We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Had an ocean view suite. Great place! Our family had spent the bulk of our vacation at outlying resorts on Oahu, but we wanted to experience Waikiki, so we scheduled a short stay here before our departure. Very close to the beach. Surfing lessons on Waikiki and Friday night fireworks were highlights of our trip. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,628 - 1,634 of 3,570 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

This hotel is great!! We stayed for 4 nights with our baby and were quietly surprised with what we received...free daily hot breakfast with omelettes cooked to order, fast wifi, a CD of Hawaiian music, little notes each day explaining a Hawaiian custom...all lovely touches which we didn't expect. The room is very dated but I'd prefer to call it 'vintage' - but it is meticulously maintained, comfortable and clean. The location is brilliant as well - close to shops and within walking distance to Ala Moana so you can avoid shuttles if you wish. After being away from home for over a week, we particularly appreciated the coin laundry and gym.

If you don't plan on spending lots of time in your hotel room (and who wants to do this, in Waikik?!) then this hotel is worthy of your consideration!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoosieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear PoosieMelbourne,
Thank you for comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am glad we went above and beyond your expectations. You are absolutely right that our rooms are meant to have a vintage Hawaiian touch, rather than a modern look. Afterall, our guests come to Hawai'i to enjoy the "Aloha"! I am glad you took advantage of all our complimentary amenities from the daily, breakfast, drinks, to our 24-hour gym. We look forward to your returned visit.
Mahalo,
Bob Y

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This hotel is such a bargain for the price and location! Nice large suites, partial ocean views, and nice shops and restaurants close by! It is right across the street from Waikiki beach with very easy beach access, umbrellas, etc. The free hot breakfast is wonderful with so many choices! The managers reception is also very nice with great variety of cocktail choices and live music on Mondays, Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturdays. A couple of blocks up the street is a public bus stop which takes you directly to the convention center for $2.50 each way. You can also buy a bus pass at the ABC store behind the hotel. When you arrive, you are greeted with a nice glass of chilled guava juice which is so refreshing after long flights! Everyone is so nice! Carlton greets you with such Aloha! I arrived before my friend and he told me he would be on the lookout for her! He brought her directly to our room when she arrived! We were given a nice upgrade in the Hula tower which was very nice. The hotel was quiet except for our last night where a party was held next door to us. We called downstairs and they took care of it immediately. I have stayed at many high end hotels on Waikiki and I have to say I prefer the quiet atmosphere and Hawaiian feel of this property to the larger resorts packed with people everywhere. It is also close enough to walk to the convention center. Don't miss the Friday night fireworks show on the beach located not far from this hotel! We had a wonderful stay at this hotel and will definitely be returning! My only suggestion is that the Hawaiian singers need to play some Hawaiian songs at the manager's reception! This Embassy Suites is a secret gem but probably won't be for long! Hands down, best hotel bargain you will find in Honolulu.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
5  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Nannykaren1,
Thank you for the thorough review regarding your experience at our hotel. Just as you mentioned, our location is prime; surrounded by fabulous shops and restaurants, and just steps away from the sandy beach of Waikiki. I am glad you were able to enjoy the fireworks on Friday evening. It is nice to wind down with a free mai tai at our evening reception, then head down to the beach for a free fireworks show. We look forward to hosting you again.
Thank you,
Bob Y

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Everything here was great--they even greet you at check in with a glass of refreshing juice!

You can't beat the location with the beach right up the street, and all of the shops you can imagine within walking distance! Happy hour on the roof was a blast, too--they even had a live band playing.

Highly recommend going to Roy's as well (attached to the hotel)--I dream about their sushi now! Will be reviewing them next...

The only negative was that the toilet would make an annoying sound for a few seconds after flushing, but other than that--it was great!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rsierra101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Rsierra101,
Thank you for the short yet SUITE review regarding our hotel. Our band that performs four times a week during our daily evening reception is the best! Our convenient location offers our guests' fabulous choices for shopping and dining right at our doorstep. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the toilet noise. I hope you will still consider staying with us again in the near future.
Mahalo,
Bob Y

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is a perfectly nice hotel with some real strengths and weaknesses.

Strengths:
- Nice location very close to Waikiki Beach and tons of great shopping
- The free breakfasts are decent and the manager's reception is fun
- The suites are spacious and not unpleasant

Some issues:
- Noise: There are a lot of young people and parents who interpret the concept of discipline loosely, and the walls and floors are paper thin and the sound of closing doors reverberates throughout the rooms at all hours
- Views: Marginal
- Service: Avoid the "hilton vacations" kiosk in the lobby at all costs - they will try to sell you on completely horrendous packages that you would be better off booking yourself or avoiding entirely. Overpriced and awful.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view and preferably away from elevators to minimize noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alphabetsoup2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear alphabetsoup2010,
Thank you for the precise review of your experience at our hotel. I am glad to hear you took advantage of our convenient location and complimentary amenities. Our unique band that performs four times a week during the evening reception definitely adds excitement to the already nice bonus of free drinks. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Although we have limited views of the ocean as we are not a beach front property, we are mere steps away from the beach but also surrounded by fabulous shops and restaurants. I hope you will consider staying with us again.
Sincerely,
Bob Y

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This hotel is very kid-friendly. I had to travel for work and brought my husband and toddler. The hotel provided a crib and bedding, no problem. The pool had a toddler-friendly shallow end. The free breakfast and evening drinks helped our daily budget. It also provided a variety of different foods and snacks for a picky eater. The kitchenette and mini fridge helped keep juice and milk and sippy cups clean.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Laura H,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding our hotel. I am glad you were able to bring your family along for your business trip. You definitely chose the right place, as we comfortably accommodate both family and business travelers. Our pool is probably our number one favored attraction for the children, as it is shallow throughout all ends. I hope we have more chances to host you and your family; hopefully next time when you are on vacation.
Mahalo,
Bob Y

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

After such a great stay last Spring Break, we came back again! You can't beat this Waikiki location for proximity to everything and what you get for the price beats any hotel we've stayed at in Hawaii. Last year we stayed in a room ending in #31 in the Hula Tower. If you want a 2Q room, that is the room you want, and above the 15th floor as the sunset view is spectacular. If you want more space and more balconies, then a room ending in #29 (2Q corner unit). We liked the unit but on the 11th floor, the view isn't great, so we requested a room change and went to the 21st floor (top floor) to a King corner unit. The view is spectacular but the rooms ending in #30 are quite a bit smaller because of the stairwell. If we come again, I'd request a #31 room for the view and space.
Service everywhere is great! Friendly staff at the complimentary breakfast (Aldrin), housekeeping, poolside food service, bartenders at manager's reception (Keola), bellmen, valet (Maria) . . .
You can't go wrong booking here!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SimplySusan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear SimplySusan62,
Thank you for your returned visit to our hotel, and for an awesome rating and review. Our spacious suites are definitely accommodating and comfortable. However, just as you mentioned, the staff make a greater impact on our guests' experiences. Thank you for acknowledging each member, and for your recommendation. We look forward to your next Spring Break visit!
Thank you,
Bob Y

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
342 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk

Address: 201 Beachwalk St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $266 - $683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk is an all-suite hotel featuring 1 and 2-bedroom suites with private bedroom(s), separate living room, and kitchenette. All of our guests enjoy complimentary full Made-to-Oder Breakfast daily, nightly Evening Poolside Reception, Wi-Fi, and more, and No Resort Fees. The hotel is located steps to Waikiki Beach and in the heart of Waikiki Beach Walk, Waikiki's newest shopping, dining, and entertainment district. In addition to the extra space, added value, and great location that makes our hotel so unique, it is the genuine Hawaiian hospitality of our staff that we are most proud of. Come experience the Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk Hotel Honolulu
Embassy Suites Honolulu
Honolulu Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Oahu
Embassy Suites By Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing