We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in paradise”
Review of Hotel Renew

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Renew
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great find in paradise”
Reviewed February 20, 2010

My family and I stayed at Renew for 4 days in January and this is by far the best hotel we've stayed in Waikiki hands down (and I've stayed in a few). It's refreshing to know that there is a real modern boutique hotel on Oahu that doesn't cost as much as trendy hotels like the W. The lobby is very well designed and feature complimentary drinks and on certain days, breakfast. The beach is a block away and the hotel will provide all the beach gear you need free of charge. The room was a good size with a nice big flat-screen. I wasn't too fond of the beds as they were a bit soft and weren't secured to the frames as well as they should be, but the front desk did what they can to ensure our stay warranted a return. Overall, I have no doubt we will be back at Renew on our next trip.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALASD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,338
    700
    152
    49
    27
See reviews for
284
1,335
147
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Loved every minute of our stay @ Hotel Renew. The staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are small, comfortable, and modern. Light breakfast and PM cocktails was pleasant. Great place for business travelers, couples, but not kid friendly.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallblonde42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2010

I stayed at Hotel Renew for 6 nights. I am originally from Hawaii and was mainly there to visit family so I didn't want to spend a fortune on a hotel. Hotel Renew's ratings were high on several websites and the price was right.
Upon arrival we recieved a refreshing glass of pineapple juice and a warm towel to freshen up. Jackie, the receptionist was extremely friendly and welcoming. The decor of the lobby and our room was very modern and chic but warm and inviting. The room was very well thought out with lots of space for all our belongings. Other room ammenities include Face brand toiletries which are definitely high-end, free wi-fi, a refrigerator and safe. The lighting was definitely well done and added a dramatic decor element with full control panels conveniently located by the door and both sides of the bed. The bed was very comfortable with quality linens and pillows. All spaces were very clean and well kept.
The hotel seemed to be brand new, so they are still doing some minor construction work here and there, but none of it was disturbing or inconvenient to us. There is no pool but the beach is at the end of the block and that's why you're in Hawaii, isn't it? There is no self-parking so if you rent a car, you have to pay $22/day for valet parking. The valet attendants were always extremely fast and pleasant.
There is a complimentary continental breakfast from 7:30 to 10. They were always well stocked with a selection of fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, toast and pasteries. The coffee was actually decent (I'm a bit of a coffee snob). The bar area where breakfast is served is small but very elegant and relaxing.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Jackie and the rest of the staff were extremely gracious. Our flight was cancelled due to the recent snow storm on the East coast and we had to stay an extra night. Our room had been previously booked but they rearranged things for us so we would not have to change rooms. There is a complimentary hospitality room for guests to keep their luggage and freshen up, when late check-out isn't available.
I was extremely impressed by this hotel. The decor, the services, the staff and the amenities are all top-notch.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fashionlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2010

After much reading of reviews of all different hotels on Trip Advisor, I decided to book Hotel Renew and am so glad I did. We were greeted with lemongrass scented cool towels and pineapple juice upon check in. Nice after a very long trip from FL. The room was spotlessly clean with a fluffy, white, very comfortable bed. The room was modern, but not "hard" with current amenities like a nice flat screen tv and safe big enough for your laptop. We sprung the minor extra $10-$15/day for an oceanfront room and had a lovely view of Waikiki Beach and the sunset. Room 909, which was on the top floor, so very quiet too. It was more then made up for by the free wifi, free plentiful breakfast (fruit, yogurt, granola cereal, pastries, toast, juice, coffee and tea), free beach towels and mats and the availability of cheaper parking. Use the covered parking garage around the corner at $10/day with unlimited in/out. The valet/baggage guy willingly told us where it was. I read reviews that said it was a block to the beach, but it's the smallest block I've ever seen. You walk maybe an extra 100 feet and an abundance of restaurants and nice shops are right there. Being able to get towels and beach mats from reception was great as we just threw them in the car with us so we could hit whatever beach we happened to find that day. We were so comfortable and content at Hotel Renew that we extended another day before we left for Maui. We had a 4 star booked in Maui and found we were disappointed and spoiled by Hotel Renew. The staff, from check in people to porters were very nice and any of them would step up and assist you if someone else was busy. The only very slight negative was the very small number of tables for breakfast. You never knew if you'd get one, but they don't mind if you sit anywhere in the lobby or take breakfast back to your room. Usually even if tables were all full, by the time we fixed our breakfast and got our coffee, one opened up and the money it saves you on eating an extra meal out every day is more then worth it. For the price of this hotel (we paid around $150/night for our ocean view) it far exceeded most other hotels in this range. Would most definitely return to Hotel Renew if I find myself in Oahu again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachcomber3203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

This is a great hidden gem in Waikiki. Perfect location 1/2 block off Waikiki (best spot on the beach for viewing sunset), high-end design, good service & well-priced. The hotel has the vibe of a W hotel, although on a smaller scale (only 50+ rooms). The rooms are generously sized & nicely appointed.

The hotel doesn't have a lot of amenities (restaurant, pool, etc.), but who needs them when Waikiki is just a few steps away? Definitely not the spot for a young family or elderly couple, but the Marriott is just down the block. Hotel can be a little difficult to reach by car due to the configuration of 1 way streets by the beach & the zoo.

Glad I found it (thanks TripAdvisor) & would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyctravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Wow...what a great personable experience.

Got a smoking deal for this boutique hotel located a block and a half away from the beach and far enough away from the majority of the crowds (if that's at all possible).

We were welcomed with a nice cool glass of pineapple juice and cool aromatic hand towel upon arrival. Once we got into our room there was a bottle of champagne, a coupon for a specialty drink (both honeymoon gifts) and bottled water. Offered daily complementary continental breakfasts, towels, beach mats, beach chairs and boogie boards (that's right boogie boards). Ain't gonna get that in any corporate hotel.

But the best part of our stay turned out to be the incredibly friendly and knowledgeable staff. The standout for us turned out to be the night front desk manager, Jerome, who gave us some incredible suggestions on restaurants and places to go throughout the island. He felt like a friend who we had known for quite some time. We would return here in a heartbeat and HIGHLY recommend Hotel Renew for all others thinking about coming to Waikiki. Hurry before the word gets out.

Mahalo Hotel Renew

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmgx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Renew for 6 nights in December and it was absolutely awesome. Great decor, great location, and really, really great people! Lemon water in the lobby, free beach towels, boogie boards and beach chairs, and pretty good breakfast. The people were really great -- anything that you need -- from change for the bus to directions to recommendations -- you will get it all without feeling like you are imposing. The rooms are really nice -- modern and clean decor with a great light system. If I ever return to Honolulu, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmgx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,324 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,434 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,964 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew

Property: Hotel Renew
Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Renew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing