On the one hand, this room was much quieter than the front room, on the other it made it easy for the wait staff to forget about you and was totally devoid of character. That being said, the service was pretty good, just felt lie we were missing the atmosphere.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SaraRWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    213
    59
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Mass
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Creative cuisine near Waikiki”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We are tourists visiting Oahu, and Uncle Bo's is a short 2-mile drive/taxi from Waikiki (near the zoo). We started with crab cakes pupu (almost all crab meat complemented with a mild sweet/sour sauce) as an appetizer. My husband had the garlic ribeye entree (very tender and flavorable, though his medium/rare was a bit undercooked). I had the crab and avocado chef's salad (generous scoop of sweet crab with a perfectly balanced, semi-sweet creamy dressing), sufficient to serve as a dinner entree. For dessert, we shared the huge, warm, moist, fudgy brownie (3"x3") topped with 2 scoops of vanilla ice cream. I would categorize Uncle Bo's as "new American/Hawaiian cuisine" and would certainly recommend Uncle Bo's. The food was delicious and creative (unexpected sauces that complemented the ingredients), and the prices were reasonable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoodValueTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Don't Let the Name Fool YOU, Way More than a Pupu Bar!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

A hidden gem in Honolulu!!! Friends were visiting, and I wanted them to have a tasty meal in Honolulu, but not at a hotel restaurant which is the case with most of Waikiki. I read about Uncle Bo's in my Frommer's guide for Hawaii, and I drive by it often when I am in Honolulu (it is close to Leonard's Bakery with their tasty and famous malasadas - so stop by the bakery for dessert after your meal at Uncle Bo's). We went for dinner at about 7pm on a Sunday, and we walked right in. However, if you are eating later, there was a line when we left around 8:30pm. Thus, I recommend reservations for 8pm and later and especially if you are going on the weekends. Inside is really pretty and a bit more upscale than you would imagine from the name and location. Don't get my wrong, you don't need to dress up, as it is still Hawaii where aloha shirts and flip flops are standard wear, but it is really nice inside. Our server was polite, professional, and prompt but not in your face and not too laid back to be lazy as can happen in Hawaii with the island lifestyle. The cocktails were tasty, and I really liked the lychee martini, and one of my friends had a delicious ginger cocktail. The menu is quite extensive with pupus, pizza, fish and seafood, steaks, chicken, and other meats. We decided to order a bunch of pupus and share everything. There were three of us, and we ordered six pupus thinking they would be small portions like most places with pupus or tapas, but they are HUGE portions! Honestly HUGE portions, and we could not finish all the food. The seafood dip is amazing with nice pieces of shrimp in it. It is also creamy and cheesy but not at all oily. The bowl is large and would easily serve a party of six. We also had the pork fried rice, steamed dumplings, a seafood soup. All were great tasting, but the seafood soup was bit hard to share pupu or tapas style because it was really just in a large soup bowl. The fish in it was cooked well along with shrimp, clams, squid, and some other things I am forgetting, but it was just not easy to share. I could have had it for my meal though. I have no idea what the food on the rest of the menu is like, but the pupus were amazing! Other friends are coming to visit in Feb., and I plan on going back. Whether you live on Oahu or are just vacationing, make Uncle Bo's a stop for an affordable, delicious meal in Honolulu! You wont be disappointed!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just OK”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

On the positive side - Uncle Bo's has a good vibe and lively atmosphere. On the negative side - the food and service are just average. The best dish I had was the ahi poke. Service was quite slow. Wine that was ordered had to be returned as it was rancid. Definitely not a great experience. I have had much better meals there in the past. It may have just been an off night.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SnowyAloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Definately a bar--the food? WOW.”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I heard about this place, and was amazed when we went last night. The food is unbelievable. There is a wide range of prices on the menu. I was looking for seafood and since I heard the place had great food, I figured I would be safe getting it there...even though it is more of a bar and does not have the ambiance "fine dinning" The place is rather noisy--definately a bar--the food? WOW.

When I spoke with our waitress she suggested the dynamite shrimp on the pupu list and said the portion was quite large. My first thought was "yea, right" as I had planned to order an entire meal for more like $20.00...but I went with her suggestion. It was amazing---amazing---let me say that again---amazing. There was enough shrimp to make an entire meal---for just $9.00. Everyone in our group said their food was absolutely amazing....from those who ordered a full dinner to others, like me, who ordered just a Pupu. Absolutely worth a try--but remember it is a bar--Busy, loud, festive--not a place for children, but great food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarieandStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Bo's Pupu Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Bo's Pupu Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing