We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff makes above-average hotel stand out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2010

I've actually stayed at this hotel twice (Aug 2009 and Apr 2010) for business, but just joined up and am getting around to writing the review. I will likely be traveling to Hawaii semi-regularly for work, and see no reason to switch hotels any time soon.

Positives:
- Very new and clean hotel. Spacious rooms and accommodations.
- Fantastic staff. Friendly staff from the front desk clerks, to the valets, to the housekeepers, to the breakfast cooks, servers, and bartenders and they all at seem very good at their jobs as well.
- Spacious rooms and bathrooms. Basic suite has sleeper sofa and "work desk" in addition to sink/mini-fridge/counter.
- Great Embassy Suites breakfast and reception. Breakfast is very good with lots of fresh fruit, variety, and Hawaiian/Asian touches as well. Drinks are reception are VERY strong...watch out, kiddies.
- Located on Beach Walk, near numerous restaurants, bars, and upscale shops.

Negatives:
- Only outdoor (covered) seating for breakfast, although you can take it to your room (trays offered). Staff has to fight off birds for you to eat in peace.
- Parking is expensive, although not at all out of line for the area - no self-park option, that I'm aware of.
- Beds are not overly comfortable and rooms do not have a built-in closet, so space can be a bit limited in the various furniture.
- Potential for less than exciting views of other hotels.
- Hotel is not right on the beach (access is a short walk through Outrigger - equivalent of maybe two or three blocks).

Since I have a lot of negatives, you may be wondering why this is a five-star hotel. Because they're all nitpicks (but I wanted to be complete). I've never been to a hotel where I was more pleased with the overall experience - everyone smiles at you and learns your name, and it means a lot. I was there for eight days in August and had various people welcoming me back months later.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JF1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,614 - 2,620 of 3,609 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2010

If you're going to Hawaii, and want to be on the beach, most of Waikiki is not the place to be! This is only a block from the ocean, but it's more like being in the middle of a big city (which it is) than a beach location.

This is a new Embassy Suites, but not a new hotel ... evidently, it's run by the Outrigger company (a Hawaii based hotel operator), and they took two of their older (adjacent) Outrigger hotel buildings and combined them into one Embassy Suites property (they gutted the buildings and combined 2 of the old small hotel rooms into 1 larger suite ... still a bit small for an Embassy Suites hotel, but reasonably sized for Waikiki.

Our room was behind the elevators (even though my HHonors profile specifies otherwise) but it was 4th of July weekend and very crowded ... unless you like big crowds, stay away from Waikiki on the 4th of July. Our room did have a view (over the pool, across a couple of streets, past the Trump hotel, but a nice view of the ocean ... ask for a high-floor room, in the front building, facing west).

The parking is valet only, but on property, and the valet service is great (we didn't have to wait more than a couple of minutes for our car).

As with every Embassy hotel, a full breakfast buffet is included (outdoors, next to the pool on the 4th floor), but it's fairly crowded (many families) and not the most relaxing experiance ... the numerous birds don't help either (although the buss-staff continuously cleans off the tables after people leave the eating area, they can't get to everything as quickly as the birds!).

One of the great features of the hotel is the Roy's restaurant on the ground floor ... don't miss it!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MassCouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

This was a stop-over to see Pearl Harbor and Waikiki. The hotel is very nice and the service (especially the valet and bell service) was great. The pool area was not huge but it was nice and high and overlooked the ocean. The manager's reception was nice but the lines were long for drinks so stock up and get in line early. The breakfast was fabulous and the omelette station was super. A great location to get to the beach and nice shopping. Roy's is right around the corner.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Always4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Being a frequent traveler to Hawaii, I would stay somewhere else next time for sure. Not that it's not good but there are so many other better choices in this price range. Air conditioner was really loud, we were by the stairwell and there was a lot of noise, not people but more mechanical noises coming from it. Rooms seemed cramped for an Embassy Suites. Breakfast was good especially the fruit, really fresh. Check in took forever, not because of people but because of the incompetent lady who checked us in. It was okay but not for me.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank califorvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

I can only say one bad thing about the Embassy Suites Waikiki and that was the bed wasn't the most comfortable. Other than that, everything was excellent. You couldn't ask for a more friendlier staff all the way around, from the front desk, to the maids to the cooks and helpers at breakfast. We arrived on 3 July late in the evening, it was a very busy weekend and received a low level street view room. I went to the front desk the next day to see if we could possibly be moved to a higher floor. Since it was 4th of July weekend they were completely booked but were able to move us on the 5th for the rest of our trip. They moved us to the 20th floor in the front tower with a corner room, it couldn't have been better! Thank you Victor for taking care of us! We didn't need a car as everything you need is within walking distance. The breakfast is by far the best I've ever had at any hotel. We were excited every day to get down to breakfast. The made to order omlette's were delish! If we are back in Waikiki again we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VLHessel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

After a couple quite long flights to Hawaii, we made our way to this hotel, hoping our room would be ready as we arrived. I traveled with my parents and my teen brother, so we decided to take a cab from the airport and it was around 50 dollars. We stayed there for a little more than a week.
Upon our arrival, we were received by a really helpful bellboy who took our bags directly to our room (two towers make up the hotel), and also explained us most of the amenities that the hotel has (from the pool, the complimentary breakfast, the manager's reception and drinks policy, the fitness and business center locations) as well as the nearby interesting things that we could find.
On the other hand, the person who checked us in wasn't as nice as the bellboy, since it took him some time (about 15-30 minutes) to find our reservation, but during our wait we were offered some pineapple drinks.

The room was completely decorated in a Hawaiian style, and I loved it! The couch, the lamps, the mirrors and even the carpet had Hawaiian motifs like pineapples, waves and palm trees! It was roomy, enough for 4 people, beds were comfy and so were the pillows. Our room had two 'lanai' where we had a nice view to other hotels and to the adjacent shopping mall. The bathroom was extremely clean and we were glad to be provided with beach towels. However, we usually had to ask for an extra towel since the cleaning lady would always leave only 3.

About the location, it’s in a great place since you only have to walk for about a block to get to the beach, and also a block to get to Kalakaua Avenue where all the fashion stores are located, as well as the Waikkiki Shopping Plaza and the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center. However, if you feel like going elsewhere to shop, the bus stop was also near. For example, we had to walk about 2 blocks to grab a bus to the Ala Moana Center or you could just go to the back of the hotel, in order to face Lewers St. to catch the trolley that would take you directly there.

This hotel has other nice features, like the Manager's reception where you can have some drinks (juices, margaritas, blue Hawaii, etc), snacks (chips, cookies) and there were also musical shows. The one I loved the most was on Saturday evening: it was a dancing show with hula and other Polynesian styles.
Something worth noting is the fact that there were also other free entertainment shows going on at the adjacent malls, from live music to lei making classes.
Other feature is the complimentary breakfast, nothing really special about it, other than the fact that you should not leave for food unattended while getting something else because the eating area is "guarded" by little hungry birds that are waiting to steal your meals.
The business center was a little small, with a couple computers but still quite prepared with printers, fax, etc. However, there was free (wired) complimentary internet is the room. Also, the pool needs a little improvement, it was kind of small for such a big hotel, and it had really high amounts of chlorine.
On the other hand, the fitness center was, in my opinion, great. It had the right amount of training equipment and it was always clean. Also, the laundry center, there were lots of washing and drying stations, as well as a soap vending machine and a coin dispenser.

In a few words...
I recommend this hotel mainly because it was nicely located, nearby lots of stores, there was free entertainment, the rooms and installations were clean, and the staff was friendly.
The only things I disliked, the fact that in order to use the elevator, you always had to have your room key, otherwise, it just wouldn't work. Also, the 4th floor, where the breakfast and pool areas are located, well, basically anyone could have access to them since they were connected to the adjacent mall.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cristy_Mtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

We were going to split our time between the ES and the Hilton Hawaiian Village, but we liked the ES so much we decided to spend entire vacation there. The staff was great. Always helpful from the front desk to the breakfast stewards. The only issue I had was the valet parking. They were nice enough, but it is probably a tough job impressing the customer when the customer is paying an additional $25 per day (plus tip).
Anyway, the room was very nice. Very clean and the bed very comfortable. We didn't have any problems with city noise. There was a baby next door, but he or she was asleep when we were ready to go to bed. The breakfast was great (as usual for ES). The business center had issues with the printers and one of the computers, but the help phone was right there and Emily came up and fixed the problem within 5 minutes.
It was a very convenient location for shopping. We took the Navatek cruise and had to walk to the Sheraton for the shuttle bus. It was a quick 5 minute walk thanks to the directions from the front desk.
The bellmen (baggage service) were very effecient. Housekeeping was usually good. They never banged on the door at 8, but on the Sunday we were there they didn't come until 3:30. Maybe they have a different schedule on the weekends. But really no complaints with housekeeping. All in all it was a very enjoyable stay. Next time we want to try Maui, but if we ever get back to Waikiki we will definitely check out the Embassy Suites again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hooray-vacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
419 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk

Address: 201 Beachwalk St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $275 - $625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk is an all-suite hotel featuring 1 and 2-bedroom suites with private bedroom(s), separate living room, and kitchenette. All of our guests enjoy complimentary full Made-to-Oder Breakfast daily, nightly Evening Poolside Reception, Wi-Fi, and more, and No Resort Fees. The hotel is located steps to Waikiki Beach and in the heart of Waikiki Beach Walk, Waikiki's newest shopping, dining, and entertainment district. In addition to the extra space, added value, and great location that makes our hotel so unique, it is the genuine Hawaiian hospitality of our staff that we are most proud of. Come experience the Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk Hotel Honolulu
Embassy Suites Honolulu
Honolulu Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Oahu
Embassy Suites By Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing