We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Creative menu, great value”

Uncle Bo's Pupu Bar & Grill
Ranked #9 of 2,356 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Woodbine, Maryland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Creative menu, great value”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Thank you Trip Advisor contributors, we followed the reviews and were not disappointed! We ordered the shrimp and the clams both were amazing and the portions were huge. The broth that the clams were cooked in was amazing, I am still dreaming of the shrimp-they were that good. We ordered the dinner special and it was just okay, steak and fish combo, it was to rich. The cocktails were excellent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 44AML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    207
    58
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Balboa Island, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Local's hang out, great food, reasonable price”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

WOW. This 'local's secret' was recommended by a local, and it is great. Located away from the strip, it is easy to pass and I drove past it several times without knowing it was there. Inside, it is not elegant, but the food is TO KILL FOR! 2 adults, 2 pupus, 2 entrees, 2 glasses of wine and a dessert, which we could barely stuff into our full bellys, and the bill with tip was about $100. For Honolulu, this was very reasonable. The shrimp pupu was AWESOME! We each had fish and the dishes were great. We were able to just walk in, but it was later in the evening, and I would suggest reservations, if they take them. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeBeauxVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't let the outside fool you...”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Bypassed this restaurant several times, until I decided to give it a try. Read many reviews and have to concur that this is really a hidden gem. The Manilla clams were delicious....soooooo sweet!!! I was craving a steak , so went with the garlic topped sirloin and garlic mashed potatoes... no such thing as too much garlic....excellent!! My 23 yr old son wanted pizza ( of course), and it did not disappoint, had a meat lovers and loved it. The place was noisy, so not good if you want a quiet romantic dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mart00Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Recommended from by a local a little hard to find but worth it. We were a party of 10 and every one of our meals was outstanding. The fish dishes were fresh and delicious and all dinners came out at the same time.

Helpful?
Thank LasVegasGloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
155 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great food; recommended by locals.”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

After being recommended by a tour guide and the hotel concierge, we made reservations. The food is great. Huge portions too, especially on the pupus. Don't let the outside fool you, it's the food and ambiance that seals the deal. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BranNewareAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Bo's Pupu Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Bo's Pupu Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing