We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Renew is certainly the place for you!”
Review of Hotel Renew

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Renew
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hotel Renew is certainly the place for you!”
Reviewed November 5, 2010

After months of thoroughly researching different hotels in Waikiki Beach, my fiancé and I decided to stay at Hotel Renew based on its location, price, and the positive comments about the staff remained consistent. I can truly say that we were beyond satisfied with our experience at the hotel. When reserving our room we made sure to mention that the purpose of our trip was to celebrate our recent engagement. Although requests are not guaranteed, Hotel Renew gave us the BEST room in the hotel; in fact, it was said that this was the same room that the owner stays in during his visits. So you can imagine its beauty. Ocean view King with a balcony, just one block away from the beach. Simply gorgeous!
The only thing that surpassed the beauty and modernistic style of Hotel Renew was the friendly and attentive service that we received from the entire staff. From the front desk all the way down to housekeeping, everyone was pleasant and exudes an attitude that they enjoy their job. By the end of our 7 day stay, we practically knew everyone by first name. And Jackie, wow! She was nothing short of amazing! She gave us suggestions for dinner, called to make us reservations at Roy's, and even mentioned to them that we were celebrating our engagement. The food was delicious and the waitress surprised us with a complimentary dessert at the end of our meal congratulating us. If that wasn't enough, Jackie even told my fiancé where to take me to see the most beautiful Hawaiian sunrise. Talk about romantic!
If comfort, affordability, and good customer service are important to you, whether for business or pleasure, Hotel Renew is certainly the place for you!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lkthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,338
    700
    152
    49
    27
See reviews for
284
1,335
147
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Even before our (first) stay, the Hotel Renew staff made a personal commitment to making our vacation a happy experience. Ocean-view rooms had been sold out, but a week before our arrival, Jackie and Daniel alerted me that one had just become available. So we had beautiful Hawaiian sunsets every night. The front desk staff was always friendly and accomodating. Even the housekeepers seemed happy to see us. There are only ~75 rooms, so there was never a wait for an elevator, and no loud, party atmosphere. Breakfast in the lobby was always fresh, with delicious 100% Kona coffee. It's held in the lobby, so seating is tight, but who cares? After our stay, we received a Thank You email from Pearl, the Hotel manager. What more can you ask for? Mitch Berger, Miami Beach Florida

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiamiMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

This is the cheap, IKEA-version of boutique hotels.

My two sisters and I stayed here for 5 nights. Immediately upon check-in, we were told by Grace that because there were 3 of us instead of 2 staying in the room (even though 2 of us would be sharing a bed), there would be an extra $50/night surcharge. That started the trip off on a sour note and Grace was unhelpful and unapologetic about the bountiful charges which included $22/day for valet parking (you have no other option but that's the case in most of Waikiki). So much for the aloha spirit...

The rooms are tiny and cramped and we all bumped our knees multiple times on the shaved-off corners of the beds. The mattresses are cheap and flimsy and we found stains on our sheets several nights even after requesting fresh linens.

The free Wi-Fi internet is SO SLOW. It literally took 15 freaking minutes to load gmail and we gave up trying to research places to eat on yelp online due to the terrible, weak, slow connection.

The hotel location is convenient, at the far end of Waikiki, and it's a block away from the beach. Plastic beach mats and towels are available to be checked out and a complimentary continental breakfast is prepared every morning - it consists of fresh fruit (pineapple, cantaloupe, honeydew, oranges), cereal (granola and flakes), yogurt, pineapple juice, and assorted pastries and muffins.

Most of the staff was very warm, welcoming and friendly (Jonah was awesome and so were several of the other guys). 4.5/5 stars for the staff, 2/5 stars for the actual accommodations, 0/5 stars for the stained sheets and uncomfortable bedding and hidden fees.

We'll stay elsewhere the next time we're in Waikiki.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spaghettibug80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plouie, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this review, November 3, 2010
Dear Spaghettibug80,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Hotel Renew. Feedback such as this is invaluable, as we are constantly seeking out new ways to improve upon the experience we offer. It's a pleasure to hear that you were able to enjoy our friendly and helpful staff. They truly are the bread and butter of Renew, and we pride ourselves on providing our guests with industry leading service.

I am glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast each morning, along with our prime Waikiki location. In addressing your concerns, it is industry standard that hotel accommodations are based on double occupancy. Additional guests will result in an extra nightly charge due to a variety of factors; higher utility consumption, towels, toiletries, just to name a few. It is unfortunate that you didn't find our rooms suitable for your needs. Because our rooms are intended for double occupancy, it may be slightly cramped with an additional person. As for the bedding, most of our guest reviews mention this as one of the best features of the hotel. In fact, our General Manager lives on property in a standard guest room, furnished with the exact same bed. Comfort is a staple here at Renew. Had we been notified of your discomfort or Wi-Fi issues, rest assured we would have taken serious measures to accommodate your party.

Furthermore, we provide valet parking as a courtesy to our guests, as parking in such a popular location as Waikiki is nearly impossible. Our rate of $22/night is one of the lowest in the area, as some adjacent properties charge as much as $33/night + tax. Of course this is also noted in clear view on our website.

Again, I offer my thanks for you taking the time to review our property, and I invite you to contact me if you have any other concerns or suggestions.

Warmest Aloha,
K. White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2010

My wife & I (first time in Hawaii) could not have expected more from the friendly & helpful staff nor the, room attendant. Our room was very comfortable & clean.

Next time (and there will be) when we travel to Hawaii we will definitely be staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henry_alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Renew for our honeymoon (10 days) based on the reviews we found on Trip Advisor. We could not have been happier with our stay. When we arrived, I was surprised by just how close we were to the beach, the hotel is at an excellent location, just steps from the beach front. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and we were greeted with fresh drinks when we arrived. Our room was clean, beautiful and modern. We loved the fact that this was a small hotel and definitely noticed the attention to detail. We would highly recommend Hotel Renew, for the location, the staff, the rooms, the value, everything!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leaf101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Believe the hype - this hotel is exceptional. We stayed here for 2 weeks and I could not fault anything about the hotel. The staff were friendly, proffessional and provided an excellent personalised service - special mention to jackie at the bar - killer cocktails!!! On one evening air con went down and within 1hr a whole new air con system was installed - exceptional service. Valet parking is efficient. Room service staff - the most pleasant I've ever come across. Beach gear of a great standard and always available. I would definitely recommend the ocean view room (we had a king size) - excellent view and really made the mornings, and evening where you could watch the sunset. If you like modern hotels with a personalised service this hotel is for you!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle_Uk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

When my husband and I went on our honeymoon I figured that since we were only staying in Oahu for 2 nights we didn't need to stay in a large resort since that was our next stop in Maui. I found hotel Renew on this website and due to the reviews I decided to book it. I'm sure glad that I did and want to give back by posting my review. This is a small boutique-y hotel similar to something you would find in NYC. The lobby and eating area are small yet the staff is very attentive and nice. We were on the top floor and although it's not right on the beach, we had a beach view which was amazing. Steps from Waikiki beach everything is accessible.
The continental breakfast at Renew was very nice but be sure to go early since seating fills ups fast.
The rooms were very clean, AMAZINGLY soft beds and sheets, and overal very modern. As someone else said, if you are looking for traditional hawaiian decor go elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,328 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,436 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,964 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew

Property: Hotel Renew
Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Renew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing