We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice collection!”

Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Aviator's Tour
Ranked #24 of 321 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the principal Pearl Harbor Historic Sites, our unique interactive museum is located near the Battleship Missouri in the battlefield hangers of historic Ford Island which were attacked by the Imperial Japanese Navy on December 7, 1941, the beginning of WWII. Aircraft, such as a Japanese Zero and the Stearman in which former President George H.W. Bush soloed as the war's youngest aviator, illustrate how aviation helped stem the war. You'll view historic videos, including a movie of the beginning of the war. Enjoy the authentic gift shop, 1940s themed cafe Laniakea, and the combat flight simulators in which you can virtually fight the battle of Guadalcanal in either an American or Japanese plane.Pacific Aviation Museum's mission is to develop and maintain an internationally recognized aviation museum, which educates young and old alike, honors aviators and the support personnel who defended freedom in the Pacific Region, and is dedicated to preserving Pacific aviation history.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Clinton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
183 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice collection!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We toured this along with the other Pearl Harbor attractions. They have a really nice assortment of planes and helicopters. It was $20/person. You can see the original bullet holes in the hanger windows from the Pearl Harbor attack. Hopefully they will add to the collection over time, they still have room.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank bph19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    757
    398
    158
    45
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you are interested in aviation and Pearl Harbor it's a must see :)!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Eddie Young was our docent. He was very knowledgable of the events leading up to and following the bombing of Pearl Harbor. If you can get him as a docent it would make this attraction well worth visiting!

Helpful?
Thank Cheyennigans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Information and Cool Looking Planes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

Enjoyed the tour of the museum and the film very much. My husband and I have been to quite a few museums around the country and this one was very informative about Pearl Harbor and WW II. We love history and this added to our knowledge about the Navy and the courage of our brave soldiers who proudly serve for our freedom.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank mermaidloverh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Haunting and memorable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2011

The museum is located across from the air control tower that survived the attack on Pearl Harbor. The tower is riddled with bullet holes and damage caused by shrapnel, and has begun to rust and decay. It is a sad, haunting reminder of what transpired on December 7, 1941.

The museum tour begins with an excellent film with interviews from survivors of the attack on Pearl Harbor and gives visitors insight into what really went on that day. There are many excellent model planes and there is a wealth of information regarding the Pearl Harbor attack and the preceeding events that spurred Japan to attack Hawai'i. If you are a WWII buff, this should not be missed! Perhaps a little heavy for young children (6 and under).

Visited July 2010
Helpful?
5 Thank AFWife_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
291 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Very Humbling Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

We went there last Sunday (1/23/11). Was NOT crowded at all! The shuttle bus was a quick and comfortable trip out onto the island.
When you get off the bus and look at the tall, orange and white control tower riddled with bullet strikes, it makes your hair stand on end. You are standing on hallowed ground!
The Docent guided tour was awesome. I thought I knew a lot about the attack! I was amazed at what I didn't know.
The dioramas and reconstructed aircraft were amazing. Even in the hanger, where the sets and exhibits are, the sun still shines through the pierced glass. Catch it at the right time and you can see rays of the sun coming through the holes, piercing the dust in the air!
A must do on any trip to Oahu Island.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank retdeltee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor also viewed

 

Been to Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing