We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mouthwatering”
Review of Gyu-Kaku Waikiki

Gyu-Kaku Waikiki
Reserve with OpenTable
Gyu-Kaku Waikiki is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #179 of 2,405 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Waikiki
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mouthwatering”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stumbled upon this place whilst walking around Waikiki and it quickly became our favourite restuarant. Amazing food, and the fact that you cooked it yourself paced us to eat slowly and enjoy the company.
Order 5/6 cuts of meats between 2 and start a-cookin'!
The 3 dips for the meats are simply brill - its such a shame that they don't sell these for takeaway.
Go in happy hour and the beer pitchers and food are slightly cheaper.
I would def recommend this place!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NAT_LEEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    115
    39
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fun night out.”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Went during the happy hour when most items were 1/2 price. The food was very good, the service exceptional and the prices reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyInHawaii08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Happy Hour? Yes Yes Yes”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This place was so deliciously amazing, my friend and I came here twice on a six day vacation. The cuts of meat are tender and delectable, they accomodate requests and the food always came out quickly.

Their chicken karaage is juicy and tender, the gyoza is crunchy, and they have some of the most amazing, delicately marinated ahi poke I have ever had in my life. A pitcher of Kirin is only $8.50 during happy hour, and really caps the meal into an outstanding Japanese grilling experience.

Whoever comes here complaining about having to grill your own food has missed the point entirely -- if you want to be waited on and have no control over your food, go elsewhere! Tailoring the grill to your individual tastes and desires was half of the reason we ate here more than once, and is a brilliant way to let your party set the pace of the meal you're eating together.

Definitely try the toro (fatty) beef, it's basically beef bacon. And the miso skirt steak! Hell, try a bit of everything, whatever you order is going to be tender and satisfying.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Omnipresence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A must try if you are in town”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Went here on a Saturday night and were accomodated by the manager on short notice without a reservation. You don't get service like that outside of big citys but as luck would have it this wonderful woman was from Chicago. The meal was great from start to finish and the fact that they have after dinner happy hour makes it even better. The food was all fresh and great and the staff was very attentive. All in all this was a wonderful dining experience and I would reccomend it to anyone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vacababy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

It was our 49th wedding anniversary and we wanted a nice restaurant to celebrate the occasion. Well, if you like lots of noise, high prices, over-crowded setting, discumbobulated and confusing service, where you have to try to barbeque your own overly salty food, then this is the Japanese restaurant for you, It was the most disappointing totally unromantic anniversary meal we have ever had, except for the one spent in Probate Court one year. Gyu-Kaku is certainly better than all day in Probate court. It turned out to be quite expensive for what we got and where we had to do all our own cooking. The restaurant had gotten such great reviews on Tripadvisor, so I convinced my husband that it was a great place. Well, I was wrong - it just wasn't the place for these two oldies.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zebra648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gyu-Kaku Waikiki also viewed

 

Been to Gyu-Kaku Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing