We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect family friendly hotel in Waikiki” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect family friendly hotel in Waikiki”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

My family stayed at the Embassy Suites in Waikiki for 4 nights in June of 2014 and could not have found a place that better fit our needs.

My husband and I have traveled to Waikiki at least once a year for the past 15 years, he used to live there and we met and were married in town. We know the area very well and have always stayed at either the Outrigger Reef on the Beach or Outrigger Waikiki. We love both of those hotels (I have reviewed them in the past) but since this was the first time we were bringing our children (ages 11 and 13), we wanted a little more space while staying in the same location and very close to the beach. Embassy Suites definitely fit the bill. For the same price as a room at the Reef, we got a suite at Embassy Suites, plus the hot breakfast every morning and the manager's reception in the evening, which was one of my favorite parts of the day.

We arrived at 8:30 pm, hungry and tired and were greeted by the friendliest staff. We were offered an icy cold tropical fruit juice cocktail (my kids begged me to ask if we could bring a bottle home) and a fast and easy check in process. The bellman brought up our bags very quickly and gave us a tour of the room, letting us know that if we needed anything to please let him know.

The rooms are a good size. It is a remodeled hotel, I believe it was originally an Outrigger, so the "suites" are more like two hotel rooms, with a connecting door. One room has the bathroom, a kitchenette (microwave, mini-fridge, coffee maker), a pull out sofa bed, television and table with chairs that could also be a desk. Both rooms have lanais, and I would suggest that if you are bothered by city noise to request a room on a higher floor. We were on the 6th floor and the noise doesn't bother me at all, but it isn't quiet as our room faced Lewers Street and Beach Walk. The bedroom had two very comfortable beds, an armoire, television, etc... Plenty of room and storage space for the four of us. We did call housekeeping for extra blankets and towels and they were delivered almost immediately and with a smile. In fact, every time we ran into housekeeping we were always greeted with a smile and an aloha, the women were all very sweet.

The pool is on the 4th floor on a large deck that has beautiful views. Our first morning was spent eating breakfast there with a view of palm trees and a rainbow. We spent a lot of time on that deck, swimming and sunning. The pool was crowded in the mornings and later in the afternoons, but never so crowded that we had trouble finding a seat or feeling like there was too much going on in the pool. I did like that there were loads of kids, my son met a group of kids he played with in the pool everyday we were there which was great.

The daily breakfast was perfect for us and after a few days you realize there isn't much variety day to day, but there is plenty to eat and something for everyone. It never felt crowded and we met many nice families while we were sitting out enjoying our food.

We did order food from the pool bar for lunch one day, and while the coconut shrimp were delicious, they took forever to arrive. I'd like to chalk it up to being on island time, but it really did seem to take forever. It seemed that there was only one server working with the bartender, so maybe that had something to do with it. The service at the pool might be the only thing that wasn't great about this hotel. There is a pool bar with a television (which was great because the NHL playoffs were in full swing), and the bartender was a nice guy who made a mean lava flow. He was also the bartender at the manager's reception, so all of these guys are working hard!

My husband and I loved the manager's reception every night, two hours of drinks included in your room rate! We sat on the deck and listened to live entertainment while the kids swam in the pool. Just a tip, the soda fountains that are open during breakfast are also open during this time as well, so you can send the kids over to get their own drink (or you can get one too!). I would say to PLEASE remember to tip those bartenders, especially since you aren't paying for your drinks. They served many a cocktail the nights we were there, and I was surprised at the number of people who weren't taking care of their bartender. There were also light snacks (chips, salsa, crudite, etc...) It was a great way to start our nights.

The beach is a very short walk away, not even a block. It's not the best beach on Waikiki but if you can get past the rocks, the water is beautiful. Kayak and surfboard rentals are easy to find and it's a gorgeous walk in either direction once you're at the beach. You have beach (or pool) towels in your room to take, but remember to bring them back or you will be charged.

The location of this hotel is perfect, great dining options close by, shopping, etc... I'm really glad that we chose it for our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rokkahulababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Aloha Rokkahhulababy,

Thank you for your comments, regarding our hotel. it sounds like you enjoyed our price valued proposition, free cocktails free breakfast and a suite.

We look forward to your return,

Mahalo,
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,948
    937
    191
    64
    31
See reviews for
1,861
709
63
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilson, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

This hotel is a great place for family on vacation. You are right in the middle of the action and almost on the beach. Staff is great. There is a family friendly atmosphere. Make sure you go and get breakfast it is good and free.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Bradley G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Aloha Bradly,

Thank you for your comments regarding our staff and location. You are correct we are great for families. I hope that you are able to enjoy our free cocktails in the evening. We look forward to your return.

Mahalo,

Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

If you want good value and a really handy location I can recommend Embassy suites. We returned to find the Wi Fi better, the breakfast and evening drinks just as good! Sometimes the pool is overcrowded, but hey, I am here for the beach and shopping!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Aloha Alexander M,

Thank you for your comments from down under, you are spot on regarding our great value and handy location.

We look forward to your return,

Mahalo,
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waialua, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Free open bar in the evening and free complimentary breakfast the next morning. This makes for a great value if you just want to spend a few nights in the Waikiki area. Very convenient to have all these complimentary amenities as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Aloha BrianS,

Glad you were able to do a staycation here on our beautiful island. Waikiki can be a blast with all its shopping restaurants and bars.

We look forward to your return.

Mahalo,
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

One block off of Waikiki Beach, you could hardly ask for a more convenient location to explore the area. We spent a great deal of our time wandering up & down the famous stretch of sand, stopping in to the various hotels & restaurants to see what each had to offer.
Upon check-in, we were placed in a room that had an unbearable aroma (details of which I will not go in to right now - let's just say that no one would want to remain in that room for any length). The individual at the front desk told us (in a rather unpleasant tone) that this was the only room available that would match our needs. We immediately returned to the front desk to inform them that this room was unacceptable. Another member of their staff was able to correct the situation (surprisingly, another room became available). This seemed to be the mantra for our stay - basics would require correction which some members of the staff were able to address after the fact.
Our experience left us with the overall sense that perhaps the management of the property is in transition. You can see/feel the influence of strong leadership in the service industry. Likewise you can also note when it is lacking, and this is what we encountered on our stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MarleyMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Aloha Marlymate,

Thank you for your recent review. I apologize for any displeasure you experienced while here at the hotel. I ask that you consider returning so that we can demonstrate to you and your family what our hotel is capable of.

We look forward to your return.

Mahalo,
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stay at the hotel was good. Staff was very helpfull and efficient. Hotel was located near shops and restaurants. Suites offered additional space to be in. Only problem was difficulty in getting an elevator due to volume of people coming and going.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Aloha Robert S,

Thank you for your five star rating. Yes our suites offer additional space, we are a busy hotel and some times there is a small wait for elevators during rush hour.

Mahalo,
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waipio, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Embassy Suites Waikiki is an excellent place to stay in Hawaii; especially for military families being stationed at Fort Shafter. Great breakfast & managers special. Centrally located in Waikiki and close to FT Shafter.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Collis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Aloha Collis M,

Thank you for your five star rating. I am glad your were able to enjoy our free breakfast and free cocktails. Stay safe and return soon.

Mahalo,
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk
Address: 201 Beachwalk St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk is an all-suite hotel featuring 1 and 2-bedroom suites with private bedroom(s), separate living room, and kitchenette. All of our guests enjoy complimentary full Made-to-Oder Breakfast daily, nightly Evening Poolside Reception, Wi-Fi, and more, and No Resort Fees. The hotel is located steps to Waikiki Beach and in the heart of Waikiki Beach Walk, Waikiki's newest shopping, dining, and entertainment district. In addition to the extra space, added value, and great location that makes our hotel so unique, it is the genuine Hawaiian hospitality of our staff that we are most proud of. Come experience the Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk Hotel Honolulu
Embassy Suites Honolulu
Honolulu Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Oahu
Embassy Suites By Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing