We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Historical Aviation Enthusiasts Destination”

Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Aviator's Tour
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Passport to Pearl Harbor
More Info
$201.66*
and up
Beyond Call to Duty Tour Pearl Harbor - All Inclusive
Ranked #24 of 324 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the principal Pearl Harbor Historic Sites, our unique interactive museum is located near the Battleship Missouri in the battlefield hangers of historic Ford Island which were attacked by the Imperial Japanese Navy on December 7, 1941, the beginning of WWII. Aircraft, such as a Japanese Zero and the Stearman in which former President George H.W. Bush soloed as the war's youngest aviator, illustrate how aviation helped stem the war. You'll view historic videos, including a movie of the beginning of the war. Enjoy the authentic gift shop, 1940s themed cafe Laniakea, and the combat flight simulators in which you can virtually fight the battle of Guadalcanal in either an American or Japanese plane.Pacific Aviation Museum's mission is to develop and maintain an internationally recognized aviation museum, which educates young and old alike, honors aviators and the support personnel who defended freedom in the Pacific Region, and is dedicated to preserving Pacific aviation history.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Historical Aviation Enthusiasts Destination”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This museum is located on historical Ford Island near Pearl Harbor, Hawaii. Vintage aircraft and hands-on exhibits make this museum educational for all ages. There is even an extensive gift shop.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    839
    427
    170
    46
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
203 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Loved this museum...its highly under rated!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Spent about an hour at the Aviation Museum, and was quite pleasantly surprised. Although the numbers of displays are limited, it is very professionally done; we really enjoyed ourselves. My 30 year old doughier accompanied my son-in-law and me on the trip. She isn’t an aviation fan, but remarked afterwards that she "really" enjoyed herself. What sets this place apart from other similar museums is the fact the vintage WWII planes have been restored to mint condition, and they are displayed in scenes depicting WWII complete with mannequins dressed in all types of Navy or military uniforms. They also had maps on the floors in front of each display that helped provide historical information, or where the planes were found. It was awesome! Next-door was another hangar that wasn’t air conditioned but contained numerous planes and aircraft of more recent vintage to include Vietnam, Desert Storm and recent Iraq and Afghanistan wars. It also contained planes that were undergoing renovation, so you could see a C-47 being refurbished that would later be put on display. We purchased tickets to the Aviation Museum as part of a package to the Arizona Memorial. We were quite happy we did, and recommend others do the same because you too will be pleasantly surprised.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BostonRedSoxFan2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pretty neat!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Pretty cool museum. When you first get there (by shuttle) you're "forced" to watch a mini doc on the attack on Pearl Harbor. After that you can freely check out the museum and the displays. But I think the real fun was at the hanger. To get to the hanger you walk outside 100 yds or so, once inside there are planes and choppers on display, a couple of the choppers you can go inside. If you look up at the hanger windows you can see bullet holes from when the Japanese attacked.

All in all it's a typical museum. I recommend doing the Missouri the Bowfish sub and the Arizona memorial before taking the shuttle out to the museum. We ran out of time and missed out on the Bowfish because of shuttle time travel and wait.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CoolCalmGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Always something new to look at”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Over the years, this museum has continued to grow and add to its collection. Even if you are not an aviation buff, the stories are worth the trip. This year I learned about Cornelia Ford, the first woman pilot killed on active duty during WWII. They have added planes from throughout the Pacific. Knowledgable docents will proudly answer questions and add tidbits of information.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pam52787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great if you're aviation fan; otherwise very good”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

My husband is a huge aviation fan, so he had a blast in the two hangars, looking at all the planes. I enjoyed the first hangar, since it was air conditioned, and had cool exhibits about Pearl Harbor. Did you know that it was predicted that Hawaii would be be hit by the Japanese back in the 30s? The gift shop was neat. It's a bit of a hike to the second hangar, so make sure you have a hat or umbrella for those hot days with no trade winds. Even though they say no bags of any kind on Ford Island/Pearl Harbor, I did see a few people with purses/bags. The shuttle to/from the museum as easy. Expect to spend a couple of hours here. We took advantage of buy-one-get-one-free deal on website ahead of time, so worth the discounted admission. Not sure I'd pay full price unless you're huge history/aviation buff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mizzougalfromtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor also viewed

 

Been to Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing