We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
23 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$365
View deal
Booking.com
$365
View deal
Trip.com
$334
View deal
Embassy Suites$365
Hotels.com$365
travelup.com$864
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,798)
Filter reviews
4,798 results
Traveler rating
3,069
1,309
276
89
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,069
1,309
276
89
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews evening reception hula tower managers reception free drinks and snacks order omelettes yard house omelette station bedroom suite complimentary breakfast across the street live entertainment waikiki beach every morning the breakfast area fresh fruit living area shops and restaurants
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3,912 - 3,917 of 4,798 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2007

Date of stay: May 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2007

We stayed at the "Embassy" for nine days and it was 10 times better than I ever imagined it would be. I had read every review prior to going and felt like I knew what to expect.

Arrival: We were greeted in the open air lobby by very friendly staff; thanks Jaymar. We didn't smell any fumes at any time that we were in the lobby area. We were given juice and champagne cocktails to enjoy while we checked in. Our room wasn't ready yet, so they gave us a "changing room" on the first floor. The room was beautiful but smaller than the one we resevered, as I found out later.

POOL: The pool was large in size and it was nice to have the wading pool attached. We didn't hear any noise from Trump even though construction was going on most days we were there.

ROOM: We were on the top floor with a corner suite and it was fantastic. We had the view between the two adjacent hotels but could see the beach and the ocaen. Every morning we got up and went out on the lanai and watched the surfers and just enjoyed the weather; BEAUTIFUL. We were also able to see the fireworks that occur every Friday night at the Hilton; what a treat for our family. The room was plenty big, the beds were very comfortable, and the bath big enough for two people to get ready at the same time. There is an inroom safe as well.

BREAKFAST: Every morning there is a buffet but you can't get soda out of the machine. There was always someone there playing some sort of Hawaiian music which created a really relaxing atmosphere. In additon to the usual breakfast foods at Embassy they also offered fresh fruit and rice and linguica. I had read that some people were wondering what the crowds would be like if the hotel was full; the hotel was at 95% and there was never a problem getting a seat at breakfast or in the evening.

EVENING RECEPTION: Every night from 5:30 to 7:30; the snacks could improve as they were always the same and after 8 days it got kind of boring. They were chips and salsa, goldfish, some sort of lemon pepper potato chips, and chex mix. The drinks are free but on some nights you could only get one at a time; so if you needed one for your significant other you had to wait in line again. There was always music and a hula dancer except for the night they had a local duet that was having a CD release party which was quite fun for our children.

ACTIVITIES: Of note, the two activities desks located within the hotel, one is where you would expect the concierge to be, is a commissioned sales desk. They are trying to sell you any package they can; buyer beware. They sold us a luau at Paradise Cove which was terrrible and I will review under that heading.

We did try and make reservations for next year during our stay but were told we had to wait until at least July; not sure why and no one could explain why we had to wait.

The Beachwalk area is beautiful and very impressive at night with the torches at street level lit and all aglow. If you want to eat at the Yardhouse get there early or plan to wait a while; it is very busy.

SHOPPING: We walked all around inlcuding going to the International Maket Place, Hilo Hattties, and the Ala Moana mall. There is also a street maket every Thursday night (maybe Friday)iwithin walking distance which was fun.

The International Market Place is like going to another country. I found it to an experience I don't need to do again. It was quite overwhelming for our children, as well as, if you didn't want to buy what they had for sale they took exception to it. It was a feeling of, if you don't buy it, don't touch it. I did find that most souveniers you could get at the International Market Place, you could get right across the street from Embassy at the ABC store.

The Ala Moana mall was quite impressive with all the high end stores you would want. At the mall they have some really good chain restaurants to eat at that weren't any more expensive than they are on the mainland.

We took the "free" shuttle to Hilo Hatties as most of the magazines with discount coupons in them have a three and four page color ad for this place listing it as the place to shop. If your kids would enoy the Trolley ride then go; if not then don't bother, it was a huge waste of time. They tell you that if you get off at the mall to go shopping that they will take you back into Waikiki; don't believe them. We stood there for 20 mintues waiting for the Trolley only to have it go zipping by us at 40 mph and not even slow down. We wound up paying to take the city bus back.

Enjoy!!!!!

Date of stay: June 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Miller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2007

Just got back from a week in Hawaii. Spent 5 nights at the Embassy Suites. Check in was a breeze. We had 2 rooms, there were 6 of us. Check in took maybe 5 minutes, they were wonderful, very friendly, really seemed to care about you. We had a 2 bedroom suite and a 1 bedroom suite. The rooms were beautiful, clean and had a great view of the pool area and the ocean. Had no issues with the Trump construction. They helped us with directions and tips for everywhere we wanted to go. The nightly reception is "OK". Drinks were great, appetizers have a lot to improve upon. Entertainment was great during the reception as well as the nightly music at the Pakino Bar. Breakfast was fantastic. Anything you want you will be satisfied. The location can't be beat. You have the entire beachwalk at your fingertips. Plenty of shops, restaurants, everything is right there. I have read complaints about the beach being far away. It is a block away. You can ither take the paved walk between the Outrigger and the Halekulani, or you can walk right through the Outrigger and walk straight onto the beach. The Army museum is a block away. We had a great time and would definetly stay there again.

Date of stay: June 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ArmyMom4149
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

Date of stay: June 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2007

Date of stay: May 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews